Loading
Home // Alberta // Arts and Culture // Celebrating Francophone art and culture in Alberta
back

Celebrating Francophone art and culture in Alberta

Most Franco-Albertans are of French Canadian descent, but the community has become more diversified with the arrival of large numbers of Acadian workers and international immigrants. Francophones can be found for the most part in the metropolitan areas of Edmonton and Calgary, as well as scattered throughout other parts of the province, in Bonnyville, Plamondon, Saint-Paul, Saint-Isidore and Falher, for example. The community’s population is growing rapidly, and its vitality is supported by a number of cultural centres. Bonnie Doon, Edmonton’s French Quarter, is bursting with cultural and artistic activities. Theatre, which has always been important for Franco-Albertans, is as popular as ever, and Franco-Albertan singers benefit from a highly organized network. Almost all of the other artistic disciplines are also well-represented by Francophone creators. Famous author Nancy Huston is without a doubt the best-known French-language author from Alberta on the international scene.

 

To learn more…

Discover the Cité Francophone in Edmonton

In Edmonton, where most Franco-Albertans live, several cultural events take place each year, especially in Bonnie Doon, where Francophone art is booming. This neighbourhood is home to Alberta’s French-language institution of higher education, the Saint-Jean campus of the University of Alberta, as well as the Cité francophone, a cultural centre comprising a number of Francophone organizations, including the Association canadienne-française de l’Alberta, the Regroupement artistique francophone de l’Alberta, UniThéâtre, La Girandole, Francophonie jeunesse de l’Alberta and an art gallery. Saint-Jean campus is also a cultural venue where numerous events popular among Franco-Albertans are held. Edmonton is also home to the Association des compagnies de théâtre de l’Ouest.

The importance of theatre in Alberta

NarcisseMondoux15-1-300x200 -  - Celebrating Francophone art and culture in Alberta
Brian Dooley (left) and Manon Beaudoin, (right), actors

While Franco-Albertan theatre per se is still relatively young, the passion for theatre in the Franco-Albertan community goes back as far as the late 19th century. The mid-20th century saw the performance of the great French classics, such as the plays of Molière. Today, the creation of Franco-Albertan works, in particular those by playwrights André Roy and Franco-Manitoban Marc Prescott, who wrote about Alberta, demonstrate the community’s artistic vitality. In 1992, two theatre companies, the Théâtre français d’Edmonton (1967) and the Boîte à Popicos (youth theatre company in existence since 1978), merged to form UniThéâtre, the only Francophone professional theatre company in Alberta. The company mounts an average of four professional productions each year. It has been very successful across the country, with plays such as Cowboy Poétréby Kenneth Brown and Fort Macby Marc Prescott, which were also performed at the Zones Théâtrales festival at the National Arts Centre in Ottawa.

103905784-1-1-300x200 -  - Celebrating Francophone art and culture in Alberta
Festival théâtre jeunesse de l’Alberta (Youth Drama Festival)

The annual Festival de théâtre jeunesse gives young Francophone and Francophile actors the opportunity to get up on stage and learn the trade from professional artists. Several companies also tour the community, in particular in Plamondon, Legal, Saint-Paul, Bonnyville and Rivière-la-Paix. In Calgary, the Théâtre à Pic, a cooperative theatre company founded in 2009 to revitalize Francophone culture in Calgary, took over from the Société de théâtre de Calgary, which had been active since the 1980s. The Théâtre à Pic mounts plays, hosts monthly improv meets and offers training for young people and adults. Lastly, the Association des théâtres francophones du Canada organizes writing residences at the Banff Centre.

Dynamic literature despite the lack of institutions

Nancy_Huston_2012-199x300 -  - Celebrating Francophone art and culture in Alberta
Nancy Huston

Several women writers share the literary limelight: novelists Marguerite-A. Primeau and Stéphanie Bourgault-Dallaire and poets Pierrette Requier and Josée Thibault, not to mention the famous Calgary native Nancy Huston. Huston won the 1993 Governor General’s Award for Cantiques des plaines, first written in English under the title Plainsong, then translated into French by Huston herself, who learned the language at school. Since then, Huston has written in both French and English, and now lives in France. She has also won several other literary awards. Roger Dallaire is well known for his storytelling talent. Since Alberta has no Francophone publishing houses or literary awards, many Franco-Albertan authors publish in Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Ontario or Quebec, including Guy Armel Bayegnak, Paulette Dubé, Jocelyne Verret-Chiasson, Nadine Mackenzie, Tchitala Kamba, Gisèle Villeneuve and Eileen Lohka.

