Loading
Home // Saskatchewan // Heritage Sites // Batoche, a turning point in the history of the Métis
back

Batoche, a turning point in the history of the Métis

Batoche National Historic Site commemorates a decisive event in the history of the Métis. It was in this fertile region that they tried to make a new life for themselves after being forced to leave Red River (Winnipeg) in the 1870s. Unable to obtain the property rights they were claiming over their new lands, and threatened by famine because of the bison’s disappearance, the Métis rebelled in 1885. The Canadian armed forces, more numerous and better armed than the Métis, defeated them at Batoche on May 12, 1885, despite their courageous resistance. For the Métis, this was the beginning of a long period in the shadows. Batoche now testifies to the new recognition of the Métis people in Canada.

 

To learn more…

Batoche, laden with memories and symbols

batoche_-_cimetiere_-_tombeau_soldats_metis_03-300x225 -  - Batoche, a turning point in the history of the Métis
Métis Soldiers Cemetery

This national historic site comprises the remaining dwellings of the village of Batoche and also a part of the battlefield where the provisional Métis government, led by Louis Riel and Gabriel Dumont, and the Canadian armed forces confronted each other in May 1885. In the rectory—whose walls still bear scars left by bullets from that battle, the church and the house of habitant Jean Caron, a number of exhibits illustrate the lifestyle of the Métis in the late 19th century. Holes used by Métis skirmishers and the reconstitution of the camp occupied by the Canadian soldiers evoke the battle. Visitors are also made aware of the serious problem with the land, which was the main reason for the North-West Rebellion. The Métis had divided these lands in the French manner, in other words, in long strips perpendicular to the South Saskatchewan River, so that each owner would have access to water, whereas the Canadian government wanted to subdivide them in the English way, into square townships, and then transfer them in large lots to English companies.

Today, the Batoche commemorative site and the Back to Batoche Festival, held right beside the site, help to renew interest in the Métis people of Canada and in the recent recognition of their rights. The majority Francophone towns surrounding Batoche perpetuate these French roots.

Who are the Red River Métis?

metis006-300x186 -  - Batoche, a turning point in the history of the Métis
Métis Inhabitants of Batoche

The Red River Métis were recognized as a distinct people in 1816. These employees and Francophone sympathizers of the Montreal-based North West Company were the product of a long tradition of proximity between voyageurs in the fur trade and Indigenous peoples. This tradition, which originated in the time of New France, continued under the English Regime. The Francophone voyageurs had relationships with Indigenous women and founded families. This gave birth to the Métis people of the Red River, who were naturally related to the Francophones of New France, then to the French Canadians who worked for the North West Company. There were also some Anglophone Métis, often referred to as Half-Breeds, born from relationships between Scottish and English men and Indigenous women.

The Métis hunted bison, like the Indigenous peoples, but also engaged in trade with the white men. They were part of both groups. They had a multiple identity.

In 1821, after the North West Company and Hudson’s Bay Company merged, the Red River Métis obtained the right to remain on and farm the lands they had occupied in that region for generations. But this agreement was only verbal. When the Hudson’s Bay Company sold its territory to Canada in 1870, the Canadian government did not immediately recognize the property rights of the Métis over these lands, and then subjected them to punitive restrictions.

Canada’s dominant vision

AE00279-300x200 -  - Batoche, a turning point in the history of the Métis
Celebration in Batoche

In 1869, the Indian Act established measures designed to assimilate the Indigenous peoples. Some restrictions also affected Francophones, particularly in the area of education. As for the Francophone Métis of the Red River, the Canadian government, after granting them a place in the country in 1870 by incorporating the Province of Manitoba led by Louis Riel, immediately took advantage of a controversial trial (and the execution of a citizen of British origin) to send troops to “normalize” the situation on the Red River. Following violent confrontations, various forms of harassment drove large numbers of the Métis to leave their ancestral lands and seek refuge farther to the west.

Meanwhile, the Americans started to exterminate the herds of bison in order to starve the Sioux, who opposed the colonization of their ancestral lands by American settlers. This initiative obviously had repercussions in Canada, because bison roamed the North American prairies without any regard for borders. The way of life of the Métis and of many Indigenous people in Canada was threatened by these developments.

