Loading
Home // Québec // Heritage Sites // Residence of Sir George-Étienne Cartier, illustrious French-Canadian politician and Father of the Confederation
back

Residence of Sir George-Étienne Cartier, illustrious French-Canadian politician and Father of the Confederation

George-Étienne Cartier lived in this upper-middle-class house on Notre-Dame Street in Montreal between 1848 and 1872, from the beginning to the end of his brilliant political career. The most memorable of his achievements is no doubt the fact that he was one of the principal architects of Canadian Confederation. He also made a significant contribution to the expansion of Canada to the west. Entirely furnished in the style preferred by the Cartier family, the residence gives visitors a glimpse of the interior of a Victorian home in the 19th century and the lifestyle of its inhabitants. Visitors can also enjoy reading about the political debates in the lead-up to the creation of Canada and the positions that Cartier defended.

 

To learn more…

The privilege of visiting the Cartier family residence

salon-victorien_parcs_canada-300x100 -  - Residence of Sir George-Étienne Cartier, illustrious French-Canadian politician and Father of the Confederation
Victorian parlour

In Montreal, the House of Sir George-Étienne Cartier offers the public the rare privilege of visiting the interior of a luxurious home in the second half of the 19th century. It has been faithfully restored and includes some items that belonged to the members of this influential family. The affluence of the Cartier family is reflected in the elegant furniture, the fine woodwork and the delicate yet abundant decor. At first glance, these features confirm the elevated social status of the inhabitants. Travel trunks, photographs, office accessories, sewing materials, china and other items give us a good idea as to their lifestyle.

Inspired by the diaries of Hortense and Joséphine, two of the Cartier-Fabre couple’s three daughters, the items exhibited in their rooms suggest evoke certain aspects of the lives of these two young upper-middle-class ladies of Montreal. During the Christmas period, visitors can discover a mixture of English and French traditions that the Cartier family liked to celebrate at that time of the year. Like many members of the French-Canadian elite at the time, the Cartiers were influenced by the power that the British had over Quebec, Canada and a large part of the world. Indeed, when Cartier had a discussion with the Queen of England, he allegedly declared that the people who lived in Lower Canada were Englishmen who spoke French. This comment did not, however, apply to the entire French-Canadian population, many of whose members remained very attached to their French origins.

Canadian Confederation, an historical compromise

a026375-252x300 -  - Residence of Sir George-Étienne Cartier, illustrious French-Canadian politician and Father of the Confederation
The Honourable Sir George-Étienne Cartier

During the period of great political instability from 1850 to 1860, Cartier played a decisive role in developing Canadian Confederation. Convinced of the superiority of British institutions, in comparison with those in the United States, Cartier developed, promoted and negotiated a political project inspired by British traditions, but tailored to Canada. In this sense, his specific aim was to guarantee equal rights for both Francophones and Anglophones. The federal level of this proposed confederation was to have more powers that the provincial levels, which nonetheless benefitted from specific powers in such fields as education and culture, which were important for the French Canadians.

Among the artisans of Canada, Cartier was the main promoter of a decentralized state that would maintain a certain balance between the powers of the federal government and those of the provinces. This compromise finally gained enough support and led to the creation of Canadian Confederation in 1867, which lasts to this day.

Theory and practice

On the issue of Francophone rights, the application of the Canadian political system did not produce results that were as favourable as Cartier had hoped. In the provinces where the majority of citizens were Anglophones, the right to education in French was rapidly restricted, or even virtually eliminated. At the federal level, Anglophones, who also were in the majority in Canada as a whole, quickly came to dominate the political scene and marginalized the Francophone communities outside Quebec, where the only Francophone majority was located. The project for which Cartier had fought thus only partially resisted the application of the principles on which it was based. This situation persisted until very recently, when reforms associated with the patriation of the Canadian Constitution from London to Ottawa in 1982 enabled minority Francophones to recover certain essential rights, such as the right to education in French.

Cartier’s heritage

expositions-rever-pays-parcs_canada-249x300 -  - Residence of Sir George-Étienne Cartier, illustrious French-Canadian politician and Father of the Confederation
Poster for the new “Imagine a country!” exhibit

The important contribution that Cartier made to the creation of Canada is not the only legacy of this eminent politician. In 1868, he went to London to negotiate the transfer of the vast private territory held by the Hudson’s Bay Company to the fledging Canada rather than to the United States, which also wanted to acquire Alaska. The purchase of this territory in 1870 greatly increased the geographic territory of Canada, particularly towards the west. Cartier also played a key role in the admission of Manitoba into Confederation in 1870, and then British Columbia in 1871. He was also one of the architects of the Canadian transcontinental railway, in which he had hidden interests that created a scandal. Finally, in Quebec, he participated in the enactment of the Municipalities Act, in school reforms and in the implementation of the Quebec Civil Code.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Québec // Sites patrimoniaux // Résidence de George-Étienne Cartier, illustre politicien canadien-français, Père de la Confédération
retour

Résidence de George-Étienne Cartier, illustre politicien canadien-français, Père de la Confédération

