Loading
Home // British Colombia // Arts and Culture // Beyond the Rockies: The Franco-Columbian arts scene
back

Beyond the Rockies: The Franco-Columbian arts scene

The British Columbia Francophone community is one of the smallest in Canada, but it has a rich 200 year history and a thriving contemporary arts scene. The 70,000 Francophones and 200,000 Francophiles in British Columbia hail from every region of Canada and from countries around the world. United by their love of the French language, they are involved in the community and produce a variety of high-quality cultural products. Since the community is cut off from the other Francophone communities in Western Canada by the Rockies, it has evolved independently and developed a specific culture, which can be seen mainly in its literature, theatre and visual arts.

 

To learn more…

An artistic community with multiple origins

The Francophone population in British Columba comes from around the world. In literature, for example, several Francophone authors originally from Quebec (André Lamontagne), the Prairies (Marguerite-A. Primeau, David Bouchard), Europe (Monique Genuist, Pernelle Sévy, Inge Israel, Carlo Toselli) and China (Ying Chen) came to settle in British Columbia and have become famous across Canada and around the world. However, these authors are sometimes identified as Quebecers or Franco-Manitobans because they must send their manuscripts to Quebec for publication, or to other French Canadian publishing houses such as Éditions des Plaines in Manitoba, which publishes authors of youth literature like Aurélien Dupuis, Danielle Marcotteand Diane Carmel Léger.

The importance of cultural and community centres

Francophone communities in British Columbia are scattered across the province. Most of the large cities, such as Vancouver and Victoria, as well as other regions like Nainaimo, Kamloops and Kelowna have Francophone cultural and community centres that cater to artists, amateurs and the general public. Thus, despite the distance between them, many communities benefit from numerous festivals each year. The wide variety of festivals includes the famous Festival du Bois in Maillardville, the maple festivals in Nanaimo and Kelowna, the winter festivals in Prince Rupert and Prince George, Culture en fête in Kamloops and the Festival de la francophonie in Victoria. These festivals also include an important educational component that allows young Francophones to discover British Columbian artists and tours schools several times each year. In addition to the festivals, there are various cultural organizations, including Visions Ouest Productions, which organizes cultural activities and events in the Greater Vancouver area, most famously Les beaux jeudis and Les Rendez-vous du cinéma francophone et québécois.

Vancouver: A cultural and artistic milieu

2017-11-29CoupDeCoeurFrancophone-043-300x200 -  - Beyond the Rockies: The Franco-Columbian arts scene
The crowd at Coup de Coeur Francophone 2017

Vancouver hosts the largest concentration of events and festivals, thanks to the Centre culturel Francophone, which organizes the annual Festival d’été francophone de Vancouver, Coup de coeur francophone (as in many major cities across Canada), and the Événement d’humour francophone de Vancouver. Also, many artists choose to live and create in this major, vibrant Canadian city. These include Lyse Lemieux, an artist originally from French Ontario (painting, collage, drawing, fabric). Other artists such as Isabelle Caillet (painting), Aurélia Bizouard (glass), Florence Debeugny (photography) and Jean-Guy Dallaire (bronze) have also chosen to create in Vancouver.In fact, since the 1960s, Greater Vancouver has been home to a growing Francophone cultural milieu. The creation of several cultural institutions have contributed greatly to its development, including the newspaper Le Soleil de Colombie(1968), the British Columbian arm of Radio-Canada (1976), the first French school (1983), the Maison de la Francophonie de Vancouver (1988), the Conseil culturel et artistique francophone de la Colombie-Britannique (1996) and a theatre company, Théâtre la Seizième (1974).

Théâtre la Seizième

Since 1974, Théâtre la Seizième has offered diverse programming in the heart of Vancouver. Since its production of Michel Tremblay’s Les Belles-sœurs, the Seizième has mounted several famous plays, and performs not only in Vancouver, but also in the rest of Western Canada and even at the National Arts Centre in Ottawa on occasion. The play Apocalypse à Kamloops(2007) by Craig Holzschuh and Stéphan Cloutier was very successful, as was Cette fille-là(2005), which won the 2005 prize for best French Canadian production at the Soirée des Masques, the gala of the Académie québécoise du théâtre, which recognizes the most talented artists and artisans of the stage. Artists France Perras, Émilie Leclerc, Joey Lespérance and Marie Farsi are pillars of British Columbian theatre.

Pacifique en chanson: A showcase for young musicians

Many young singers and bands rely on Pacifique en chanson, a competition that serves as a springboard for numerous Francophone artists in British Columbia and Yukon. Winners participate in Chant’Ouest, the next stage in the competition, which includes participants from throughout Western Canada. This competition is a must for young Franco-Columbian artists, a group that includes Aude Ray and Ingrid et Samuel. Vancouver singer/songwriters Isabelle Longnus and Saint-Pierre (alias Pierre Dubé), the traditional duo Vazzy, the Coquitlam Francophone choir Les Échos du Pacifique and singer Joëlle Rabu (famous around the world for her homage to Édith Piaf) are well known outside British Columbia.

