Loading
Home // Québec // Community portraits // Wendake, the heritage of a great nation
back

Wendake, the heritage of a great nation

The descendants of the powerful Huron-Wendat nation live in Wendake, one of the only Amerindian villages located in an urban environment in Canada. Wendake has long been a cultural, political and economic centre for the Indigenous peoples of Quebec. This advantageous location and the commercial traditions of the Huron-Wendat have also allowed the inhabitants of Wendake to develop and enjoy a stable and diversified economy. They now have a standard of living comparable to that of non-Indigenous peoples. Over the past few years, the Huron-Wendat community has worked hard to promote its heritage and has developed the cultural tourism section by building high-quality infrastructure. Wendake has also become a major heritage site and an important tourist attraction in the greater Quebec City region.

 

To learn more…

A rich and diversified heritage

hotel-musee-300x200 -  - Wendake, the heritage of a great nation
Hôtel-Musée Premières Nations

The dynamic Huron-Wendat business community recently completed several heritage and tourism development projects. The Onhoüa Chetek8e interpretive site presents the traditional Huron-Wendat culture in a reconstructed village. The Hôtel-musée Premières Nations, a four-star establishment, reflects the traditional Huron-Wendat culture in a very modern way: the hotel smoothly integrates elements of the traditional material culture into the contemporary design; its gourmet restaurant is based on local cuisine and the natural flavours of the boreal forest; its museum displays artifacts reflecting the continuity of Indigenous culture, from the ancient period to today, while also shining a light on Huron-Wendat history; and storytellers transport visitors into the Indigenous imagination in the National Longhouse Ekionkiestha’, adjacent to the hotel. Stores in Wendake offer a wonderful sample of the rich Huron-Wendat craftmaking tradition, including wild animal furs, rawhide snowshoes, leather moccasins and gloves finely-embroidered with glass beads, necklaces, pendants, rings, and decorative birch bark objects.

wendake_13-300x253 -  - Wendake, the heritage of a great nation
Chapel, interior, 1925

In the centre of the village, the Notre-Dame-de-Lorette church, a national historic site and provincial historical monument, still has its original furnishings, metalwork and liturgical objects dating to the time of its construction in 1730. After a partial fire in 1862, it was renovated, and a side chapel and sacristy were added. The faithful can gather and direct their prayers to the first Amerindian canonized by Pope Benedict XVI in 2012, St. Kateri Tekakwitha, in the sanctuary dedicated to her.

The Huron-Wendat nation also pays homage to Nicolas Vincent Tsawenhohi, a well-known person of national historical importance, in Tsawenhohi House. He was the first Grand Chief to live in this house, which was built between 1807 and 1820 and is classed as a heritage monument by the Huron-Wendat Nation Council. A hunter, trapper and fisherman like all Huron-Wendat at the time, Nicholas Vincent was one of the great diplomats of his nation. He worked for the good of his community and the customary Huron territory, the Nionwentsïo (“our magnificent land” in Huron-Wendat), which he knew intimately. Visitors can learn more about him though a permanent exhibition and guided tours.

From the spectacular Kabir Kouba waterfall and the network of trails along the Akiawenrahk River (the Saint-Charles River in English), visitors can see the layout of the traditional Huron-Wendat villages that were always located next to waterways.

A Gathering Place

powwow-300x199 -  - Wendake, the heritage of a great nation
Pow wow, Wendake

In addition to the prosperous village that the Huron-Wendat were able to create thanks to their entrepreneurial spirit and the development of their heritage, Wendake has attracted several organizations representing First Nations, and has become an important Indigenous meeting place in Quebec. It houses the offices of the Assembly of First Nations Quebec-Labrador, the Société touristique des Autochtones du Québec, as well as the First Nations Education Council and the First Nations of Quebec and Labrador Sustainable Development Institute. The First Peoples Business Association is also located there. This political importance is in line with the role that Huron-Wendat long played throughout northeastern North America and the Great Lakes region as major diplomats and traders, two activities that were closely associated with traditional First Nations culture.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Québec // Patrimoine culturel // Wendake, le patrimoine d’une grande nation
retour

