Loading
Home // British Colombia // Community portraits // Francophones in the Okanagan Valley: pioneers and contemporaries
back

Francophones in the Okanagan Valley: pioneers and contemporaries

In the breathtaking Okanagan Valley, in the heart of British Columbia’s Rocky Mountains, many of the first permanent European settlers were Francophones. Some traces of their early presence are still visible today, particularly in Kelowna, where the original buildings from the mission founded by Father Pandosy, an Oblate priest from Marseilles, and some French-Canadian helpers, are open to visitors. They were the valley’s farming pioneers. In addition to this heritage dating back to 1860, the Centre culturel francophone de l’Okanagan, also located in Kelowna, sustains the vitality of the French culture in the region by organizing various get‑togethers and events that attract Francophones and Francophiles alike. In addition to the French‑language services offered by the Centre, French schools and French immersion schools help keep the French presence alive in the valley. Vernon and Lumby also showcase some of this heritage.

 

Learn more…

The Francophone memory in Kelowna

a032418-v6-300x216 -  - Francophones in the Okanagan Valley: pioneers and contemporaries
Panoramic view of Kelowna in 1909

Many Kelowna streets bear the names of Francophone pioneers. Pandosy Street, a major downtown artery, is a reminder of Father Pandosy’s arrival in 1859. Lawrence Street and Lawrence Road, named after Théodore and Cyprienne Laurent, originally from Trois‑Rivières, Quebec, evoke the arrival of the first white inhabitants to settle permanently in the Okanagan in 1859. Gillard Drive is named after Auguste Gillard, who arrived in 1860. It was also after the physical appearance and exploits of that sturdy, bearded, hairy man, who killed a grizzly bear on his property in what is today downtown, that the city was named Kelowna, which means “grizzly” in the language of the region’s Salish Indigenous peoples. There is also a Lequime Street, named after the Léquime family who arrived in Kelowna in 1861. Éli Léquime, the father, opened the city’s first post office and the first hotel and saloon. Other streets include Leon (after Léon Léquime), Bouvette, Gagnon, Gaston, de Montreuil and Saucier, to name a few, which serve as a reminder of the role of some 40 Francophone families that settled Kelowna and the surrounding area.

Father Pandosy Mission heritage site

house-monument-dslr-statue-canon-gargoyle-169916-pxhere.com-1-300x200 -  - Francophones in the Okanagan Valley: pioneers and contemporaries
The Father Pandosy monument

The most treasured heritage in Kelowna remains the Father Pandosy Mission site. Designated a provincial heritage site in 1983, it is home to many historic buildings. Three of those buildings date back to the 1860s: the first chapel, which was built in 1860 and is the oldest structure in the Okanagan Valley, and the cellar and the house where Fathers Charles Pandosy and Pierre Richard lived with Brother Surel. One of the mission’s barns, built in 1886, John McDougall’s house, built in the 1860s, as well as the house of Joseph Christien (Chrétien), a fruit grower and cattle rancher who bought the house from David McDougall in 1861, were also moved to the site. The interiors of these restored buildings were furnished with period pieces.

14327122818_54b5f04f62_b-300x192 -  - Francophones in the Okanagan Valley: pioneers and contemporaries
The MV Pendozi ferry. Photo taken in 1939, postcard dating from about 1950

Father Pandosy introduced vineyards, fruit orchards and cattle to the Okanagan. He also opened the valley’s first school, on the second storey of the chapel, where the Oblates taught French to the Indigenous peoples and settlers. In the 36 years following Father Pandosy’s arrival in 1859, the Immaculate Conception mission was the focal point of religious life and education in the Okanagan. At the height of its activity in the 1890s, it spanned more than eight square kilometres and had a population of 1,700 mainly Anglophone inhabitants. The lay brothers tended to farming in the orchards, vineyards and vegetable gardens. Their livestock included 550 head of cattle and 35 horses. The mission closed its doors in 1906.

Centre culturel francophone de l’Okanagan

The Francophones who continued to settle in the Okanagan created and maintained various associations over time. In 1978, they established the Centre culturel francophone de l’Okanagan, which moved in 1984 into the old church, where it is still housed today. The Centre provides various services, including French courses, summer camps for children, a library, a media room, musical and theatrical performances, social gatherings and other events.