Versatile artists

Because the Franco-Columbian community is so small, many Francophone artists also perform in English, especially in dance and theatre. Other artists, including visual artists, work as graphic artists and juggle multiple jobs while taking part in the cultural scene. These multidisciplinary artists are constantly reinventing themselves and innovating, becoming radio hosts or directors or working backstage in both Francophone and Anglophone settings. Dancers like Noam Gagnon work with both the Théâtre de la Seizième and English-language theatre companies. The bilingual organization Des arts dehors / Arts Outside promotes and presents Francophone dance in British Columbia. Dancers include artists such as Julie Lebel and the traditional dance company Les Cornouillers.

Francophone British Columbia: A community united by the French language

Although more than a century has passed since the arrival of Francophones in Maillardville, the Franco-Columbian community continues to preserve this part of its history and culture. In 1999, Francophone workers in the Maillardville pulp and paper industry inspired the play Un one-wayby Stéphan Cloutier and Craig Holzschuh. Today, the Franco-Columbian cultural scene is still growing, and festivals, competitions and a variety of institutions allow emerging artists to practise their art. Francophone artists can also rely on the support of British Columbia’s Francophiles: Canadians Parents for French organizes Francophone cultural activities, including Francapalooza, a French-language film festival, and a youth camp for Francophone students and students in French immersion. In short, a passion for the French language and culture unites the growing diverse and talented Franco-Columbian community.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Colombie-Britannique // Arts et culture // De l’autre côté des Rocheuses, la scène artistique francophone britanno-colombienne
retour

De l’autre côté des Rocheuses, la scène artistique francophone britanno-colombienne

La communauté britanno-colombienne est l’une des plus petites au Canada, mais elle possède une culture riche de 200 ans d’histoire et un milieu artistique contemporain effervescent. Les quelque 70 000 francophones et 200 000 francophiles de la Colombie-Britannique proviennent de toutes les régions du Canada et de plusieurs pays du monde. Unis par leur amour de la langue française, ils s’impliquent dans la communauté et proposent des produits culturels diversifiés de grande qualité. Cette communauté étant quelque peu isolée des autres francophones de l’Ouest canadien par la barrière des Rocheuses, elle évolue depuis longtemps de façon indépendante et elle a développé une culture spécifique, qui se manifeste principalement en littérature, en théâtre et dans les arts visuels.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Une communauté artistique aux origines multiples

La population francophone en Colombie-Britannique est originaire des quatre coins de la planète. En littérature, par exemple, plusieurs auteurs francophones originaires du Québec (André Lamontagne), des Prairies canadiennes (Marguerite-A. Primeau, David Bouchard), de l’Europe (Monique Genuist, Pernelle Sévy, Inge Israel, Carlo Toselli) ou encore de la Chine (Ying Chen) viennent s’installer en Colombie-Britannique et jouissent d’une renommée pancanadienne, voire internationale. Les auteurs doivent toutefois envoyer leurs manuscrits au Québec pour se faire publier, ou dans d’autres maisons d’édition franco-canadiennes comme les Éditions des Plaines (Manitoba) qui publient notamment les auteurs jeunesse Aurélien Dupuis, Danielle Marcotte et Diane Carmel Léger.

L’importance des centres culturels et communautaires

Les communautés francophones de la Colombie-Britannique sont assez éparpillées sur le territoire provincial. La plupart des grandes villes, dont Vancouver et Victoria, mais aussi d’autres régions, comme Nanaimo, Prince George, Nelson, Kamloops et Kelowna ont des centres culturels et communautaires francophones où peuvent se rassembler les artistes, amateurs et membres du public. Ainsi, malgré la distance qui les sépare, plusieurs communautés peuvent profiter de nombreux festivals chaque année. Parmi une grande variété de festivals, mentionnons le célèbre Festival du Bois à Maillardville, les festivals de l’érable à Nanaimo et à Kelowna, les festivals d’hiver de Prince Rupert et de Prince George, Culture en fête à Kamloops ainsi que le Festival de la francophonie à Victoria. Ces festivals comportent aussi un volet scolaire assez important et permettent aux jeunes francophones de découvrir les artistes de leur province, en plus des nombreuses tournées scolaires organisées annuellement. En plus des festivals, il existe divers organismes culturels, dont Visions Ouest Productions qui organise des activités et des événements culturels dans la région du grand Vancouver, notamment Les beaux jeudis et Les Rendez-vous du cinéma francophone et québécois.

