Loading
Home // Manitoba // Community portraits // St. Pierre Jolys, a welcoming rural Francophone community
back

St. Pierre Jolys, a welcoming rural Francophone community

Fifty kilometers south of Winnipeg, St. Pierre Jolys is located in a very fertile agricultural region that attracted the first inhabitants of Métis origin to settle there in 1872. Today, the Métis and French-Canadian population, still Francophone for the most part, is very popular because of its springtime Sugaring Off Festival and its Frog Follies and Agricultural Fair in the summer. This dynamic rural community also showcases two historic buildings, the Goulet House and the St. Pierre Jolys Museum, located in a former convent. Their exhibits illustrate the lifestyles of the Métis merchants and the female religious communities, who played an important role in the region.

 

To learn more…

Having fun in St. Pierre Jolys

st-pierre-jolys_-_sucre-300x225 -  - St. Pierre Jolys, a welcoming rural Francophone community
Sugar Shack

The village’s sugar shack, built by Armand Desharnais, the first resident to tap maple trees and produce maple syrup in St. Pierre Jolys, is one of the only places in Manitoba where the public can learn how maple products are made and taste them. Well-known local artist Réal Bérard designed a second, more spacious sugar shack in 1998 to welcome more visitors to the springtime Sugaring Off Festival.

Frog Follies, inaugurated in 1970 in the presence of the Queen of the United-Kingdom, Elizabeth II, is based on a truly original activity: the Canadian National Frog Jumping Championship, starring frogs and their “masters”. Of course, the contest is just a pretext to hold other family and sports activities, shows and performances. Held since 2009, this event takes place at the same time as the St. Pierre Jolys Agricultural Fair, which attracts thousands of people.

Education at St. Pierre Jolys

The convent of the Sisters of the Holy Names of Jesus and Marie, which educated parish girls, is a four-story building constructed in 1900. It is classified as a heritage site of Canada because of its typical architecture. Today it houses the St. Pierre Jolys Museum, which illustrates the lives of the students and nuns at this convent. It also pays homage to the members of this religious congregation, which fostered the development of the Francophone population in the region.

maison_goulet_04-300x200 -  - St. Pierre Jolys, a welcoming rural Francophone community
Goulet House

Goulet House was moved to the large wooded lot of the former convent. It was built at the end of the 19th century out of logs hand cut by Métis freighter Moïse Goulet, in the Red River style. The house was used to accommodate other Métis freighters who travelled the St. Paul Road (Crow Wing), which connected Fort Garry (Winnipeg) to St. Paul in the United States. Moïse Goulet and many other Métis freighters transported various merchandise in Red River oxcarts, on trails they blazed through the prairies. One of these famous carts completes the exhibit at Goulet House, which is furnished and decorated as it would have been in the 19th century. Today, it serves as an interpretation site that depicts the life of the Métis from that era.

A bit of history

abbejolys-237x300 -  - St. Pierre Jolys, a welcoming rural Francophone community
Father Jean-Marie Arthur Jolys

In July 1872, some 30 Métis from St. Norbert went to occupy the lands bordering the Rat River. The parish priest of St. Norbert, Abbé Ritchot, encouraged them to do so before Canadian government surveyors came to seize these very fine agricultural lands. Abbé Ritchot was one of the three people sent to Ottawa by Louis Riel in 1870 to have the property rights of the Red River Métis respected and to promote the entry of Manitoba into Canadian Confederation. However, in 1872, it became clear that the rights obtained by the Métis would not be easily upheld and that moving away from the more coveted areas, such as the Red River (today Winnipeg) or St. Norbert, would be a wise precaution. This is why he strongly encouraged some Métis to settle as quickly as possible on the fertile lands that bordered the Rat River.

In 1877, the mission established at the Rat River included some 20 families and was called the St. Pierre Mission. Abbé Jean-Marie Jolys, born in France, took over the mission and had a chapel and the first schools built. Abbé Jolys subsequently made many efforts to recruit new French-Canadians colonists from Quebec and the United States, where they had immigrated. They were all Francophones. In 1922, the community came to be known as St. Pierre Jolys, to pay homage to this colonizing priest.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Manitoba // Portraits de communautés // Saint-Pierre-Jolys, une accueillante communauté rurale francophone
retour

Saint-Pierre-Jolys, une accueillante communauté rurale francophone

À 50 kilomètres au sud de Winnipeg, Saint-Pierre-Jolys est situé dans une région agricole très fertile qui a attiré les premiers habitants d’origine métisse à s’y établir en 1872. Aujourd’hui, la population canadienne-française et métisse francophone, qui représente encore la moitié des résidents, fait beaucoup parler d’elle pour son Festival des sucres, qui se déroule au printemps, et son Festival Folies-Grenouilles, qui a lieu l’été. Cette communauté rurale dynamique met aussi en valeur deux bâtiments historiques : la Maison Goulet et le Musée Saint-Pierre-Jolys qui loge dans l’ancien couvent. Leurs expositions illustrent le mode de vie des commerçants métis et des communautés religieuses féminines qui ont joué un rôle clé dans la région.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

