Loading
Home // Québec // Cultural Heritage // Parliament of Quebec and National Assembly, a place of power and memory
back

Parliament of Quebec and National Assembly, a place of power and memory

The National Assembly of Quebec is the only democratic assembly in North America where the majority of elected representatives are Francophone. The 125 elected members that make up the Assembly meet in the Parliament building in Quebec City, where they vote on laws and budgets, participate in debate and make decisions that guide the future of Quebec. This magnificent and prestigious building, inaugurated in 1886, is the work of architect Eugène-Étienne Taché. He was inspired by the Second Empire style then in vogue in France, to attest to the historical ties between Quebec and the mother country. Taché wanted to illustrate the amalgam of Indigenous, French and British elements at the origin of Quebec society by decorating the façade with some 30 sculptures of historical figures. Parliament Hill provides a setting for the National Assembly, which can be visited with the help of accredited guides.

 

To learn more…

The historical heritage of Quebec Parliament

The National Assembly has been a National Historic and Heritage Site of Quebec since 1985. It is the principal place for commemorating Quebec’s history. Architect Taché’s initial idea evolved over time and spread to Parliament Hill, which now displays several statues of male and female politicians of the 20th century. The Promenade des Premiers-Ministres pays homage to Quebec’s heads of state, and gardens showcase Quebec’s plant heritage on the lawn facing Parliament. TheCommission de la capitale nationale du Québec is responsible for maintaining and beautifying the site.

a044270-v8-300x237 -  - Parliament of Quebec and National Assembly, a place of power and memory
Quebec legislature, 1930

At the outset, Taché announced his plan to have the phrase “Je me souviens” [I remember] carved above the main entrance to the building, which became the Province of Quebec’s motto in 1939. Taché also wanted to pay homage to the diversity of the people who had shaped Quebec’s history by erecting statues in niches on pedestals in the façade, complemented by coats of arms of influential individuals sculpted in the stone. He also dedicated two large sculptures to the First Nations who had welcomed the European immigrants to their territory. He gave pride of place to the pioneers of New France: Marie de l’Incarnation, Champlain, Marquette, Frontenac, Talon and others, as well as their successors: La Vérendrye, Montcalm, Salaberry, and son, while also pointing out the role of the British: Wolfe, Dorchester and Baldwin. Parliament’s façade thus illustrates the history of the community that elects the representatives who sit on its behalf.

An architectural masterpiece

c041919k-300x219 -  - Parliament of Quebec and National Assembly, a place of power and memory
Old Parliament buildings, Quebec City (1850)

Taché produced a masterpiece in designing Parliament, where the balance of volumes and abundant ornamentation of the façade lend harmony and dignity to the building, qualities that are perfectly suited to its function. The French had found the Second Empire style, inspired by the Renaissance, particularly pleasing following the expansion of the Louvre in the 1850s. When Taché adopted it, he was very much an innovator in Quebec.

dining_room-300x200 -  - Parliament of Quebec and National Assembly, a place of power and memory
Dining hall

The building is square in shape. Its four wings, each four storeys high, surround a closed interior court. The central wing is surmounted by an eight-storey clock tower. The mansard roofs are pierced with skylights, and the central projections are topped with rectangular domes. A fountain surrounded by a monumental semi-circular staircase leads up to the entrance. The sidings of worked stone give texture and life to this imposing building.

Visiting Parliament

chambre-bleue-300x221 -  - Parliament of Quebec and National Assembly, a place of power and memory
Blue Chamber, National Assembly

Accredited guides lead visitors up a central staircase to the two main halls of the National Assembly, the Salon Bleu, where parliamentarians sit, and the Salon Rouge, the former hall of the Conseil législatif (the equivalent of Canada’s Senate)—abolished in 1968—where awards ceremonies are now held. Several works of art, stained glass windows, various objects and portraits of all the premiers of Quebec embellish these halls and corridors, in particular a large painting by Charles Huot, Le débat sur les langues, which represents a session of the Parliament of Lower Canada, held in 1793, where it was decided that French would be welcome in Parliament even though it had initially been forbidden.

