Loading
Home // Québec // Cultural Heritage // The Plains of Abraham: heritage, museums, entertainment and outdoor recreation not to be missed!
back

The Plains of Abraham: heritage, museums, entertainment and outdoor recreation not to be missed!

The Plains of Abraham are an expansive park overlooking the St. Lawrence River in downtown Quebec City. Millions of people visit it year-round. This historic site was the theatre of a defining battle in North American history: the Battle of the Plains of Abraham, where the British defeated the French in 1759, ensuring the conquest of New France. The Plains of Abraham Museum commemorates this event through a major exhibition re‑creating the battle through a captivating, immersive projection and a collection of original artefacts and reproductions that visitors are free to handle. The Plains of Abraham host world-class musical performances in an extraordinary natural amphitheatre. Visitors are also drawn to the spectacular flowerbeds of Joan of Arc Garden, an enchanting variety of landscapes, intimate performances at Edwin‑Bélanger Bandstand and the Musée national des beaux‑arts du Québec. The Plains are also enjoyed by many sports and recreation enthusiasts. In the City of Quebec, the Plains of Abraham are not to be missed.

 

Learn more…

Something for everyone

ski_Plaines_CCBN-300x212 -  - The Plains of Abraham: heritage, museums, entertainment and outdoor recreation not to be missed!
Skiing in winter, Plains of Abraham

Besides the Plains of Abraham being the site of the most well-known event in the province’s history—the decisive battle of September 13, 1759, between British forces led by General Wolfe and French forces led by General Montcalm, which ended in the capture of the City of Quebec—Battlefields Park is also a fantastic recreational area for all.

If you love nature, you will be drawn to the Plains’ abundance of dense old-growth forests, expansive grassy areas, flowerbeds—including the splendid Joan of Arc Garden—fountains, and spectacular lookouts. Are sports and recreation more your style? In winter, you can find dozens of kilometres of cross-country ski trails, a skating rink, tobogganing hills and plenty of snow for snowshoeing. In summer, people are regularly seen playing soccer and football, in-line skating on the designated rink, jogging, biking and playing a variety of pick-up games with friends. Are you a patron of the arts? In 1933, the first pavilion of the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec was built here. In 1990, a former prison was converted into Charles Baillairgé Pavilion. And most recently, the exhibition space was expanded considerably with the addition of the Pierre Lassonde Pavilion. If the performing arts are more your style, you will be delighted to know that the Plains have long hosted major concerts, particularly for occasions such as Quebec’s national holiday, Saint‑Jean‑Baptiste Day. The Plains’ reputation as an ideal natural amphitheatre was solidified in the late 1990s, when the Festival d’été de Québec set up its main stage near the Citadelle, on a site that can easily and safely hold more than 100,000 people. There is also the Edwin‑Bélanger Bandstand, which offers smaller-scale shows free of charge in another section of the Plains.

If you prefer history and heritage, the Plains of Abraham are a gold mine!

Battlefields Park heritage

Batailles_expo_CCBN-300x200 -  - The Plains of Abraham: heritage, museums, entertainment and outdoor recreation not to be missed!
Battles | 1759–1760 exhibition, Plains of Abraham Museum

The Plains of Abraham Museum has a variety of permanent and temporary exhibits. The Battles 1759 ‑ 1760 exhibit tells the story of the battles of the Plains of Abraham and Sainte-Foy. The Identities and Traces exhibits both present artefacts from the Park’s archaeological collection. These remains were discovered during various archaeological digs carried out on the Plains. The Museum also serves as the starting point for guided tours of the Park. Throughout the Plains, a number of interpretation panels, historical plaques and monuments provide information about what went on during the famous battle and how the Park was developed, starting in 1908. The recent Plains of Abraham Trail linking Battlefields Park to the Promenade Samuel‑de‑Champlain, at the base of the cape that British soldiers scaled on the night of September 12–13, 1759, also features some highly informative interpretation panels.

Batailles_CCBN-300x183 -  - The Plains of Abraham: heritage, museums, entertainment and outdoor recreation not to be missed!
Battles | 1759—1760 exhibition, Plains of Abraham Museum

The Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec’s Charles Baillairgé Pavilion has been classified as a heritage building since 1997. The two original Martello towers are rare, round-shaped military structures, one of which is open to visitors. Lastly, overlooking one end of the Park is the Citadelle of Québec, located on the Old Québec heritage site.

