Loading
Home // Nova Scotia // Cultural Heritage // Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21
back

Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21

The Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21

The Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21 is located in the national historic site at the Halifax seaport where nearly one million immigrants landed in Canada from 1928 to 1971. Today, as Canada’s sixth national museum, we share the ongoing story of immigration to Canada—past to present, and coast to coast. Our exhibitions will immerse you in the immigration experience and allow for a deeper understanding of how newcomers shape our country. Our staff and collections provide opportunities to discover the countless journeys to Canada, and even find your own family’s connection to the story.

Countless Journeys. One Canada.

Located within this historic Gateway to Canada, the Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21 contains two core exhibitions. The Pier 21 Story exhibition examines the years 1928-1971 when the former immigration shed welcomed nearly one million immigrants to Canada. With full-scale replicas echoing with real first-person accounts, period costumes, touchable exhibits and interactive displays, you can truly “walk in the footsteps” of our immigrant ancestors.

Both sides of the story

Our second core exhibition, The Canadian Immigration Story examines 400 years of immigration to Canada from first contact to present day. With a detailed timeline dividing the entire length of the first room, this exhibition does not shy away from moments when Canada was not the beacon of welcome we often imagine ourselves to be. Exclusionary immigration policies and regulations that made it difficult and sometimes impossible for groups to come to Canada are carefully unpacked with visuals and artifacts. The exhibition continues with examples of the many contributions and impacts that immigrants had and continue to have on our evolving country. Throughout, you will encounter a variety of first-hand accounts of immigration as part of displays, and compiled for a deeper dive in the comfort of the BMO Oral History Gallery.

Finding the connection

Compliment the entire experience with a visit to the Scotiabank Family History Centre. Knowledgeable staff can assist you in uncovering your own family’s immigration story, as well as with broader genealogical searches. See your family name in the immigration records, unlock a family mystery or print a keepsake photo of the ship that brought you or your ancestors to Canada. The experience in the Scotiabank Family History Centre can be moving and enlightening.

Bilingual experience

With bilingual displays in each exhibition and guided tours in French by request, the Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21 can be a French, English or Bilingual experience.

Local treasures and worldly goods

Our Museum Gift Shop is creatively curated with unique products from local artisans and goods from around the world. At the Museum Gift Shop you’ll also find our popular “Pier 21 Collection,” the perfect keepsakes and mementos to remind you of your experience here.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Nouvelle-Écosse // Patrimoine culturel // Musée canadien de l’immigration du Quai 21
retour

Musée canadien de l’immigration du Quai 21

Le Musée canadien de l’immigration du Quai 21

Le Musée canadien de l’immigration du Quai 21 est situé dans le lieu historique national du port de Halifax, où près d’un million d’immigrants sont arrivés au Canada entre 1928 et 1971. Aujourd’hui, comme sixième musée national du Canada, nous racontons l’histoire de l’immigration canadienne, du passé au présent et d’un océan à l’autre. Nos expositions vous plongeront dans l’expérience de l’immigration et vous permettront de mieux comprendre comment les nouveaux arrivants façonnent notre pays. Notre personnel et nos collections offrent l’occasion de découvrir d’innombrables voyages vers le Canada et même de trouver le lien entre votre famille et l’Histoire.

D’innombrables voyages. Un Canada.

Situé dans ce portail historique d’entrée au Canada, le Musée canadien de l’immigration du Quai 21 contient deux expositions principales. L’Histoire du Quai 21 examine les années 1928 à 1971, lorsque cet ancien hangar d’immigration a accueilli près d’un million d’immigrants au Canada. Cette exposition où résonnent des récits personnels réels contient des reproductions à l’échelle, des costumes d’époque, des expositions tactiles et interactives, et la possibilité de réellement « marcher dans les traces » de nos ancêtres immigrants.

Les deux côtés de l’histoire

La deuxième exposition principale, L’histoire de l’immigration canadienne, examine 400 ans d’immigration vers le Canada, des premiers contacts à aujourd’hui. Avec une ligne du temps détaillée qui divise toute la longueur de la première salle, cette exposition ne masque pas les moments où le Canada s’est fait moins accueillant que nous ne l’envisageons maintenant. Les politiques et règlements d’immigration qui visaient à expulser certains groupes, ou rendre leur entrée au pays difficile ou même impossible, sont soigneusement révélés à l’aide d’images et d’artéfacts. L’exposition passe ensuite aux exemples des nombreuses contributions et impacts, passés et actuels, des immigrants sur notre pays en croissance. Tout au long de l’exposition, vous rencontrerez plusieurs récits personnels d’immigration qui font partie des présentations. Il y en a d’ailleurs une compilation plus complète encore à découvrir en toute quiétude dans la Galerie d’histoire orale BMO.

Faire le lien

Une visite ne serait pas complète sans passer par le Centre d’histoire familiale Banque Scotia. Le savant personnel du Centre peut vous y aider à retracer les racines de l’histoire d’immigration de votre propre famille, et peut effectuer des recherches généalogiques plus générales. Retrouvez le nom de votre famille dans les registres d’immigration, élucidez un mystère familial, ou imprimez une photo souvenir du navire qui a fait venir votre famille au Canada. L’expérience du Centre d’histoire familiale Banque Scotia peut être à la fois touchante et révélatrice.

Une expérience bilingue

Chaque exposition est bilingue, et des visites guidées en français sont disponibles sur demande. Le Musée canadien de l’immigration du Quai 21 peut donc être une expérience francophone, anglophone, ou bilingue.

Trésors locaux et biens d’outremer

La sélection de la Boutique du Musée est soigneusement constituée de produits provenant d’artisans locaux et de biens en provenance de partout dans le monde. À la Boutique du Musée, vous trouverez aussi notre très populaire « Collection du Quai 21 », qui inclut les parfaits souvenirs pour évoquer votre expérience encore longtemps.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.