Loading
Home // Prince Edward Island // Heritage Sites // Port-la-Joye-Fort Amherst: a place of memory
back

Port-la-Joye-Fort Amherst: a place of memory

Port-la-Joye—Fort Amherst was designated a national historic site of Canada because it played a central role in the French settlement on Saint-Jean Island (present-day Prince Edward Island) from 1720 on. The Mi’kmaq and the French used to gather here every year to renew their alliance, until the British conquered the island in 1758 and then rounded up 3,100 Acadians to deport them. It was on the same site, at the entrance to Charlottetown Harbour, that the English established the first command post on the island, Fort Amherst. Visitors have a magnificent view of Charlottetown from this place so full of remnants and memories.

 

To learn more…

Piecing together the past

commonwealth-hx11z008n_accessfull-300x188 -  - Port-la-Joye-Fort Amherst: a place of memory
Plan of the Harbour and Rivers of Port-La-Joye on Isle Saint-Jean, circa 1764

Visitors can easily understand why the soldiers built a fort at this location, as they stroll along the pathways dotted with interpretive signs scattered along the vast perimeter open to the sea. Looking down, they can see the deep water that offered a safe and well protected port. From the spit of land that holds the harbour in its grip like pincers, they can easily understand that this geographical formation protects the inhabitants within the harbour. Visitors can see the exact position of the two successive fortifications as they walk on the grass‑covered foundations of Fort Amherst, built by the British on the same spot as the French fort.

A short distance from the site, a monument indicates the exact place where most of the first 300 colonists from France built their dwellings in 1720. This monument commemorates the arrival of Michel Haché-Gallant and his wife Anne Cormier, in the same year. This Acadian couple had come from Beaubassin, on the border between what are now New Brunswick and Nova Scotia. A few dozen other Acadians chose to settle on Saint-Jean Island at that time. These soldiers, fishermen, farmers and sailors were the first inhabitants of European origin to come and live on the island. Before them, the Indigenous peoples of the Mi’kmaq Nation inhabited what they called Epekwitk, which means “cradle on the waves.”

A fragile community

These 300 French pioneers worked for the Compagnie de l’Îsle Saint-Jean, owned by the Comte de Saint-Pierre, who had obtained exclusive right to fish on the island provided that he establish a colony there. However, the enterprise was not profitable, and many French people went back to the motherland. Those who remained on the island were for the most part Acadians, in addition to a few natives of France.

This small community of a few hundred inhabitants was under the authority of a governor, who lived in Louisbourg, on Île-Royale (present-day Cape-Breton Island). The initial objective, which was to supply this fortress town with food, was never attained, since local farming and fishing were barely sufficient to feed the local population. Life on Saint-Jean Island was precarious.

The situation worsened in 1745 when Louisbourg fell into the hands of the British. A British detachment went to Saint-Jean Island and burned down the fort and dwellings. The French population had to leave the island. The French then re-established Port-la-Joye in 1748, under a peace treaty between France and England. However, there was great tension throughout the Atlantic territory, to such a point that the island’s population grew from 735 to some 3,000 people between 1748 and 1754. A large number of Acadians had abandoned their ancestral lands in Acadia to escape the threat of reprisals from the British, who had controlled this territory since 1713, and to take refuge on the island. Their efforts were in vain, however, since Louisbourg, Île-Royale, Saint-Jean Island and New France all fell permanently into British hands between 1758 and 1760.

Monument commemorating the Deportation

plj_deportation_-_copie-200x300 -  - Port-la-Joye-Fort Amherst: a place of memory
Deportation Cross of the Acadians

At Port-la-Joye—Fort Amherst, a monument erected in 2008 commemorates the Deportation of 3,100 civilians, for the most part Acadians, whom the British rounded up there in 1758 and put aboard ships headed for France. More than half of these deportees died during the ocean voyage or shortly after their arrival. The British established their government on the site of Port-la-Joye, which they renamed Fort Amherst. They remained there until 1768, then moved the garrison and the government to Charlottetown, which is still the capital of Prince Edward Island today.

When they arrived, the British troops systematically “cleansed” the island of the Acadians who lived there. Nevertheless, a little over a thousand of them managed to flee the island before being captured. The 200 or so who came back to settle there after 1764, with the authorization of the British, are the ancestors of most of the Acadians who now live in Prince Edward Island.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Île-du-Prince-Édouard // Sites patrimoniaux // Port-la-Joye–Fort Amherst, des vestiges lourds de sens
retour