It also organizes larger-scale activities for the general public and visitors, in order to share the French culture. For the past 40 years, it has held MapleFest every spring, a three‑day event featuring traditional dishes, maple treats, shows, music, dancing, and an art exhibition. The Francofête bilingual show and family event is held every year in Kerry Park, in the heart of Kelowna. Nuit blanche is a nighttime celebration of multidisciplinary arts, with light shows and contemporary artistic performances. French-language film screenings, a book fair, a Christmas market, geocaching and various French-language shows are also put on throughout the year.

Other Francophone heritage sites in the Okanagan

15952966436_137a1b366d_o-300x200 -  - Francophones in the Okanagan Valley: pioneers and contemporaries
Lumby

The Girouard Cabin and Park is a small park in Vernon that is home to the restored wood cabin that Luc Girouard built in 1867. This native Quebecer sought his fortune in the California Gold Rush, and then became the first permanent resident of Vernon. He planted the first commercial orchard in the town, developed the first irrigation system, and served as the first postmaster.

Some 25 kilometres further east, in the village of Lumby—formerly White Valley, named after George Leblanc, a prospector and landowner in the 1870s—more than 30 murals tell the history of this region settled by a number of Francophones. Some of the murals are of Pierre Bessette, his wife Eunice Christien (Chrétien), from Kelowna, and their daughter Blandine, as well as Eva Léger and Alphonse Chabot, a boxer who lost only 4 of the 117 fights he fought in Canada and the United States.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Colombie-Britannique // Portraits de communautés // Les francophones de la vallée de l’Okanagan : pionniers et contemporains
retour

Les francophones de la vallée de l’Okanagan : pionniers et contemporains

Dans la magnifique vallée de l’Okanagan, plusieurs des premiers habitants permanents d’origine européenne étaient francophones. Quelques traces de leur passage sont encore visibles, en particulier à Kelowna, où l’on peut visiter les bâtiments originaux de la mission fondée par le père Pandosy, un oblat de Marseille, qu’accompagnaient quelques Canadiens français. Ce sont les pionniers de l’agriculture dans la vallée. En plus de ce patrimoine remontant à 1860, le Centre culturel francophone de l’Okanagan, lui aussi situé à Kelowna, maintient la vitalité de la culture française dans la région en organisant divers événements rassembleurs qui attirent autant les francophiles que les francophones. En plus des services en français qu’offre ce Centre, des écoles françaises et des écoles d’immersion française contribuent à maintenir vivant le fait français dans la vallée. Quelques autres éléments de ce patrimoine sont mis en valeur à Vernon et à Lumby.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

La mémoire francophone à Kelowna

a032418-v6-300x216 -  - Les francophones de la vallée de l’Okanagan : pionniers et contemporains
Vue panoramique de Kelowna en 1909

Plusieurs rues de la ville de Kelowna portent le nom de pionniers francophones. Pandosy Street, une artère importante du centre-ville, rappelle bien sûr l’arrivée du père Pandosy en 1859. Lawrence Street et Lawrence Road, du nom de Théodore et Cyprienne Laurent, originaires de Trois-Rivières, au Québec, évoquent l’arrivée des premiers habitants blancs à s’installer en permanence dans l’Okanagan en 1859. Gillard Drive a été nommée en l’honneur d’Auguste Gillard, arrivé en 1860. Ce serait d’ailleurs d’après l’apparence physique et l’exploit de cet homme robuste, barbu et chevelu, qui tua un ours grizzli sur sa propriété du centre-ville actuel, que l’on baptisa la ville Kelowna, qui veut dire « grizzli » en langue des peuples autochtones salish de la région. Il existe aussi une Lequime Street, en souvenir de la famille Léquime arrivée à Kelowna en 1861. Éli Léquime, le père, a ouvert le premier bureau de poste et le premier hôtel-saloon de la ville. On trouve également les rues Leon (pour Léon Léquime), Bouvette, Gagnon, Gaston, de Montreuil, Saucier et bien d’autres, qui rappellent toutes le rôle de la quarantaine de familles francophones qui ont colonisé Kelowna et les environs.

