Loading
Home // Prince Edward Island // Cultural Heritage // Our Lady of Mont-Carmel Historical Church
back

Our Lady of Mont-Carmel Historical Church

Known for its enchanting site and imposing architecture, the centennial Our Lady of Mont-Carmel Church is located on the edge of the Northumberland Strait. Many visitors come each year to contemplate the beauty of this church. Since 1997, the site is also a place where the majestic Confederation Bridge can be seen to the east, in all its length.

The community of Grand Ruisseau (now Mont-Carmel) was founded in 1812 by Acadian families from the St. Eleanors area.

It was in 1898 that the parishioners built this church, the third on the same site. Father Pierre-Paul Arsenault, who arrived in the parish in 1896, is recognized as the great promoter of the construction of this beautiful temple, a spacious red brick church to accommodate the growing population. To do so, the parish priest hired architect René P. LeMay of Lotbinière, Québec, to prepare the plans for this temple, which would soon be classified as one of the most beautiful religious buildings in the province.

Four hundred and fifty thousand bricks were made on site for the construction which would cost $75,000. On July 3, 1898, the blessing of the cornerstone took place. The exterior of the building was completed by January 1, 1899 when its blessing took place under the patronage of Notre-Dame-du-Mont-Carmel. Over the following few years, the interior decorations would be completed.

In 2003, Notre-Dame-du-Mont-Carmel Church was added to the Prince Edward Island Register of Historic Places. Distinguished by its longevity and beauty, it remains one of the most beautiful churches in the province.

Gallery

Additional information

Opening Period

Season(s) :
Other
From July to August

Time during the week :
7 days a week

Time during the day :
Other
From 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Île-du-Prince-Édouard // Patrimoine culturel // Église historique Notre-Dame-du-Mont-Carmel
retour

Église historique Notre-Dame-du-Mont-Carmel

Reconnue pour son site enchanteur et son architecture imposante, l’église centenaire Notre-Dame-du-Mont-Carmel est située au bord du détroit de Northumberland. De nombreux visiteurs viennent chaque année pour contempler la beauté de ce temple. Depuis 1997, le site est aussi un lieu où l’on peut apercevoir, à l’est, en toute sa longueur, le majestueux pont de la Confédération.

La communauté du Grand Ruisseau (aujourd’hui Mont-Carmel) fut fondée en 1812 par des familles d’Acadiens venus de la région de St. Eleanors.

C’est en 1898 que les paroissiens ont construit cette église, la 3e sur le même site. Arrivé dans la paroisse en 1896, le père Pierre-Paul Arsenault est reconnu comme le grand promoteur de la construction de ce beau temple, une église spacieuse en briques rouges pour accommoder la population grandissante. Pour ce faire, le curé a embauché l’architecte René P. LeMay de Lotbinière, Québec, pour préparer les plans de ce temple qui sera vite classé comme un des plus beaux édifices religieux de la province.

Quatre cent cinquante mille briques ont été fabriqués sur place pour la construction qui coûtera 75 000 $. Le 3 juillet 1898 eut lieu la bénédiction de la pierre angulaire. L’extérieur de l’édifice était terminé pour le 1er janvier 1899 quand a eu lieu sa bénédiction sous le vocable de Notre-Dame-du-Mont-Carmel. Au cours des quelques prochaines années, on a complété les décorations de l’intérieur.

En 2003, on a inscrit l’église Notre-Dame-du-Mont-Carmel dans le Registre des lieux patrimoniaux de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Démarquée par sa longévité et sa beauté, elle demeure toujours l’une des plus belles dans toute la province.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Les mois de juillet et août.
De 9 h à 17 h.

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.