Port-la-Joye–Fort Amherst, des vestiges lourds de sens

Le site Port-la-Joye–Fort Amherst a été désigné lieu historique national du Canada parce qu’il a joué un rôle central dans l’implantation française à l’île Saint-Jean (aujourd’hui Île-du-Prince-Édouard) à compter de 1720. Les Micmacs et les Français se réunissaient à cet endroit chaque année pour renouveler leur alliance, jusqu’à ce que les Britanniques conquièrent l’île en 1758, puis rassemblent ici 3100 Acadiens pour les déporter. C’est sur le même site, à l’entrée du havre de Charlottetown, que les Anglais ont établi leur premier poste de commandement sur l’île, le fort Amherst. De cet endroit rempli de vestiges et de souvenirs, les visiteurs ont une vue imprenable sur Charlottetown.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Reconstituer le passé

commonwealth-hx11z008n_accessfull-300x188 -  - Port-la-Joye–Fort Amherst, des vestiges lourds de sens
Plan du port et des fleuves de Port-La-Joye sur l’Isle Saint-Jean (1750–1765)

En parcourant les sentiers jalonnés de panneaux d’interprétation qui sillonnent ce grand périmètre ouvert sur la mer, le visiteur comprend facilement pourquoi les militaires ont construit un fort à cet endroit. À leur pied, l’eau profonde offrait un port sûr et bien protégé. De la pointe qui enserre le havre, comme une tenaille, ils pouvaient surveiller l’horizon, voir venir l’ennemi et protéger les habitants qui s’établissaient à l’intérieur du havre. En foulant les fondations recouvertes d’herbe du fort Amherst, construit par les Britanniques sur le même emplacement que le fort français, les visiteurs repèrent exactement la position des deux places fortes successives.

Un peu en retrait, un monument signale l’endroit où la majorité des 300 premiers colons venus de France ont construit leurs habitations en 1720. Ce monument commémore l’arrivée de Michel Haché-Gallant et de sa femme, Anne Cormier, la même année, deux Acadiens venus de Beaubassin, à la frontière des provinces actuelles du Nouveau-Brunswick et de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Quelques dizaines d’autres Acadiens choisissent de s’établir à l’île Saint-Jean à cette époque. Ces militaires, pêcheurs, agriculteurs et marins sont les premiers habitants d’origine européenne à venir vivre sur l’île. Avant eux, seuls les Autochtones de la nation micmaque habitaient Epekwitk, qui signifie « terre bercée par les vagues ».

Une communauté fragile

Ces 300 pionniers français travaillent pour la Compagnie de l’Isle Saint-Jean, propriété du comte de Saint-Pierre, qui a obtenu l’exclusivité de la pêche sur l’île à condition d’y établir une colonie. Mais l’entreprise n’est pas rentable et plusieurs Français regagnent la mère-patrie. Les personnes qui demeurent sur l’île sont en majorité des Acadiens, en plus de quelques Français d’origine.

Cette petite communauté de quelques centaines d’habitants est sous l’autorité du gouverneur qui habite Louisbourg, sur l’île Royale (île du Cap-Breton actuelle). Or, jamais l’objectif initial, qui était d’approvisionner cette ville-forteresse en nourriture, ne sera atteint, car l’agriculture et les pêcheries de l’île Saint-Jean suffisent à peine à nourrir la population locale. La vie est précaire à l’île Saint-Jean.

La situation empire en 1745 quand Louisbourg tombe aux mains des Britanniques. Un détachement se rend à l’île Saint-Jean et incendie le fort et les habitations. La population française doit quitter l’île. Puis les Français rétablissent Port-la-Joye en 1748 à la faveur d’un traité de paix survenu entre la France et l’Angleterre. Mais tout le territoire atlantique demeure sous tension, au point où la population de l’île passe de 735 à quelque 3000 personnes entre 1748 et 1754. C’est qu’un grand nombre d’Acadiens ont abandonné leurs terres ancestrales de l’Acadie pour échapper à la menace de représailles de la part des Britanniques, qui contrôlent ce territoire depuis 1713, et se réfugier à l’île. Mais peine perdue. Louisbourg et l’île Royale, l’île Saint-Jean et la Nouvelle-France tombent définitivement aux mains des Britanniques entre 1758 et 1760.

Monument commémorant la Déportation

plj_deportation_-_copie-200x300 -  - Port-la-Joye–Fort Amherst, des vestiges lourds de sens
Croix de la déportation des Acadiens à Port-la-Joye

Sur le site de Port-la-Joye–Fort Amherst, un monument érigé en 2008 commémore la Déportation de 3100 civils, pour la plupart acadiens, rassemblés par les Britanniques à cet endroit en 1758, puis embarqués sur des navires à destination de la France. Plus de la moitié d’entre eux vont mourir en mer ou peu de temps après leur arrivée. Les Britanniques établissent leur gouvernement sur le site de Port-la-Joye, qu’ils renomment fort Amherst. Ils y resteront jusqu’en 1768, puis déplaceront la garnison et le gouvernement à Charlottetown, qui est toujours la capitale de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

À leur arrivée, les troupes britanniques ont systématiquement « nettoyé » l’île des Acadiens qui l’habitaient. Mais un peu plus d’un millier d’entre eux ont réussi à fuir l’île avant d’être capturés. Les quelque 200 d’entre eux qui sont revenus s’y établir après 1764, avec l’autorisation des Britanniques, sont les ancêtres de la majorité des Acadiens qui peuplent aujourd’hui l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.