Macaulay Heritage House
Macaulay Heritage Park is an attractive historic site featuring many points of interest: Macaulay House, built in 1830 and restored in the mid-1850s; the historic former church of St. Mary Magdalene, now a museum; the old parish cemetery; the heritage gardens and the carriage house, all of which offer visitors a comprehensive tour of the park.
Reverend William Macaulay was originally sent to this area as a missionary. In 1823, he organized the Parish of Hallowell, donating the land for the church and paying for much of its construction himself.
Reverend Macaulay’s contributions to the community were not only spiritual, but civic as well, thanks to construction of a school and a courthouse—the latter having been in use since 1831. Macaulay was also instrumental in naming the town of Picton.