Loading
Home // New Brunswick // Heritage Sites // Acadian Historic Village of Caraquet: reliving Acadia’s history
back

Acadian Historic Village of Caraquet: reliving Acadia’s history

Located at the heart of the Acadian Peninsula, the marvelous Acadian Historic Village gives visitors a glimpse of the day-to-day lives of the people who lived and worked in the 40 authentic buildings on the site. Visitors are taken through several historical periods, from 1770 to 1949, accompanied by housewives cooking old-world recipes in an 18th century house, artisans demonstrating ancient know-how in a forge or newspaper office in the 19th century and an innkeeper welcoming customers to a 20th century hotel. The Acadian village provides a magical tour of Acadia’s history through the eyes of Acadians who re‑enact the past.

 

To learn more…

Visitors, take your time!

It takes at least four hours to tour this large village, which contains some 40 buildings. The entrance ticket is valid for two full days, since there are so many things to do and discover in the Acadian Historic Village of Caraquet. The 40 performers in period costume make straw hats, soap and rope, spin flax, dye wool, split cedar shingles, shoe horses, print the village newspaper by hand, shape tin, knead dough, work wood, farm the fields and feed the animals, among other things. These are all things that visitors can watch and even learn to do in this village. As they go about their business, the costumed actors chat with visitors, tell them their stories and talk about the crafts that they have mastered.

To get more out of their stay, visitors can even take rooms at the Château Albert Hotel, reproduced from original plans from 1907, to enjoy an in-depth “period experience” and have the privilege of staying on the site after hours.

Passing on the know-how of Acadian artisans

Teams of professionals carried out extensive research on food, clothing and traditional trades in order to train the interpreters who guide visitors. Artisans who are still familiar with the old methods also helped to pass on their knowledge. Now, experienced guides can teach the trades and transmit their know-how to new recruits in the same way that masters trained apprentices in the past. In this spirit, a restaurant in one of the ancestral homes offers traditional Acadian meals.

The same attention to detail was paid to the choice of the buildings on the site. They were transported and rebuilt in their environment and according to their original function, to reflect the regional diversity of New Brunswick’s Acadian culture and its evolution.

To preserve the true historical charm that the designers ardently wanted to give to the village, they built it some distance from existing cities and towns. They also made sure to maximize the effect of being transported to the past. A local resident even supervised the rehabilitation of the system of dykes and aboiteaux that enabled the original inhabitants to drain the marshes of the Rivière du Nord, which borders the site, using traditional techniques he learned from his father.

Ancient knowledge, a contemporary economic driver

Officially announced in 1974, the Acadian Historic Village, which opened in 1977, included 18 developments and major buildings. Erecting buildings covering the period from 1770 to 1890 continued for three more years. Dozens of craftsmen with traditional skills restored the buildings, while a team of historians, conservators and heritage specialists carried out research and training. At the end of the 1990s, about 100 people worked to incorporate the period from 1900 to 1949, which is separated from the older period by a brook and a covered bridge.

The village employs an average of 160 people during the summer, 80 of whom are guides and actors in period costume, divided in two work teams. Since the opening, more than 3,000 people have worked in the village and over 3.5 million people have visited it. The Acadian Historic Village of Caraquet has earned many tourism and heritage promotion awards, including the Attractions Canada Award.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Nouveau-Brunswick // Sites patrimoniaux // Village historique acadien de Caraquet : revivre l’histoire de l’Acadie
retour

Village historique acadien de Caraquet : revivre l’histoire de l’Acadie

Situé au cœur de la Péninsule acadienne, le merveilleux Village historique acadien propose aux visiteurs d’explorer la vie quotidienne des gens qui habitaient et travaillaient dans la quarantaine de bâtiments authentiques rassemblés sur le site. Les visiteurs traversent plusieurs époques, entre 1770 et 1949 : ménagères qui cuisinent comme autrefois dans une maison du 18e siècle, artisans qui perpétuent les savoir-faire anciens dans une forge ou un journal du 19e siècle, aubergiste qui accueille les clients dans un hôtel du 20e siècle. Le Village permet de faire un tour quasi complet de l’histoire de l’Acadie en rencontrant des Acadiens surgis du passé qui renaissent sous vos yeux. Magique !

