Loading
Home // Alberta // Nature and wildlife // University of Alberta Botanic Garden
back

University of Alberta Botanic Garden

If you’re passing through Edmonton and love flowers, you absolutely have to spend a day or two at this famous botanical garden.

You’ll be in your element on this 240‑acre property where numerous gardens and plant collections, greenhouses and nature trails beckon you. The University of Alberta has been home to this colourful attraction since 1959 and goes all out to promote the Kurimoto Japanese Garden, the tropical showhouse and its exotic butterflies. Fascinating collections and plants also await you in the Native Peoples Garden, as well as in the temperate and arid showhouses.

Admire hundreds of species of flowers and plants, fruits and vegetables, magnificent trees straight out of a storybook—a feast for the eyes and nose! You’ll learn how some species survive in Canada’s northern climate and how the ecosystems shared by plants and humans work.

You’ll understand why the garden, which is also a research site, has won numerous awards, notably because of its educational programs for children and adults. The garden is open from May 1 until Thanksgiving.

Gallery

Additional information

French services upon request

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Alberta // Nature et faune // Le jardin botanique de l’Université de l’Alberta
retour

Le jardin botanique de l’Université de l’Alberta

Si vous passez par Edmonton et que vous êtes un amateur floral, vous devez absolument consacrer une ou deux journées à ce fameux jardin botanique.

Vous serez comme un poisson dans l’eau dans cette propriété de 240 acres, où de multiples jardins et collections de plantes, de serres et de sentiers naturels vous tendent la main. L’Université d’Alberta abrite cette attraction colorée depuis 1959 et ne lésine sur aucun effort pour promouvoir le Jardin japonais Kurimoto, la serre tropicale et ses papillons exotiques, le jardin des Premières Nations et la serre au climat tempéré et aride.

Admirez des centaines d’espèces de fleurs et de plantes, de légumes et de fruits, d’arbres somptueux sortis tout droit d’un conte, un festin pour les yeux et les narines!

Vous apprendrez comment certaines espèces survivent dans le climat nordique canadien et comment fonctionnent les écosystèmes partagés par les plantes et les humains.

Vous comprendrez pourquoi le jardin, aussi un site de recherches, a remporté de nombreuses récompenses, notamment en raison de son programme éducationnel pour enfants et adultes. Le jardin vous accueille du 1er mai jusqu’à l’Action de grâce.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français sur demande

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.