Vancouver, un milieu culturel et artistique

2017-11-29CoupDeCoeurFrancophone-043-300x200 -  - De l’autre côté des Rocheuses, la scène artistique francophone britanno-colombienne
L’assistance au Coup de coeur francophone 2017

C’est à Vancouver que l’on retrouve la plus grande concentration d’événements et de festivals, grâce au Centre culturel francophone de Vancouver. Ce dernier organise annuellement le Festival d’été francophone de Vancouver, le Coup de cœur francophone (comme dans plusieurs grandes villes du Canada) et l’Événement d’humour francophone de Vancouver. De plus, plusieurs artistes choisissent de vivre et de créer dans cette grande ville canadienne dynamique. Tel est le cas de Lyse Lemieux, une artiste originaire de l’Ontario français (peinture, collage, dessin, tissu). D’autres artistes comme Isabelle Caillet (peinture), Aurélia Bizouard (verre), Florence Debeugny (photographie) et Jean-Guy Dallaire (bronze) ont également choisi Vancouver comme lieu de création. En fait, c’est depuis les années 1960 que s’est développé un milieu culturel francophone dans le Grand Vancouver. La création de plusieurs institutions culturelles, dont la branche britanno-colombienne de Radio-Canada (1976), une première école francophone (1983), la Maison de la Francophonie de Vancouver (1988), le Conseil culturel et artistique francophone de la Colombie-Britannique (1996) ainsi qu’une troupe de théâtre, le Théâtre la Seizième (1974), y a certes contribué.

Le Théâtre la Seizième

Depuis 1974, la compagnie de théâtre la Seizième offre une programmation variée en plein cœur de Vancouver. Depuis sa présentation des Belles-sœurs de Michel Tremblay, la Seizième a monté plusieurs pièces de renom et se produit non pas uniquement à Vancouver, mais aussi dans l’Ouest canadien et même au Centre national des arts d’Ottawa, à l’occasion. La pièce Apocalypse à Kamloops (2007) de Craig Holzschuh et Stéphan Cloutier a connu un certain succès, tout comme la pièce Cette fille-là (2005), qui a remporté la même année le prix de Meilleure production franco-canadienne à la Soirée des Masques, le gala de l’Académie québécoise du théâtre récompensant les meilleurs artistes et artisans de la scène théâtrale. Les artistes en théâtre France Perras, Émilie Leclerc, Joey Lespérance et Marie Farsi sont des piliers de ce milieu.

Pacifique en chanson, une vitrine pour la relève en musique

Plusieurs chanteurs et groupes de musique de la relève musicale peuvent compter sur Pacifique en chanson, un concours servant de tremplin à de nombreux artistes francophones de la Colombie-Britannique et du Yukon. Ce spectacle permet aux lauréats de participer au Chant’Ouest, la prochaine étape du concours qui inclut cette fois des participants des provinces et territoires de tout l’Ouest canadien. Ce concours est un incontournable pour la relève franco-colombienne, dont Aude Ray et le duo Ingrid et Samuel font partie. Les auteurs-compositeurs-interprètes vancouvérois Isabelle Longnus et Saint-Pierre (alias Pierre Dubé), le duo de musique traditionnelle Vazzy, la chorale francophone de Coquitlam Les Échos du Pacifique, ainsi que l’interprète Joëlle Rabu (à qui l’on doit un spectacle international en hommage à Édith Piaf) participent également au rayonnement de la musique francophone en Colombie-Britannique.

La polyvalence des artistes

Dans un milieu aussi exigu que celui de la communauté franco-colombienne, plusieurs artistes francophones évoluent en même temps du côté anglophone afin de vivre de leur art, notamment en danse et en théâtre. D’autres, tels les artistes visuels, vont offrir leurs services en graphisme et jumeler ainsi plusieurs emplois, tout en gravitant autour du milieu culturel. Ces artistes multidisciplinaires, en constante réinvention et innovation, deviennent ainsi animateurs ou metteurs en scène et travaillent dans les coulisses du monde artistique tant francophone qu’anglophone. Des danseurs comme Noam Gagnon collaborent à la fois avec le Théâtre de la Seizième et des troupes anglophones. Il existe d’ailleurs en danse l’organisme bilingue Des arts dehors / Arts Outside qui fait la promotion et la diffusion de la danse francophone en Colombie-Britannique. On retrouve aussi en danse des artistes telles Julie Lebel et la troupe de danse traditionnelle Les Cornouillers.

La francophonie britanno-colombienne : une communauté unie par la langue française

Si plus d’un siècle a passé depuis l’arrivée des francophones à Maillardville, il n’en demeure pas moins que la communauté francophone de la Colombie-Britannique continue de préserver cette partie de son histoire et de sa culture. En 1999, la pièce Un one-way de Stephan Cloutier et Craig Holzschuh s’inspire des travailleurs francophones des usines de pâtes et papier de Maillardville. Aujourd’hui, la scène culturelle franco-colombienne ne cesse de prendre de l’expansion et les artistes émergents bénéficient de festivals, de concours et d’institutions diverses leur permettant de pratiquer leur art. De plus, les artistes francophones peuvent compter sur l’appui des francophiles de la province : l’association Canadian Parents for French de la Colombie-Britannique organise des activités culturelles francophones, dont le Francapalooza, un festival de films francophones ainsi qu’un camp jeunesse pour les étudiants francophones et en immersion française. Bref, la passion de la langue et de la culture françaises unit la communauté francophone en plein essor de la Colombie-Britannique, une communauté diversifiée et remplie de talents!

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.