Key historical events

The name “Plains of Abraham” refers to Abraham Martin, a navigator who settled in New France in 1620. From 1635 to 1667, he owned part of the land that makes up the modern-day Plains of Abraham, where he grazed his cattle. The term “Heights of Abraham” was undoubtedly in use from that time, but it was not until 1759 that it appeared in documents penned by New France’s Chevalier de Lévis and by the British conquerors.

JardinJeannedArc_CCBN-300x225 -  - The Plains of Abraham: heritage, museums, entertainment and outdoor recreation not to be missed!
Joan of Arc Garden

In the era of New France, this vast rolling terrain located outside fortress walls had no buildings on it. After the British conquest, the military acquired the land and kept it clear to better defend the city. When the British garrison left Quebec City in 1871, several developers were interested in this highly valuable land overlooking the river, but the plan for a commemorative park won out. In 1901, the Government of Canada purchased the first section of the current park. Then, in 1908, for the tricentennial of the founding of Quebec City, it established the National Battlefields Commission to organize the 300th anniversary celebrations and to create Battlefields Park.

Montreal landscape architect Frederick G. Todd drew up plans in the English picturesque style. Landscaping and planting work began in 1912, but the entire park’s development would span several decades, with the final phase taking place in the 1950s. Today, Battlefields Park reflects every aspect of Todd’s design in terms of dimensions and overall layout—to the enjoyment of millions of visitors and residents!

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Québec // Patrimoine culturel // Les incontournables plaines d’Abraham : patrimoine, musées, spectacles et activités de plein air
retour

Les incontournables plaines d’Abraham : patrimoine, musées, spectacles et activités de plein air

Les plaines d’Abraham sont un vaste parc surplombant le fleuve Saint-Laurent au centre-ville de Québec. Des millions de personnes le fréquentent en toute saison. Ce lieu historique fut le théâtre d’un événement déterminant dans l’histoire de l’Amérique du Nord : la bataille des plaines d’Abraham que les Britanniques ont remportée en 1759. Cette victoire leur assura la conquête de la Nouvelle-France. Le Musée des plaines d’Abraham commémore cet événement par une grande exposition évoquant cette bataille à l’aide d’une projection immersive saisissante, d’objets authentiques et de reproductions que les visiteurs peuvent manipuler. Les plaines d’Abraham accueillent également des spectacles musicaux de calibre international dans un amphithéâtre naturel exceptionnel. Les spectaculaires plates-bandes fleuries du jardin Jeanne-d’Arc, les paysages enchanteurs et diversifiés, les prestations intimes offertes au kiosque Edwin-Bélanger et le Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec attirent également de nombreux visiteurs. Sans compter les sportifs qui fréquentent les Plaines en grand nombre. À Québec, les plaines d’Abraham sont incontournables.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Des Plaines remplies de ressources

ski_Plaines_CCBN-300x212 -  - Les incontournables plaines d’Abraham : patrimoine, musées, spectacles et activités de plein air
Ski en hiver sur les Plaines d’Abraham

Au-delà de l’événement le plus connu de l’histoire du Québec qui s’est déroulé sur les plaines d’Abraham – la bataille décisive du 13 septembre 1759 entre les forces britanniques du général Wolfe et les forces françaises du général Montcalm, qui s’est soldée par la prise de Québec –, le parc des Champs-de-Bataille est un formidable espace de divertissement pour tous.

Si la nature vous enchante, vous serez séduit par les Plaines qui regorgent de boisés denses et âgés, de vastes espaces gazonnés, de parterres fleuris – dont le splendide jardin Jeanne-d’Arc –, de fontaines et de belvédères spectaculaires. Vous êtes plutôt sportif ? En hiver, des dizaines de kilomètres de pistes de ski de fond, une piste de patin, des pentes où glisser en toboggan et de la neige folle où pratiquer la raquette sont disponibles ; en été, le football européen ou américain, le patin à roues alignées sur piste réservée, la course à pied, le vélo et des jeux de balle entre amis s’y pratiquent couramment. Vous êtes sensible à l’art ? Le premier pavillon du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec y a été construit en 1933, le pavillon Charles-Baillairgé aménagé dans une ancienne prison s’y est ajouté en 1990 et, tout récemment, le pavillon Pierre Lassonde a augmenté considérablement les espaces d’exposition. Si les arts de la scène ont votre préférence, notez que les Plaines accueillent depuis longtemps de grands spectacles de musique, comme ceux de la Saint-Jean-Baptiste, la fête nationale des Québécois. La réputation des Plaines comme amphithéâtre naturel idéal s’est consolidée à la fin des années 1990 lorsque le Festival d’été de Québec a installé sa scène principale près de la Citadelle, sur un site qui peut accueillir de façon pratique et sécuritaire plus de 100 000 personnes. Quant au kiosque Edwin-Bélanger, il propose des spectacles gratuits en formule intime dans une autre section des Plaines.