George-Étienne Cartier a habité cette résidence bourgeoise de la rue Notre-Dame, à Montréal, entre 1848 et 1872, c’est-à-dire du début à la fin de sa brillante carrière politique. Parmi ses nombreuses réalisations, la plus mémorable est sans doute d’avoir été l’un des principaux architectes de la Confédération canadienne, puis de l’expansion du Canada vers l’ouest. Cette résidence entièrement meublée dans le style qu’affectionnait la famille Cartier permet aux visiteurs de découvrir l’intérieur d’une résidence victorienne du 19e siècle et le mode de vie de ses habitants. On y présente en outre de l’information sur les débats politiques qui ont précédé la création du Canada et les positions que défendait Cartier.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Le privilège de visiter la résidence familiale des Cartier

salon-victorien_parcs_canada-300x100 -  - Résidence de George-Étienne Cartier, illustre politicien canadien-français, Père de la Confédération
Le salon victorien

À Montréal, la Maison George-Étienne-Cartier offre au public un rare privilège : celui de visiter l’intérieur d’une résidence cossue de la seconde moitié du 19e siècle, reconstitué fidèlement, incluant certains objets ayant appartenu aux membres de cette influente famille. L’aisance des Cartier émane de l’ameublement ouvragé, des boiseries fines et de la décoration aussi délicate qu’abondante, qui confirment au premier coup d’œil le statut social élevé de ses habitants. Les malles de voyage, photographies, accessoires de bureau, matériel de couture, vaisselle et autres objets donnent un aperçu de leur mode de vie.

Inspirés des journaux intimes d’Hortense et de Joséphine, deux des trois filles du couple Cartier-Fabre, les objets exposés dans leur chambre évoquent des tranches de vie de ces jeunes bourgeoises montréalaises. Dans la période de Noël, les visiteurs peuvent découvrir l’amalgame de traditions françaises et anglaises que la famille Cartier aimait célébrer à cette période de l’année. Car, comme plusieurs membres de l’élite canadienne-française de l’époque, les Cartier étaient influencés par l’emprise qu’exerçaient les Britanniques sur le Québec, le Canada, et une grande partie du monde. À un point tel que lors d’un entretien avec la reine d’Angleterre, Cartier aurait déclaré qu’un habitant du Bas-Canada était un Anglais qui parle le français. Ce commentaire ne pouvait cependant s’appliquer à toute la population canadienne-française, dont une partie demeurait très attachée à ses origines françaises.

Le compromis historique de la Confédération canadienne

a026375-252x300 -  - Résidence de George-Étienne Cartier, illustre politicien canadien-français, Père de la Confédération
L’Honorable Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Dans la période de grande instabilité politique des années 1850-1860, Cartier a joué un rôle déterminant dans l’élaboration du projet de Confédération canadienne. Convaincu de la supériorité des institutions britanniques, en comparaison de celles des États-Unis, Cartier a élaboré, promu et négocié un projet politique inspiré des traditions britanniques, mais adapté au cas du Canada, en ce sens qu’il visait notamment à accorder des droits égaux aux communautés francophones et anglophones. Le palier fédéral de cette confédération proposée posséderait plus de pouvoirs que les paliers provinciaux, qui bénéficieraient néanmoins de pouvoirs spécifiques dans des domaines comme l’éducation et la culture, importants pour les Canadiens français.

Parmi les artisans du Canada, Cartier était le principal promoteur d’un État décentralisé qui maintiendrait un certain équilibre entre les pouvoirs du fédéral et ceux des provinces. Ce compromis a finalement rallié suffisamment d’appuis pour que la Confédération canadienne voie le jour en 1867 et perdure jusqu’à aujourd’hui.

La théorie et la pratique

Sur la question des droits des francophones, l’application du système politique canadien n’a pas donné d’aussi bons résultats que l’espérait Cartier. Dans les provinces majoritairement anglophones, le droit à l’éducation en français a rapidement été limité, voire pratiquement éliminé. Au niveau fédéral, les anglophones qui étaient également majoritaires dans l’ensemble du Canada ont rapidement dominé la scène politique et marginalisé les communautés francophones situées à l’extérieur de la province de Québec, où se trouvait la seule majorité francophone. Le projet pour lequel Cartier s’était battu n’a donc résisté qu’en partie à l’application des principes sur lesquels il reposait. Et ce, jusqu’à une période récente, soit jusqu’aux réformes liées au rapatriement de la Constitution canadienne, de Londres à Ottawa, en 1982, qui ont permis aux francophones en situation minoritaire de recouvrer certains droits essentiels, comme le droit à l’éducation en français.

L’héritage de Cartier

expositions-rever-pays-parcs_canada-249x300 -  - Résidence de George-Étienne Cartier, illustre politicien canadien-français, Père de la Confédération
L’affiche de la nouvelle exposition « Rêver un pays! »

L’importante contribution de Cartier à la création du Canada n’est pas le seul héritage de cet homme politique d’envergure. Dès 1868, il s’est rendu à Londres pour négocier la cession de l’immense territoire privé de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson au tout jeune Canada, plutôt qu’aux États-Unis, qui souhaitaient l’acquérir en plus de l’Alaska. L’achat de ce territoire, en 1870, a augmenté considérablement la superficie du Canada, en particulier vers l’ouest. Cartier a aussi joué un rôle clé dans l’admission du Manitoba dans la Confédération, en 1870, puis de la Colombie-Britannique en 1871. Il est aussi l’un des artisans du projet de chemin de fer transcontinental canadien dans lequel il avait des intérêts cachés, qui ont fait scandale. Enfin, au Québec, il a participé à l’instauration de la loi sur les municipalités, à des réformes scolaires et à l’instauration du Code civil.

La maison Georges-Étienne-Cartier est située dans le site patrimonial de Montréal, déclaré par le gouvernement du Québec.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.