Loading
Home // New Brunswick // Heritage Sites // The Legislative Assembly in Fredericton, the Acadians and their political heritage
back

The Legislative Assembly in Fredericton, the Acadians and their political heritage

New Brunswick is Canada’s only officially bilingual province, and has been since Acadian premier Louis J. Robichaud enacted the New Brunswick Official Languages Act in 1969. From 1960 to 1970, this leading politician greatly enhanced the standard of living of Acadians by improving education and increasing their inclusion in all aspects of society. Robichaud’s successor, anglophone premier Richard Hatfield, continued in the same vein, also helping to give Acadians more power in the provincial parliament in Fredericton. But it was a long road, beginning with the election of the first Acadian MLA in 1846. Visitors can observe New Brunswick’s parliamentary debates and tour the Legislative Assembly Building, built in 1882 in the Second Empire style and designated a protected historic site and a provincial heritage place.

 

Learn more…

New Brunswick politics and the Acadians

After the Acadians returned to settle in what is now New Brunswick, following the Deportation of 1755, they would have to wait two hundred long years before they acquired any political power they could use to improve their lot. It was not until 1810 that they secured the right to vote, and 1846 that they got their first MLA elected. Even once the number of Acadians in the Legislative Assembly had swelled, after the creation of Canada in 1867, party lines did nothing to further Acadian interests. Acadian development was of little consequence to the anglophone majority wielding the political and economic power, even though Acadians accounted for one-third of the province’s population.

CEAAC-politique-Robichaud-Louis-J-E40193-300x204 -  - The Legislative Assembly in Fredericton, the Acadians and their political heritage
Louis J. Robichaud

In 1960, with a progressive mood prevailing in Canada, Louis J. Robichaud, leader of the provincial Liberal party since 1958, was elected premier of New Brunswick on a platform calling for better socioeconomic conditions for Acadians and the centralization of power in Fredericton. Responsible notably for the New Brunswick Official Languages Act and the creation of the Université de Moncton, Robichaud and other Acadian politicians in his government ushered in the first significant improvements in the living conditions of the Acadians. Measures subsequently taken by premier Hatfield resulted in the creation of numerous Acadian institutions active on the political and social scenes and the founding of the Parti Acadien, which defended Acadian interests between 1972 and 1982 even though none of its members were ever elected to the Legislative Assembly. All of these initiatives served to advance the socioeconomic emancipation of New Brunswick’s Acadians. Ever since, Acadian politicians have maintained a strong presence and voice.

Official bilingualism, unique to New Brunswick

CEAAC-politique-Parti-acadien-1973-E-18813-300x162 -  - The Legislative Assembly in Fredericton, the Acadians and their political heritage
Parti Acadien, 1973

The French language is one of the fundamental characteristics of the Acadian culture. As a result, the adoption of the first Official Languages Act in 1969, making New Brunswick Canada’s only officially bilingual province, counts as a true milestone in the political history of the Acadians and the preservation of their cultural heritage.

CEAAC-politique-Hatfield-Richard-1970-E-37840-179x300 -  - The Legislative Assembly in Fredericton, the Acadians and their political heritage
Richard Hatfield, 1970

The federal Official Languages Act, adopted in 1968, served as a model for New Brunswick’s Act, the main difference being that the latter applied only to the services of the provincial government. In 1981, under the Hatfield government, the Legislative Assembly went quite a bit further, adopting Bill 88, or the Act Recognizing the Equality of the Two Official Linguistic Communities in New Brunswick. This Act affirmed the equality of status and equal rights and privileges of the two linguistic communities, and included the creation of separate institutions for cultural, educational and social activities. It also required the provincial government to protect and promote this equal status. The following year, Hatfield had certain Bill 88 language rights entrenched in the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, which formed part of the new Constitution. In 1993, all the provisions of the Act were entrenched in the Charter.

New Brunswick’s first official languages policy was presented in 1988, and was followed by lengthy reports on its implementation. In 2001, the New Brunswick Court of Appeal declared the City of Moncton’s English-only bylaws invalid. The following year, under the government of Acadian premier Bernard Lord, a new and broader official languages act passed unanimously. It established the position of Commissioner of Official Languages to oversee the implementation of the Act, and imposed obligations on the province’s seven major cities as well as municipalities with a francophone or anglophone minority representing at least 20% of their population.

New Brunswick’s Legislative Assembly Building

The seat of the New Brunswick government is the Legislative Assembly Building in Fredericton, constructed in 1882 in the Second Empire style (similar to the City Hall) from a design by Saint John architect James Charles Dumaresq. The central octagonal cupola, made of sandstone, is three storeys high and soars 41 metres above the main roof. A major landmark, it is visible from almost any point in the city. In the entrance hall is a towering circular staircase. The Assembly Chamber has numerous striking features. The room appears as high as it is wide and deep and is decorated in a typically Victorian style, with lustrous crystal chandeliers and Japanesque wallpaper and carpeting (very popular in the western hemisphere at the time). The building was extensively renovated in the 1980s.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Nouveau-Brunswick // Sites patrimoniaux // Parlement de Fredericton, les Acadiens et leur patrimoine politique
retour

Parlement de Fredericton, les Acadiens et leur patrimoine politique

Le Nouveau-Brunswick est la seule province officiellement bilingue au Canada depuis que le premier ministre acadien Louis J. Robichaud a fait adopter la Loi sur les langues officielles du Nouveau-Brunswick en 1969. De 1960 à 1970, cet homme politique d’envergure contribue de façon importante à l’amélioration du niveau de vie des Acadiens par l’éducation et par leur inclusion accrue dans toutes les sphères de la société. Poursuivant le travail amorcé par Robichaud, le premier ministre anglophone Richard Hatfield, qui lui succède, contribue lui aussi à faire du parlement de Fredericton un important lieu de pouvoir pour les Acadiens. Mais le chemin a été long depuis l’élection du premier député acadien en 1846. Il est possible d’assister aux débats des parlementaires du Nouveau-Brunswick et de visiter l’édifice de l’Assemblée législative construit en 1882 dans le style Second Empire, désigné lieu historique national et lieu du patrimoine du Nouveau-Brunswick.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