A support network for a new generation of musicians

Roger-Dallaire-300x175 -  - Celebrating Francophone art and culture in Alberta
Roger Dallaire, musician and storyteller

Several competitions and festivals showcase young musical talent in Alberta, including the Festival Edmonton chante, La Chicane albertaine and the Gala albertain de la chanson, better known as Polyfonik since 2010. Polyfonik is the provincial component of the Chant’Ouest competition dedicated to promoting young singers in Western Canada and the territories. A few well-known artists, including the band Postcript, Crystal Plamondon, Ariane Mahryke Lemire, Josée Lajoie, Raphaël Freynet and Les Twés, frequently tour Alberta and the rest of Canada. At the Saint-Jean Campus of the University of Alberta, the Saint-Jean choir, founded in 1937, is one of the oldest active choirs in Western Canada. In 2011, it was inducted into the Edmonton hall of fame in honour of its efforts to promote Francophone culture.

Other artistic forms alive and well in the community

Several traditional and contemporary dance groups share the stage in Alberta, including the Zéphyr company in Edmonton, Les Plein Soleil in Saint-Isidore, Les Blés d’or in Saint-Paul and Les Vol-au-Vent in Bonnyville. La Girandole, an association based in Edmonton, offers dance classes in various genres in French.

Established in Lethbridge, Société cInéMAGINE, an organization responsible for the promotion and development of French-language film in Alberta, organizes workshops and tours for young people, as well as the Rendez-vous cInéMAGINE and La Nuit des courts-métrages. Far West Productions, a bilingual production company, creates video and photographic content for a number of organizations. It also collaborated on a few projects with TFO (Télévision française de l’Ontario).

Monument-pour-le-bicentenaire-de-David-Thompson-Lac-La-Biche-300x174 -  - Celebrating Francophone art and culture in Alberta
David Thompson bicentennial monument, Lac La Biche. By Herman Poulin

In terms of visual arts, the Société Francophone des arts visuels de l’Alberta promotes Francophone art and culture. Its Centre d’arts visuels de l’Alberta distributes, promotes, exhibits and sells works by Franco-Albertan artists. Sculptor Herman Poulin of Saint-Paul has created several works of public art, the most famous of which is a statue paying homage to Alberta’s Catholic nuns, which is exhibited in front of the Alberta Parliament building.

Community cultural activities and organizations

Several cultural activities and festivals take place each year in Alberta’s Francophone communities, including the Fête franco-albertaine, the Carnaval de Saint-Isidore and the Festival des sucres de Calgary. For the past few years, the Flying Canoë Volant festival in Edmonton, inspired by the French Canadian legend of the Chasse-galerie, which also pays homage to the First Nations and the Métis, has been extremely successful. Cité Francophone in Edmonton and Cité des Rocheuses in Calgary also organize several cultural and artistic activities. Elsewhere in Alberta, these types of activities are promoted by the regional service points of the Association canadienne-française de l’Alberta.

Francophone artists representing the community in Alberta

The Franco-Albertan community is dynamic, thriving and increasingly diversified. Its many cultural and artistic institutions and organizations promote Francophone culture and provide entertainment for the community. Whether in theatre, dance, literature or music, artists are the proud ambassadors of Franco-Albertans.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Alberta // Arts et culture // Célébrez l’art et la culture francophones en Alberta
retour

Célébrez l’art et la culture francophones en Alberta

Les Franco-Albertains sont en majorité d’origine canadienne-française, mais cette communauté se diversifie aujourd’hui avec l’arrivée de plusieurs travailleurs acadiens et immigrants internationaux. Les francophones sont surtout concentrés dans les régions métropolitaines d’Edmonton et de Calgary, mais se retrouvent également un peu partout en Alberta, par exemple à Bonnyville, à Plamondon, à Saint-Paul, à Saint-Isidore et à Falher. Dotée d’une forte croissance démographique, cette communauté possède des centres culturels qui contribuent à leur vitalité. Le quartier francophone de la capitale albertaine, Bonnie Doon, regorge d’activités culturelles et artistiques. Le théâtre, qui a toujours été important pour les Franco-Albertains, demeure un secteur dynamique, tout comme la chanson, qui bénéficie d’une bonne organisation. Presque toutes les autres disciplines artistiques sont bien représentées par des créateurs francophones. La célèbre écrivaine Nancy Huston est sans conteste l’artiste d’origine albertaine s’exprimant en français la plus connue sur la scène internationale.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Edmonton, une cité francophone à découvrir