S’amuser à Saint-Pierre-Jolys

st-pierre-jolys_-_sucre-300x225 -  - Saint-Pierre-Jolys, une accueillante communauté rurale francophone
La cabane à sucre

La cabane à sucre du village, construite par Armand Desharnais, le premier résident à entailler et à produire du sirop d’érable à Saint-Pierre-Jolys, est l’un des seuls endroits au Manitoba où le public peut faire l’expérience de la production et de la dégustation de produits d’érable. L’artiste local de renom Réal Bérard a conçu une seconde cabane, plus spacieuse, en 1998, pour mieux accueillir les nombreux participants au Festival des sucres qui se déroule chaque année au printemps.

Le Festival Folies-Grenouilles fondé en 1970, en présence de la reine du Royaume-Uni Élisabeth II, repose sur une activité vraiment originale : le Championnat du saut de grenouilles national du Canada, qui met en vedette… des grenouilles et leurs « maîtres ». L’événement est bien sûr prétexte à plusieurs autres activités familiales et sportives, spectacles et démonstrations. Depuis 2009, il se déroule en même temps que la Foire agricole de Saint-Pierre-Jolys qui attire des milliers de personnes.

S’informer à Saint-Pierre-Jolys

Le couvent des Sœurs des Saints Noms de Jésus et de Marie, qui enseignaient aux jeunes filles de la paroisse, est un bâtiment de quatre étages construit en 1900, classé lieu patrimonial du Canada en raison de son architecture typique. Il abrite aujourd’hui le Musée Saint-Pierre-Jolys qui témoigne de la vie des élèves et des religieuses dans ce couvent, tout en rendant hommage aux membres de cette congrégation religieuse qui a favorisé le développement de la population francophone de la région.

maison_goulet_04-300x200 -  - Saint-Pierre-Jolys, une accueillante communauté rurale francophone
La maison Goulet

La Maison Goulet a été déménagée sur le grand terrain boisé de l’ancien couvent. Elle a été construite à la fin du 19e siècle en rondins taillés à la main par le fréteur métis Moïse Goulet, dans le style de la rivière Rouge. Elle servait de lieu d’hébergement à d’autres fréteurs métis qui circulaient sur le chemin Saint-Paul (Crow Wing) reliant le fort Garry (Winnipeg) à la ville de Saint-Paul, aux États-Unis. Moïse Goulet et de nombreux fréteurs métis transportaient diverses marchandises en charrettes de la rivière Rouge, qui étaient tirées par des bœufs, sur les pistes qu’ils avaient tracées à travers les prairies. L’une de ces fameuses charrettes complète l’exposition de la maison Goulet, meublée et décorée comme au 19e siècle, qui sert aujourd’hui de lieu d’interprétation et de démonstration de la vie des Métis à cette époque.

Un peu d’histoire

abbejolys-237x300 -  - Saint-Pierre-Jolys, une accueillante communauté rurale francophone
L’abbé Jean-Marie Arthur Jolys

En juillet 1872, une trentaine de Métis de Saint-Norbert viennent occuper des terres en bordure de la rivière aux Rats. Le curé de Saint-Norbert, l’abbé Ritchot, les encourage en ce sens avant que les arpenteurs du gouvernement canadien ne viennent accaparer ces très bonnes terres agricoles. L’abbé Ritchot faisait partie des trois personnes envoyées à Ottawa par Louis Riel en 1870 pour faire respecter les droits de propriété des terres métisses de la rivière Rouge et favoriser l’entrée du Manitoba dans la Confédération canadienne. Or, en 1872, il est devenu évident que les droits obtenus par les Métis ne seront pas faciles à faire respecter, et que s’éloigner des zones les plus convoitées, comme la rivière Rouge (aujourd’hui Winnipeg) ou Saint-Norbert, est une sage précaution. C’est pourquoi il encourage fortement certains Métis à s’établir au plus vite sur les bonnes terres qui bordent la rivière aux Rats.

En 1877, la mission établie à la rivière aux Rats compte vingt familles et est nommée mission de Saint-Pierre. L’abbé Jean-Marie Jolys, né en France, la prend en charge et fait construire une chapelle et les premières écoles. L’abbé Jolys fera par la suite maints efforts pour recruter de nouveaux colons canadiens-français provenant du Québec et des États-Unis, où ceux-ci avaient émigré. Tous des francophones. À compter de 1922, la localité sera connue sous le nom de Saint-Pierre-Jolys pour rendre hommage à ce prêtre colonisateur.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.