La politique néo-brunswickoise et les Acadiens

Après leur établissement sur le territoire du Nouveau-Brunswick actuel, à la suite de la Déportation de 1755, le pouvoir politique a longtemps échappé aux Acadiens qui devront attendre deux siècles avant d’utiliser véritablement ce levier pour améliorer leur sort. Ils n’obtiennent le droit de vote qu’en 1810 et ne font élire un premier député qu’en 1846. Même lorsqu’ils sont plus nombreux à siéger à l’Assemblée législative de la province, après la création du Canada, en 1867, la ligne de parti ne sert guère la cause acadienne, car le pouvoir politique et économique de la majorité anglophone néglige le développement des Acadiens, même si ceux-ci constituent le tiers de la population.

CEAAC-politique-Robichaud-Louis-J-E40193-300x204 -  - Parlement de Fredericton, les Acadiens et leur patrimoine politique
Louis J. Robichaud

En 1960, à la faveur d’un courant progressiste assez fort au Canada, le chef du Parti libéral depuis 1958, Louis J. Robichaud, se fait élire premier ministre du Nouveau-Brunswick avec un programme ouvertement favorable à l’émancipation des Acadiens et à la centralisation des pouvoirs à Fredericton. Responsables de la Loi sur les langues officielles du Nouveau-Brunswick et de la création de l’Université de Moncton, notamment, Robichaud et des politiciens acadiens de son équipe contribuent pour la première fois de façon notable à l’amélioration des conditions de vie des Acadiens. Les mesures instaurées ensuite par le premier ministre Hatfield, qui ont notamment pour conséquence la création de nombreuses institutions acadiennes actives sur la scène politique et sociale, et la création du Parti acadien qui défend les intérêts des Acadiens de 1972 à 1982, même s’il ne fait élire aucun député, structurent et stimulent l’émancipation des Acadiens du Nouveau-Brunswick. Depuis ces années, la présence et l’influence des politiciens acadiens ne se démentent pas.

Le bilinguisme officiel, une particularité provinciale

CEAAC-politique-Parti-acadien-1973-E-18813-300x162 -  - Parlement de Fredericton, les Acadiens et leur patrimoine politique
Le Parti Acadien en 1973

La langue française est l’une des composantes fondamentales de la culture acadienne. En ce sens, l’introduction de la première loi sur les langues officielles qui a fait du Nouveau-Brunswick la seule province officiellement bilingue au Canada, en 1969, est une date charnière dans l’histoire politique et la préservation du patrimoine culturel des Acadiens, bien que plusieurs améliorations lui seront apportées par la suite.

CEAAC-politique-Hatfield-Richard-1970-E-37840-179x300 -  - Parlement de Fredericton, les Acadiens et leur patrimoine politique
Richard Hatfield en 1970

La loi fédérale sur les langues officielles adoptée en 1968 a servi de modèle à celle du Nouveau-Brunswick, à la différence que cette dernière ne concernait que les services du gouvernement provincial. En 1981, l’Assemblée législative est allée plus loin en adoptant la loi 88, ou Loi reconnaissant l’égalité des deux communautés linguistiques officielles au Nouveau-Brunswick, sous le gouvernement Hatfield. Celle-ci établissait l’égalité des droits et privilèges des deux communautés linguistiques, incluant la création d’institutions distinctes dans les champs culturel, éducatif et social. Elle obligeait également le gouvernement provincial à protéger et à promouvoir cette égalité. L’année suivante, Hatfield a fait enchâsser certains éléments de la loi 88 dans la Charte des droits et libertés de la nouvelle Constitution canadienne pour assurer leur pérennité et en 1993, tous ses articles ont été enchâssés dans la charte.

En 1988, le gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick a présenté une première politique sur les langues officielles, qui sera suivie de rapports étoffés sur son application. En 2001, la Cour d’appel du Nouveau-Brunswick a déclaré invalides les arrêtés municipaux unilingues anglais de la Ville de Moncton. L’année suivante, sous le gouvernement du premier ministre acadien Bernard Lord, une nouvelle loi sur les langues officielles, plus complète, a été adoptée à l’unanimité. Celle-ci a créé un poste de commissaire aux langues officielles pour veiller à l’application de la loi et a imposé des obligations aux sept principales villes de la province, ainsi qu’à toute municipalité comptant une minorité francophone ou anglophone représentant au moins 20 % de sa population.

L’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick

Les élus du Nouveau-Brunswick siègent dans un bâtiment construit en 1882 à Fredericton dans le style Second Empire (semblable à celui de l’hôtel de ville), d’après les plans de l’architecte James Charles Dumaresq de Saint-Jean. La tour centrale octogonale en grès de trois étages s’élève à 41 mètres au-dessus du toit principal du bâtiment. Visible d’un peu partout au centre-ville, elle sert de point de repère. À l’intérieur, le large escalier en colimaçon du hall d’entrée attire l’attention. Dans la chambre où débattent les élus, plusieurs éléments étonnent. La pièce semble presque aussi haute que large et profonde et sa décoration typiquement victorienne, qui comprend notamment de précieux lustres en cristal, comporte des motifs japonais, sur le papier peint recouvrant les murs et sur le tapis. Ces motifs rappellent que l’art japonais était en vogue en Occident à l’époque où l’on a construit l’Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick. Le bâtiment a été rénové en profondeur dans les années 1980.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.