À Edmonton, où habitent la majorité des Franco-Albertains, plusieurs événements culturels ont lieu chaque année, notamment dans le quartier Bonnie Doon où l’on sent une réelle effervescence francophone. On trouve dans ce quartier d’Edmonton l’institution d’enseignement supérieur francophone de l’Alberta, le Campus Saint-Jean de l’Université de l’Alberta, ainsi que la Cité francophone, un centre culturel où sont regroupés plusieurs organismes francophones, dont l’Association canadienne-française de l’Alberta, le Regroupement artistique francophone de l’Alberta, l’UniThéâtre, la Girandole, la Francophonie jeunesse de l’Alberta ainsi qu’une galerie d’art. Le Campus Saint-Jean est aussi un lieu culturel où se déroulent plusieurs événements courus par les Franco-Albertains. L’Association des compagnies de théâtre de l’Ouest se trouve aussi à Edmonton.

L’importance du théâtre en Alberta

NarcisseMondoux15-1-300x200 -  - Célébrez l’art et la culture francophones en Alberta
Brian Dooley, comédien (gauche) et Manon Beaudoin, comédienne (droite)

Si le théâtre proprement franco-albertain est relativement jeune, la passion du théâtre dans la communauté franco-albertaine remonte aussi loin que la fin du 19esiècle. La présentation de grands classiques français comme les pièces de Molière au milieu du 20esiècle témoigne de cet engouement. Aujourd’hui, la création d’œuvres franco-albertaines, notamment par les dramaturges André Roy et le Franco-Manitobain Marc Prescott, qui a écrit sur une thématique albertaine, démontre la vitalité artistique de la communauté. En 1992, deux troupes de théâtre, le théâtre français d’Edmonton (1967) et la Boîte à Popicos (théâtre jeunesse existant depuis 1978), fusionnent pour devenir l’UniThéâtre, la seule compagnie de théâtre professionnelle en Alberta. Cette compagnie monte en moyenne quatre productions professionnelles par an. Elle a connu plusieurs succès pancanadiens, dont les pièces Cowboy Poétré de Kenneth Brown et Fort Mac de Marc Prescott, qui ont aussi été présentées lors du Festival Zones Théâtrales au Centre national des Arts à Ottawa.

103905784-1-1-300x200 -  - Célébrez l’art et la culture francophones en Alberta
Festival théâtre jeunesse de l’Alberta

Le Festival de théâtre jeunesse annuel donne l’occasion aux jeunes comédiens francophones et francophiles de monter sur scène et d’apprendre le métier auprès d’artistes professionnels. Plusieurs troupes circulent aussi dans la communauté, notamment à Plamondon, à Legal, à Saint-Paul, à Bonnyville et à Rivière-la-Paix. À Calgary, le Théâtre à Pic, une coopérative théâtrale fondée en 2009 afin de dynamiser la vie en français à Calgary, a pris la relève de la Société de théâtre de Calgary, active depuis les années 1980. Le Théâtre à Pic monte des pièces, anime les rendez-vous mensuels d’improvisation et offre des formations aux jeunes et aux adultes. Enfin, l’Association des théâtres francophones du Canada organise des résidences d’écriture au Banff Centre.

Une littérature dynamique malgré le manque d’institutions

Nancy_Huston_2012-199x300 -  - Célébrez l’art et la culture francophones en Alberta
Nancy Huston

En littérature, plusieurs plumes féminines se partagent la scène littéraire : les romancières Marguerite-A. Primeau et Stéphanie Bourgault-Dallaire, les poètes Pierrette Requier et Josée Thibault, sans oublier la célèbre Calgarienne Nancy Huston. Cette dernière a remporté le Prix du Gouverneur général du Canada en 1993 pour Cantiques des plaines, écrit d’abord en anglais, mais traduit en français par Nancy Huston elle-même et publié dans cette langue qu’elle avait apprise durant ses études. Depuis, elle écrit en français et en anglais et poursuit sa carrière en France. Elle a remporté plusieurs autres prix littéraires. Roger Dallaire est quant à lui reconnu pour ses talents de conteur. L’Alberta n’ayant pas de maisons d’édition ni de prix littéraires francophones, plusieurs auteurs franco-albertains publient au Manitoba, en Saskatchewan, en Ontario ou au Québec, dont Guy Armel Bayegnak, Paulette Dubé, Jocelyne Verret-Chiasson, Nadine Mackenzie, Tchitala Kamba, Gisèle Villeneuve et Eileen Lohka.