Si vous préférez l’histoire et le patrimoine, les plaines d’Abraham sont une mine d’or !

Le patrimoine du parc des Champs-de-Bataille

Batailles_expo_CCBN-300x200 -  - Les incontournables plaines d’Abraham : patrimoine, musées, spectacles et activités de plein air
L’exposition Batailles 1759-1760 au Musée des plaines d’Abraham

Le Musée des plaines d’Abraham présente diverses expositions permanentes ou temporaires. Déjà mentionnée, l’exposition Batailles 1759-1760 porte sur les batailles des plaines d’Abraham et de Sainte-Foy. L’exposition Identités présente quant à elle des artefacts de la collection archéologique du parc, tout comme l’exposition Traces. Ces vestiges archéologiques ont été découverts lors de différentes campagnes de fouilles réalisées sur les Plaines. Le Musée est aussi le point de départ de visites guidées du parc. Disséminés un peu partout sur les Plaines, de nombreux panneaux d’interprétation, des plaques historiques et des monuments renseignent les visiteurs sur le déroulement de la célèbre bataille et sur l’aménagement du parc à partir de 1908. Le récent sentier des Plaines qui relie le parc des Champs-de-Bataille à la promenade Samuel-De Champlain, en bas du cap qu’ont escaladé les soldats britanniques dans la nuit du 12 au 13 septembre 1759, est également ponctué de panneaux d’interprétation révélateurs.

Batailles_CCBN-300x183 -  - Les incontournables plaines d’Abraham : patrimoine, musées, spectacles et activités de plein air
L’exposition Batailles 1759-1760 au Musée des plaines d’Abraham

Le pavillon Charles-Baillairgé du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec est classé immeuble patrimonial depuis 1997. Les deux tours Martello sont des ouvrages militaires rares et originaux de forme ronde, dont l’une peut être visitée. Enfin, la Citadelle de Québec, située dans le site patrimonial du Vieux-Québec, donne sur l’une des extrémités du parc.

Repères historiques

Le nom « plaines d’Abraham » fait référence au pilote Abraham Martin qui s’établit en Nouvelle-France en 1620. De 1635 à 1667, il possède une partie des terrains qui constituent aujourd’hui les plaines d’Abraham, où il fait paître son bétail. Le terme « Hauteurs d’Abraham » était sans doute en usage depuis cette époque, mais il ne fait son apparition dans les documents qu’en 1759, sous la plume du chevalier de Lévis des forces françaises et des conquérants britanniques.

JardinJeannedArc_CCBN-300x225 -  - Les incontournables plaines d’Abraham : patrimoine, musées, spectacles et activités de plein air
Le jardin Jeanne d’Arc

À l’époque de la Nouvelle-France, aucune construction n’occupe ce vaste terrain vallonné situé à l’extérieur des fortifications. Après la conquête britannique, les militaires acquièrent cet espace et le gardent à découvert afin de mieux défendre la ville. Lorsque la garnison britannique quitte Québec, en 1871, plusieurs promoteurs désirent acquérir ces terrains de grande valeur, avec vue sur le fleuve, mais le projet d’un parc commémoratif l’emporte. En 1901, le gouvernement du Canada achète une première portion du parc actuel. Puis, à l’occasion du tricentenaire de la fondation de Québec, en 1908, il crée la Commission des champs de bataille nationaux pour organiser les fêtes du 300e anniversaire et réaliser le parc des Champs-de-Bataille.

L’architecte paysagiste montréalais Frederick G. Todd réalise les plans dans le style pittoresque anglais. Les travaux de terrassement et de plantation débutent en 1912, mais la réalisation de l’ensemble du parc s’échelonnera sur plusieurs décennies. La dernière phase se déroule dans les années 1950. Aujourd’hui, le parc des Champs-de-Bataille respecte l’intégralité du plan prévu par Todd quant à la superficie et à l’aménagement général, à la satisfaction de millions de résidents et de visiteurs !

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.