Loading
Home // Manitoba // Community portraits // St. Claude, Manitoba: Its francophone heritage and its museums
back

St. Claude, Manitoba: Its francophone heritage and its museums

St. Claude is a lovely Franco-Manitoban town located about a hundred kilometres west of Winnipeg, in the heart of fertile farmland. Its first inhabitants came from the Jura region of France in 1892. A pipe-shaped monument surrounded by flowers (the second largest pipe in the world!) is a salute to these settlers and their native town of Saint-Claude, renowned for its pipe manufacturing. The focus of the Dairy Museum, however, is the local dairy industry and its importance in the region. Artifacts on display include a variety of presses, cream cans, butter churns and other items showing how the industry evolved during the 20thcentury. Other buildings in the Museum complex, including a former railway station, a barn, a chapel and an old schoolhouse, feature artifacts depicting rural life of yesteryear. Another heritage building of interest in St. Claude is a regional jail dating back to 1912. This stands in sharp contrast to the Modernist church, designed by renowned Franco-Manitoban architect Étienne Gaboury in 1964.

 

Learn more…

Deep francophone roots and a vibrant community

Musee_Saint_Claude-300x232 -  - St. Claude, Manitoba: Its francophone heritage and its museums
Bell tower, Saint-Claude’s second church

Helping to preserve and perpetuate the francophone roots of the town’s 600 or so residents is its French-language primary school, Notre-Dame-du-Sourire. The community’s vitality is further evidenced by its tidy landscaping, beautiful gardens and sizeable sports and cultural facilities. In addition, the town hosts a winter carnival in February, Plaisirs d’hiver, featuring an evening dance, a torchlight procession, sleigh rides and maple taffy on snow. Outdoor winter activities abound, with an outdoor rink as well as a network of snowmobile, snowshoeing and cross-country skiing trails to choose from. For summer recreation, only steps away are a softball field and parks with playgrounds. The nearby campground, Camping des Baies, on the shores of Lac Boissonneault, offers swimming and watersports. But tourists are drawn mainly to the local museums.

Showcasing St. Claude’s heritage and identity

In addition to its huge pipe, unique to St. Claude, and its deep French and French-Canadian roots, the Dairy Museum sets the town apart. Dairying, still a very active industry in the area, was chosen as a singular theme for a local museum by the St. Claude Historical Society, in response to a call from the provincial culture and heritage department. Founded in 2000, the Manitoba Dairy Museum owes a big debt of gratitude to Raymond Philippot, a retired local dairy farmer. As a result of his commitment to the project, Mr. Phillipot received a Manitoba Lieutenant Governor’s Award in 2016 for his contribution to the preservation and promotion of municipal and provincial history. In his extensive travels around the province, Mr. Phillipot not only collected a multitude of artifacts, he took photographs of a wide range of barns and cattle sheds that are also on display in the museum.

Musee_Saint_Claude_Batiments-300x190 -  - St. Claude, Manitoba: Its francophone heritage and its museums
Various buildings, Manitoba Dairy Museum

Another of St. Claude’s preservation projects involved converting the former Canadian Pacific train station into a pioneer museum featuring many heritage objects, including  a barber’s chair, lamps, a telegraph and Canadian Pacific logbook, as well as military memorabilia that belonged to local veterans. Nearby is the Bell School Museum, with a display depicting school life in pioneer days, and a former chapel featuring religious artifacts from the town’s first two churches. Recently moved to the same site is the first barn built by Guillaume Célestin Trémorin around 1925, designed to stable horses while their owners were shopping or attending church in town. The St. Claude Historical Society also organizes demonstrations of butter, ice cream and yogurt making using traditional equipment.

Dedication to safeguarding heritage

The St. Claude Tourist Office is housed in the area’s first jail, built in 1912. Now the Gaol Museum, this building is a rare surviving example of an early stand-alone community gaol in Manitoba. Since 2005, it has been a municipally designated historic site in the Rural Municipality of Grey. The efforts of local residents also saved the bell tower of an earlier church that had been demolished. The bell tower is now on display on the grounds of the town’s existing church. These initiatives show how dedicated the residents of St. Claude are to preserving their cultural heritage. At the same time, they are sufficiently forward-looking to have welcomed an avant-garde new church, designed by Étienne Gaboury, which has now become another of St. Claude’s cultural assets.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Manitoba // Patrimoine culturel // Saint-Claude au Manitoba, son ancrage francophone et ses musées
retour