Le site patrimonial de la Mission du père Pandosy

house-monument-dslr-statue-canon-gargoyle-169916-pxhere.com-1-300x200 -  - Les francophones de la vallée de l’Okanagan : pionniers et contemporains
Le monument du Père Pandosy

Le plus précieux patrimoine demeure le site de la Mission du père Pandosy à Kelowna. Désigné site patrimonial provincial en 1983, on y trouve plusieurs bâtiments historiques : trois d’entre eux remontent aux années 1860, dont la première chapelle construite en 1860 – la plus vieille construction de la vallée de l’Okanagan –, le cellier et la maison où demeuraient les pères Charles Pandosy, Pierre Richard et le frère Surel. On a aussi déménagé sur ce site l’une des granges de la mission bâtie en 1886, la maison de John McDougall construite dans les années 1860 et celle de Joseph Christien (Chrétien), producteur de fruits et éleveur de bétail qui l’a achetée de David McDougall en 1861. L’intérieur de ces bâtiments restaurés a été meublé comme à l’époque.

14327122818_54b5f04f62_b-300x192 -  - Les francophones de la vallée de l’Okanagan : pionniers et contemporains
Le ferry MV Pendozi. Photo prise en 1939, carte postale datant de 1950 environ

Le père Pandosy a introduit la vigne, les arbres fruitiers et le bétail en Okanagan. Il a aussi ouvert la première école de la vallée, au deuxième étage de la chapelle où les oblats enseignaient en français aux Autochtones et aux colons. Durant les 36 années suivant l’arrivée du père Pandosy, en 1859, la mission de l’Immaculée Conception fut le point central de la vie religieuse et de l’éducation en Okanagan. Au plus fort de ses activités, dans les années 1890, elle s’étendait sur plus de huit kilomètres carrés et comptait une population de 1700 personnes, principalement des Autochtones. Les frères laïcs s’occupaient des travaux agricoles dans les vergers, les vignobles et les jardins potagers. Le cheptel comptait 550 têtes de bétail et 35 chevaux. La mission a fermé ses portes en 1906.

Le Centre culturel francophone de l’Okanagan

Les francophones qui ont continué de s’établir en Okanagan se sont regroupés dans diverses associations au fil du temps. En 1978, ils créent le Centre culturel francophone de l’Okanagan, qui emménage en 1984 dans l’ancienne église, où il se trouve toujours. Le Centre y offre divers services : cours de français, camps d’été pour les enfants, bibliothèque, médiathèque, spectacles musicaux, représentations théâtrales, rencontres sociales et autres.

Il organise également des activités de plus grande envergure s’adressant à toute la population et aux visiteurs, dans le but de partager la culture française. Depuis 40 ans, le Festival de l’érable se tient chaque printemps ; durant trois jours, repas traditionnels, dégustation de produits d’érable, spectacles, musique, danse et exposition artistique se succèdent. Le spectacle bilingue et fête de famille de la Francofête se tient chaque année au parc Kerry, au cœur de la ville de Kelowna. La Nuit blanche est une fête nocturne d’arts multidisciplinaires : projections lumineuses et performances artistiques contemporaines. Des projections de films francophones, un salon du livre, un marché de Noël, des activités de géocache et divers spectacles en français sont aussi proposés tout au long de l’année.

Autres sites du patrimoine francophone en Okanagan

15952966436_137a1b366d_o-300x200 -  - Les francophones de la vallée de l’Okanagan : pionniers et contemporains
Lumby

Le Girouard Cabin and Park est un petit parc de la ville de Vernon où l’on trouve la cabane de bois restaurée que Luc Girouard a construite en 1867. Ce Québécois d’origine a participé à la ruée vers l’or en Californie, puis il est devenu le premier résident permanent de Vernon. Il y planta le premier verger commercial, y développa le premier système d’irrigation et fut aussi le premier maître de poste.

À 25 kilomètres plus à l’est, dans le village de Lumby – autrefois White Valley du nom de George Leblanc, prospecteur et propriétaire terrien des années 1870 –, une trentaine de murales racontent l’histoire de la région colonisée par plusieurs francophones. On y voit notamment Pierre Bessette, sa femme Eunice Christien (Chrétien), venue de Kelowna, et leur fille Blandine, ainsi qu’Eva Léger et Alphonse Chabot, ce boxeur qui ne perdit que 4 des 117 combats auxquels il a participé au Canada et aux États-Unis.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.