Free tours for the general public and school children shed light on how the Canadian democratic system works and on the parliamentary history of Quebec.

The democratic heritage of Quebec

parlement_indiens_facade_mfournier-300x257 -  - Parliament of Quebec and National Assembly, a place of power and memory
First Nations statue

The Constitutional Act of 1791 implemented the British parliamentary system in Lower Canada (present-day Quebec). The first elected deliberative assembly sat in 1792, making Quebec a pioneer of democracy in the world. Parliament was then located on the summit of Cap-Diamant, in today’s Montmorency Park. A violent fire that reduced the building to ashes in April 1883 put an end to nearly a century of parliamentary life in that place. Fortunately, the construction of the new Parliament of the Province of Quebec—one of the four founding provinces of Canada in 1867—was sufficiently advanced to be able to accommodate the members of Parliament. The official inauguration took place in April 1886.

In the early 20th century, the offices of the Parliament building became insufficient to contain the growing machinery of government. Between 1910 and 1937, four buildings were constructed on Parliament Hill, to the west and north of Parliament, to house the library and various ministries. The next expansion phase started in the 1960s, with the construction of buildings G, H and J, built in the contemporary style a short distance away, but outside the confines of Parliament Hill, thus preserving the architectural unity of the whole.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Québec // Patrimoine culturel // Parlement du Québec et Assemblée nationale, lieu de pouvoir et de mémoire
retour

Parlement du Québec et Assemblée nationale, lieu de pouvoir et de mémoire

L’Assemblée nationale du Québec est la seule assemblée démocratique majoritairement francophone en Amérique du Nord. Les 125 députés élus qui la composent se réunissent dans l’hôtel du Parlement, à Québec, où ils votent des lois et des budgets, débattent et prennent des décisions qui orientent l’évolution du Québec. Ce magnifique et prestigieux édifice, inauguré en 1886, est l’œuvre de l’architecte Eugène-Étienne Taché, qui s’est inspiré du style Second Empire alors en vogue en France pour témoigner des liens historiques qui unissent le Québec et la France. Taché désirait aussi illustrer l’amalgame autochtone, français et britannique qui est à l’origine de la société québécoise en ornant la façade du parlement d’une trentaine de sculptures de personnages historiques. La colline Parlementaire sert d’écrin au parlement, dont un service de guides accrédités fait découvrir l’intérieur. L’Assemblée nationale est un site patrimonial national déclaré par la Loi sur le patrimoine culturel du Québec.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Le patrimoine historique du parlement

L’intérêt patrimonial de l’Assemblée nationale est reconnu depuis 1985. Le projet initial de l’architecte Taché de commémorer l’histoire du Québec s’est prolongé dans le temps et s’est étendu à l’ensemble de la colline Parlementaire, qui accueille maintenant plusieurs statues d’hommes et de femmes politiques du 20e siècle. La promenade des Premiers-Ministres rend hommage aux chefs de l’État québécois et des jardins mettent même en valeur le patrimoine végétal du Québec sur le parterre faisant face au parlement. La Commission de la capitale nationale du Québec veille à l’entretien et à l’embellissement des lieux.

a044270-v8-300x237 -  - Parlement du Québec et Assemblée nationale, lieu de pouvoir et de mémoire
Le Parlement du Québec, en 1930

Taché annonce dès le départ son intention en faisant graver au-dessus de la porte principale de l’édifice la phrase « Je me souviens », qui deviendra la devise de la province de Québec en 1939. Il veut ainsi rappeler la diversité des acteurs qui ont façonné l’histoire du Québec au moyen de statues réparties dans les niches et sur les piédestaux de la façade, que complètent des armoiries de personnes influentes sculptées dans la pierre. Taché consacre deux grandes sculptures aux Premières Nations qui ont accueilli les immigrants européens sur leur territoire. Il accorde une place de choix aux pionniers de la Nouvelle-France : Marie de l’Incarnation, Champlain, Marquette, Frontenac, Talon, et autres, ainsi qu’à leurs successeurs : La Vérendrye, Montcalm, Salaberry… tout en soulignant le rôle des Britanniques : Wolfe, Dorchester ou Baldwin. La façade du parlement illustre ainsi l’histoire de la collectivité qui élit les représentants qui y siègent en son nom.

