Loading
Home // Newfoundland and Labrador // Cultural Heritage // French Shore Historical Society & French Shore Interpretation Centre
back

French Shore Historical Society & French Shore Interpretation Centre

Imagine a place where evidence of Canada’s oldest European history can still be found, a place where you can discover and touch the traces of a 500-year-old epic.

From 1504 to 1904, intrepid French fishermen braved the North Atlantic every spring to fish for cod on the Grand Banks of Newfoundland. The generous harbours of Conche, Englee, Croque and Saint-Julien were then the heart of what was called the French Shore. This story is brilliantly related in the French Shore Interpretation Centre in Conche.

You will find the French Shore tapestry there, a unique and astonishing 70-metre (227-foot) historical work embroidered by the women of the village replicating techniques used for France’s Bayeux tapestry. A unique and must-see Newfoundland treasure!

The centre also houses a life-size replica of the boat, called a chaloupe, used by French and Basque fishermen, as well as fishing equipment left behind by French fishermen and pioneers who came to this area.

Gallery

Additional information

French services upon request

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador // Patrimoine culturel // La Société historique du French Shore & Le Centre d’interprétation du French Shore
retour

La Société historique du French Shore & Le Centre d’interprétation du French Shore

Imaginez un endroit où l’histoire européenne la plus ancienne du Canada gît encore à la surface, un endroit où vous pouvez découvrir et toucher les traces d’une épopée vieille de 500 ans.

De 1504 à 1904, d’intrépides pêcheurs français ont bravé l’Atlantique Nord chaque printemps pour pêcher la morue sur les grands bancs de Terre-Neuve. Les ports généreux de Conche, Englee, Croque et Saint-Julien furent alors le cœur de ce que l’on a appelé le French Shore. Cette histoire est retracée avec brio au Centre d’interprétation du French Shore, situé à Conche.

Retrouvez-y notamment la tapisserie du French Shore, une fresque historique unique et étonnante, d’une longueur de près de 70 mètres (227 pieds), brodée par les femmes du village selon la technique de la tapisserie de Bayeux, en France. Un trésor unique de Terre-Neuve à ne pas manquer.

Le centre abrite également une réplique grandeur nature du bateau, appelé chaloupe, utilisé par les pêcheurs français et basques, ainsi que des objets de pêche laissés par les pêcheurs français et les pionniers venus pêcher dans la région.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français sur demande

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.