Saint-Claude au Manitoba, son ancrage francophone et ses musées

Saint-Claude est un beau village franco-manitobain situé à une centaine de kilomètres à l’ouest de Winnipeg, au cœur d’une campagne productive. Ses premiers habitants sont arrivés du Jura en 1892. Un monument entouré de fleurs – la deuxième plus grosse pipe au monde – rappelle leur origine : le village français de Saint-Claude, réputé pour la fabrication industrielle de pipes. Le musée de Saint-Claude au Manitoba illustre plutôt la production laitière, qui a pris une grande importance dans la région. On y découvre une abondante collection d’écrémeuses, de barattes à beurre et d’autres objets illustrant l’évolution de l’industrie laitière au 20e siècle. Le musée expose d’autres objets évocateurs du quotidien rural dans une gare ferroviaire désaffectée, une étable, une chapelle et une ancienne école. On trouve également à Saint-Claude une prison régionale datant de 1912. Par contraste, la nouvelle église conçue par le réputé architecte franco-manitobain Étienne Gaboury est un bâtiment particulièrement avant-gardiste.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Des racines francophones et une communauté très vivantes

Musée_Saint-Claude_MF_IMG_3984M-300x232 -  - Saint-Claude au Manitoba, son ancrage francophone et ses musées
Le clocher de la deuxième église de Saint-Claude

L’école primaire française Notre-Dame-du-Sourire perpétue l’enracinement francophone de ce village de quelque 600 habitants, dont la propreté et la qualité des aménagements paysagers frappent le visiteur. Le soin accordé à l’embellissement du village et l’ampleur des installations de loisirs sportifs et culturels témoignent du dynamisme de sa population. Le carnaval Plaisirs d’hiver, qui se déroule en février, propose soirée dansante, marche aux flambeaux, tours de carriole et dégustation de tire sur la neige. Tout l’hiver, une patinoire extérieure et des sentiers de motoneige, de raquettes et de ski de fond permettent à tous de faire le plein d’air frais. En été, le terrain de balle molle et les parcs équipés d’aires de jeux permettent de se détendre à deux pas de chez soi. Le camping des Baies, situé sur les rives du lac Boissonneault, à proximité, invite à la baignade et à la pratique des sports nautiques. Ce sont néanmoins les musées locaux qui attirent les visiteurs.

Mettre en valeur son patrimoine et son identité

En plus de sa pipe monumentale qui distingue Saint-Claude de tout autre village du Manitoba, et de ses racines françaises et canadiennes-françaises, la Société historique de Saint-Claude a répondu à l’appel du Département de la culture et du patrimoine du Manitoba en sélectionnant un thème directeur pour développer son musée local, celui de l’industrie laitière, encore très présente à Saint-Claude. Fondé en l’an 2000, ce musée a bénéficié de l’engagement exceptionnel de Raymond Philippot, qui exploitait une ferme laitière à Saint-Claude. Monsieur Philippot a reçu en 2016 le Prix du Lieutenant-gouverneur du Manitoba pour son rôle dans la conservation et la promotion de l’histoire municipale et provinciale. En plus des nombreux objets qu’il a collectionnés, il a photographié une grande variété de granges et d’étables au fil de ses pérégrinations à travers la province. Ces photos sont exposées dans le musée laitier.

Musée_Saint-Claude_MF_IMG_3996M-300x190 -  - Saint-Claude au Manitoba, son ancrage francophone et ses musées
Différents bâtiments du musée laitier du Manitoba

Saint-Claude a aussi converti l’ancienne gare du Canadien Pacifique en musée des pionniers, dans lequel sont exposés plusieurs objets anciens tels une chaise de barbier, des lampes, un télégraphe et un registre du Canadien Pacifique ainsi que des objets et des souvenirs militaires ayant appartenu à des combattants de la région. Dans l’ancienne école Bell, adjacente à ces deux musées, on a reconstitué une tranche de la vie quotidienne dans l’école et on a rassemblé dans une chapelle désacralisée des artéfacts provenant des deux premières églises de Saint-Claude. On rappelle également la fonction première de l’étable construite par Guillaume Célestin Trémorin vers 1925, déménagée récemment sur le site des musées, qui était d’abriter les chevaux pendant que leurs propriétaires assistaient à la messe ou faisaient des emplettes au village. La Société historique de Saint-Claude organise parfois des démonstrations de fabrication de beurre, de crème glacée ou de yogourt avec ses appareils d’une autre époque.

Un intérêt particulier pour la sauvegarde du patrimoine

Le bureau d’information touristique de Saint-Claude loge dans la première prison construite dans la région en 1912. Ce bâtiment, appelé le musée de la geôle, est l’un des rares exemples encore debout d’une prison de village au Manitoba. Depuis 2005, la municipalité rurale de Grey, dont fait partie le village de Saint-Claude, l’a désigné site historique du patrimoine local. Sur le terrain de l’église actuelle, les villageois ont conservé et exposé le sommet du clocher de l’église précédente, aujourd’hui démolie. Ces initiatives témoignent de la sensibilité des habitants de Saint-Claude pour la préservation de leur patrimoine. Ils n’en sont pas moins tournés vers l’avenir pour avoir fait construire une église aussi révolutionnaire que celle dessinée par Étienne Gaboury, qui fait maintenant partie des richesses culturelles de Saint-Claude.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.