Une relève musicale bien entourée

Roger-Dallaire-300x175 -  - Célébrez l’art et la culture francophones en Alberta
Le conteur et musicien Roger Dallaire

Plusieurs concours et festivals permettent à la relève musicale de briller en Alberta : le festival Edmonton chante, La Chicane albertaine et le Gala albertain de la chanson, mieux connu sous le nom de Polyfonik depuis 2010. Ce dernier est la composante provinciale du concours Chant’Ouest dédié à la relève en chanson dans l’Ouest canadien et dans les territoires. Quelques artistes connus, dont le groupe Postcript, Crystal Plamondon, Ariane Mahryke Lemire, Josée Lajoie, Raphaël Freynet et Les Twés, font plusieurs tournées en Alberta et au Canada. Au Campus Saint-Jean de l’Université de l’Alberta, la chorale Saint-Jean, fondée en 1937, est l’une des plus anciennes toujours en activité dans l’Ouest canadien. En 2011, elle a été intronisée au Temple de la renommée d’Edmonton afin de souligner ses efforts pour la promotion de la culture francophone.

Les autres formes artistiques bien vivantes dans la communauté

En danse, plusieurs groupes traditionnels et contemporains se partagent la scène albertaine, dont la troupe Zéphyr d’Edmonton, Les Plein Soleil de Saint-Isidore, Les Blés d’or de Saint-Paul et les Vol-au-Vent de Bonnyville. Il existe aussi l’Association La Girandole, basée à Edmonton, qui offre des cours de danse de qualité en français dans plusieurs styles.

Établie à Lethbridge, la Société cInéMAGINE, un organisme responsable de la promotion et du développement cinématographique francophone en Alberta, organise des ateliers et des tournées pour les jeunes ainsi que les Rendez-vous cInéMAGINE et la Nuit des courts-métrages. Far West Productions, une maison de production bilingue, crée du contenu vidéo et photographique pour plusieurs organismes. Elle a notamment collaboré avec TFO (Télévision française de l’Ontario) sur quelques projets.

Monument-pour-le-bicentenaire-de-David-Thompson-Lac-La-Biche-300x174 -  - Célébrez l’art et la culture francophones en Alberta
Monument pour le bicentenaire de David Thompson, Lac La Biche. Par Herman Poulin

Pour ce qui est des arts visuels, la Société francophone des arts visuels de l’Alberta assure la promotion et le rayonnement des arts et de la culture en français. Son Centre d’arts visuels de l’Alberta fait la diffusion et la promotion, il expose et vend des œuvres d’artistes franco-albertains. Le sculpteur Herman Poulin de Saint-Paul a réalisé plusieurs œuvres d’art public, notamment une statue rendant hommage aux congrégations de sœurs catholiques et un monument nommé, Empreinte francophone, destiné à souligner la contribution des Francophones au développement de la province lors des commémorations du 100eanniversaire en 2005 de la création de l’Alberta, les deux sont exposés devant l’Assemblée législative de l’Alberta.

Activités culturelles et organismes ancrés dans la communauté

Plusieurs activités culturelles et festivals ont lieu chaque année dans les communautés francophones de la province, dont la Fête franco-albertaine, le Carnaval de Saint-Isidore et le Festival des sucres de Calgary. Depuis quelques années, le festival Flying Canoë Volant d’Edmonton, un événement inspiré de la légende canadienne-française de la chasse-galerie, qui rend aussi hommage aux peuples des Premières Nations et aux Métis, connaît un vif succès. La Cité francophone d’Edmonton et la Cité des Rocheuses de Calgary organisent aussi plusieurs activités culturelles et artistiques. Ailleurs en Alberta, ce sont les points de services régionaux de l’Association canadienne-française de l’Alberta qui font la promotion de ce type d’activités.

L’Alberta, un milieu artistique francophone qui représente sa communauté

Les Franco-Albertains forment une communauté en plein essor, dynamique et de plus en plus diversifiée. Ils possèdent plusieurs institutions et organismes culturels et artistiques qui contribuent à faire rayonner la culture francophone et à divertir les membres de la communauté. Que ce soit en théâtre, en danse, en littérature ou en musique, les artistes sont de fiers ambassadeurs des Franco-Albertains.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.