Wendake, le patrimoine d’une grande nation

Les descendants de la puissante nation huronne-wendat habitent Wendake, l’un des seuls villages amérindiens situés en milieu urbain au Canada. Wendake est depuis longtemps un centre culturel, politique et économique des Autochtones du Québec. Cette localisation avantageuse et les traditions commerciales des Hurons-Wendat ont aussi permis de développer une économie stable et diversifiée dont bénéficient les habitants de Wendake, qui jouissent d’un niveau de vie comparable à celui des non-Autochtones. Ces dernières années, la communauté huronne-wendat a beaucoup travaillé sur la mise en valeur de son patrimoine et développé le secteur du tourisme culturel par la mise en place d’infrastructures de grande qualité. Wendake est aussi devenu un haut lieu patrimonial et une importante attraction touristique de la grande région de Québec.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Un patrimoine riche et diversifié

hotel-musee-300x200 -  - Wendake, le patrimoine d’une grande nation
Hôtel-Musée Premières Nations

La dynamique communauté d’affaires huronne-wendat a récemment mené à bien plusieurs projets de mise en valeur patrimoniale et touristique. Le site d’interprétation Onhoüa Chetek8e présente la culture traditionnelle des Hurons-Wendat dans un village reconstitué. L’hôtel-musée Premières Nations, un établissement quatre étoiles, reflète la culture traditionnelle huronne-wendat de manière très actuelle : son hôtel intègre avec finesse les éléments de la culture matérielle traditionnelle au design contemporain, son restaurant gastronomique mise sur la cuisine du terroir et les saveurs naturelles de la forêt boréale, son musée expose des artéfacts qui reflètent la continuité de la culture autochtone, des périodes anciennes jusqu’à aujourd’hui, tout en éclairant l’histoire huronne-wendat tandis que des conteurs transportent les visiteurs dans l’imaginaire autochtone au sein de la Maison longue nationale Ekionkiestha’, adjacente à l’hôtel. Les boutiques de Wendake offrent un bel échantillon de la riche tradition artisanale huronne-wendat, composé de fourrures d’animaux sauvages, de raquettes en babiche, de mocassins et de gants de cuir finement brodés de perles de verre, de colliers, de pendentifs, de bagues et d’objets décoratifs en écorce de bouleau.

wendake_13-300x253 -  - Wendake, le patrimoine d’une grande nation
Intérieur de la Chapelle des Hurons

Au cœur du village, l’église Notre-Dame-de-Lorette, lieu historique national et monument historique provincial, contient encore son mobilier d’origine, de l’orfèvrerie et des objets liturgiques remontant à l’époque de sa construction, en 1730. Après un incendie partiel survenu en 1862, elle a été rénovée et on y a ajouté une chapelle latérale et une sacristie. Les fidèles peuvent s’y recueillir et adresser des prières à la première Amérindienne canonisée par le pape Benoît XVI en 2012, sainte Kateri Tekakwitha, dans le sanctuaire qui lui est dédié.

La nation huronne-wendat rend également hommage à Nicolas Vincent Tsawenhohi, un personnage reconnu d’importance historique nationale, dans la maison Tsawenhohi. Il est le premier Grand Chef à avoir habité cette maison classée bien patrimonial par le Conseil de la Nation huronne-wendat, construite entre 1807 et 1820. Chasseur, trappeur et pêcheur comme tous les Hurons-Wendat de son époque, Nicolas Vincent a été l’un des grands diplomates de sa nation. Il a œuvré pour le bien de sa collectivité et du territoire coutumier huron, le Nionwentsïo (« notre magnifique territoire » en huron-wendat), qu’il connaissait intimement. Une exposition permanente et des visites guidées permettent d’en apprendre davantage sur lui.

La spectaculaire chute Kabir Kouba et le réseau de sentiers qui longent la rivière Akiawenrahk (appelée Saint-Charles en français) permettent d’appréhender l’aménagement des villages traditionnels Huron-Wendat qui étaient toujours situés à proximité de cours d’eau.

Un lieu de rassemblement

powwow-300x199 -  - Wendake, le patrimoine d’une grande nation
Pow wow à Wendake

En plus de la prospérité que les Hurons-Wendat ont su créer dans leur village, grâce à leur esprit d’entreprise et la mise en valeur de leur patrimoine, Wendake a attiré plusieurs organismes représentatifs des Premières Nations et est devenu un lieu important de rassemblement autochtone au Québec. On y trouve les bureaux de l’Assemblée des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador, ceux de la Société touristique des Autochtones du Québec ainsi que ceux du Conseil d’éducation des Premières Nations et de l’Institut de développement durable des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador. L’Association d’affaires des Premiers Peuples y a également pignon sur rue. Cette importance politique s’inscrit en continuité avec le rôle de grands diplomates et de grands commerçants – deux activités qui étaient étroitement liées dans la culture traditionnelle des Premières Nations – que les Hurons-Wendat ont longtemps joué dans tout le Nord-Est de l’Amérique et les Grands Lacs.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.