Un chef-d’œuvre architectural

c041919k-300x219 -  - Parlement du Québec et Assemblée nationale, lieu de pouvoir et de mémoire
Les édifices du Parlement à Québec, 1850

Taché réalise un chef-d’œuvre en dessinant le parlement, dont l’équilibre des volumes et l’abondante ornementation de la façade confèrent harmonie et dignité à l’édifice, des qualités qui sont parfaitement adaptées à sa fonction. Le style Second Empire, inspiré de la Renaissance, plaît aux Français depuis l’agrandissement du Louvre dans les années 1850. Quand Taché l’adopte, il est très novateur au Québec.

dining_room-300x200 -  - Parlement du Québec et Assemblée nationale, lieu de pouvoir et de mémoire
La salle à manger

L’édifice est de plan carré. Ses quatre ailes d’une élévation de quatre étages entourent une cour intérieure fermée. L’aile centrale est surmontée d’une tour-horloge de huit étages. Les toits mansardés sont percés de lucarnes et les avant-corps centraux sont coiffés de dômes rectangulaires. Une fontaine entourée d’un escalier semi-circulaire monumental mène à l’entrée. Les parements de pierre ouvragés donnent du relief et de la vivacité à cet imposant bâtiment.

Visiter le parlement

chambre-bleue-300x221 -  - Parlement du Québec et Assemblée nationale, lieu de pouvoir et de mémoire
La chambre Bleue

Les guides accrédités conduisent les visiteurs par un escalier central jusqu’aux deux principales salles de l’Assemblée nationale : le salon Bleu, où siègent les parlementaires, et le salon Rouge, l’ancienne salle du Conseil législatif (l’équivalent du Sénat canadien), aboli en 1968, où se déroulent désormais des cérémonies protocolaires. Plusieurs œuvres d’art, vitraux, objets et portraits de tous les premiers ministres du Québec agrémentent ces salles et les couloirs qui y mènent, entre autres le grand tableau de Charles Huot Le débat sur les langues, représentant une séance de 1793 du Parlement du Bas-Canada, où il fut décidé que le français aurait droit de cité en Chambre malgré son interdiction initiale.

Les visites gratuites destinées au grand public et à la clientèle scolaire éclairent le fonctionnement du système démocratique canadien et l’histoire parlementaire du Québec.

La colline Parlementaire

parlement_indiens_facade_mfournier-300x257 -  - Parlement du Québec et Assemblée nationale, lieu de pouvoir et de mémoire
La statue des Autochtones

L’Acte constitutionnel de 1791 instaure le régime parlementaire britannique dans le Bas-Canada (le Québec actuel). La première assemblée délibérante élue siège en 1792, ce qui fait du Québec un pionnier de la démocratie mondiale. Le parlement est alors situé au sommet du cap Diamant, dans le parc Montmorency actuel. Le violent incendie qui réduit l’édifice en cendres en avril 1883 met fin à près d’un siècle de vie parlementaire à cet endroit. Heureusement, la construction du nouveau parlement de la province de Québec – l’une des quatre provinces fondatrices du Canada en 1867 – est suffisamment avancée pour accueillir les parlementaires. L’inauguration officielle a lieu en avril 1886.

Au début du 20e siècle, les bureaux de l’hôtel du Parlement ne suffisent plus à contenir l’appareil gouvernemental en croissance. Quatre édifices sont construits sur la colline Parlementaire, à l’ouest et au nord du parlement, entre 1910 et 1937, pour abriter la bibliothèque et divers ministères. La phase d’expansion suivante se produit dans les années 1960 avec la construction des immeubles de bureaux de style contemporain G, H et J, à courte distance, mais à l’extérieur du périmètre de la colline Parlementaire, qui conserve ainsi son unité architecturale.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.