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Visiteurs, prenez votre temps !

Il faut un minimum de quatre heures pour faire le tour de ce grand village, qui compte une quarantaine de bâtiments, mais le billet d’entrée est valide pour deux journées entières, tant il y a de choses à faire et à découvrir au Village historique acadien de Caraquet. Les 40 animateurs en costume d’époque fabriquent des chapeaux de paille, du savon, de la corde, ils filent le lin, teignent la laine, taillent des bardeaux de cèdre et ferrent des chevaux, ils impriment le journal du Village à la main, façonnent le fer blanc, pétrissent de la pâte à pain, font de la menuiserie, cultivent les champs et nourrissent les animaux. Entre autres choses. C’est dire tout ce qu’on peut voir et apprendre dans ce village. Pendant leurs activités, les animateurs échangent avec les visiteurs, racontent leur histoire et expliquent les savoir-faire qu’ils maîtrisent.

Pour profiter davantage de leur séjour, les visiteurs peuvent même loger à l’hôtel Château Albert, reconstruit d’après des plans originaux de 1907, pour vivre à fond une « expérience d’époque » et avoir le privilège de demeurer sur le site après les heures d’ouverture.

La transmission des savoir-faire artisanaux acadiens

Des équipes de professionnels ont multiplié les recherches sur l’alimentation, les vêtements et les métiers traditionnels pour former les interprètes-animateurs. Des artisans qui connaissaient encore les méthodes anciennes ont aussi participé à la transmission de leur savoir. Maintenant, les métiers et savoir-faire sont enseignés oralement de maître à apprenti, par les animateurs d’expérience aux nouvelles recrues, comme autrefois. Dans cet esprit, un restaurant établi dans l’une des maisons ancestrales propose des mets traditionnels acadiens.

Dès le départ, le même souci d’authenticité a prévalu dans le choix des bâtiments qui se retrouvent sur le site. Ils ont été transportés et réaménagés dans leur environnement et leur fonction d’origine. Ils reflètent la diversité régionale de la culture acadienne du Nouveau-Brunswick et l’évolution de celle-ci.

Pour préserver le cachet historique « véritable » que les concepteurs tenaient absolument à donner au Village, ils ont établi celui-ci à l’écart des villes et villages existants. Ils se sont ainsi assurés de maximiser l’effet de retour dans le temps. Un habitant de l’endroit a même dirigé la réhabilitation du système de digues et d’aboiteau qui avait permis d’assécher les marais de la Rivière-du-Nord, en bordure de laquelle le site est aménagé, selon les techniques traditionnelles apprises de son père.

Savoirs anciens, moteur économique contemporain

Annoncé officiellement en 1974, le Village historique acadien, qui a ouvert ses portes en 1977, comprenait 18 aménagements et bâtiments majeurs. Les travaux de construction de la partie du village qui couvre la période 1770-1890 se sont poursuivis pendant trois autres années. Pour ce faire, des dizaines d’artisans détenteurs de savoirs traditionnels ont restauré les bâtiments, pendant qu’une équipe d’historiens, de conservateurs et de spécialistes du patrimoine effectuait la recherche et la formation. À la fin des années 1990, une centaine de personnes ont aussi travaillé à l’intégration de la période 1900-1949, qui est séparée de la période plus ancienne par un ruisseau et un pont couvert.

Le Village emploie en moyenne 160 personnes pendant la saison estivale, dont 80 animateurs en costume d’époque, divisés en deux équipes de travail. En tout, depuis l’ouverture, plus de 3000 personnes ont œuvré au Village, et plus de 3,5 millions de personnes l’ont visité. Le Village historique acadien de Caraquet a obtenu plusieurs prix en tourisme et en mise en valeur du patrimoine, notamment celui d’Attractions Canada.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.