A new way of life in the Batoche region

Around Batoche, in the 1880s, the Métis who had left the Red River resolutely turned to farming to make a living. They built dwellings and a church, tilled and sowed the soil, and asked the government to officially recognize their property rights over these new lands, so that they would not lose them again. They also asked for food aid to escape famine while waiting for their land to produce good yields. Since the government did not meet their demands, the Métis, whose resources and patience had run out, decided to resort to force.

metis009-300x180 -  - Batoche, a turning point in the history of the Métis
The Battle of Batoche

In response to the Métis uprising, a large number of well-equipped troops were sent to Batoche, thanks to the railway line that had just been built. The Canadian armed forces easily put down the rebellion, which had been joined by some groups of Indigenous people. The victory of the Canadian armed forces marked the end of the Métis way of life and the recognition of this people in Canada for a century. The principal leader of the Métis, Louis Riel, was hanged on November 16, 1885, for high treason. Batoche recalls this sad aspect of our historical heritage.

Today, various legal steps taken before the courts have clarified the rights of the Métis, who have been recognized by the Canadian Constitution of 1982.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Saskatchewan // Sites patrimoniaux // Batoche, point tournant dans l’histoire des Métis
retour

Batoche, point tournant dans l’histoire des Métis

Le Lieu historique national de Batoche commémore un événement déterminant dans l’histoire des Métis. C’est dans cette région fertile qu’ils tentent de refaire leur vie après avoir dû quitter la rivière Rouge (Winnipeg) dans les années 1870. Incapables d’obtenir les droits de propriété qu’ils réclament sur leurs nouvelles terres et menacés de famine à cause de la disparition du bison, les Métis se rebellent en 1885. Après une résistance courageuse, les forces armées canadiennes plus nombreuses et mieux armées qu’eux leur infligent une défaite à Batoche le 12 mai 1885. C’est pour eux le début d’une longue éclipse. Batoche témoigne aussi de la reconnaissance nouvelle du peuple métis au Canada.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Batoche, un lieu chargé de souvenirs et de symboles

batoche_-_cimetiere_-_tombeau_soldats_metis_03-300x225 -  - Batoche, point tournant dans l’histoire des Métis
Cimetière des soldats métis

Ce lieu historique national comprend les habitations qui subsistent du village de Batoche et une partie du champ de bataille où s’est déroulé l’affrontement entre le gouvernement provisoire des Métis, dirigé par Louis Riel et Gabriel Dumont, et les forces armées du gouvernement canadien, en mai 1885. Dans le presbytère, dont les murs portent encore des traces de balles, l’église et la maison de l’habitant Jean Caron, des expositions illustrent le mode de vie des Métis à la fin du 19esiècle. Des trous de tirailleurs métis et la reconstitution du camp des militaires canadiens évoquent la bataille. Le visiteur prend aussi conscience du grave problème des terres, principale cause de la Rébellion du Nord-Ouest. Les Métis avaient divisé ces terres à la française, c’est-à-dire en longues bandes perpendiculaires à la rivière Saskatchewan sud, pour que chaque propriétaire ait un accès à l’eau, alors que le gouvernement canadien voulait les subdiviser à l’anglaise, en carrés, et les concéder en vastes lots à des compagnies anglo-saxonnes.

Aujourd’hui, le site commémoratif de Batoche et le festival Back to Batoche, qui se tient juste à côté, contribuent au regain d’intérêt pour les peuples métis du Canada et à la reconnaissance récente de leurs droits. Les villages à majorité francophone qui entourent le site de Batoche perpétuent ces racines françaises.

Qui sont les Métis de la rivière Rouge ?

metis006-300x186 -  - Batoche, point tournant dans l’histoire des Métis
Habitants métis de Batoche

Les Métis de la rivière Rouge se reconnaissent comme un peuple distinct à partir de 1816. Ces employés, ou ces sympathisants francophones de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest, qui est basée à Montréal, sont issus d’une longue tradition de proximité entre les voyageurs de la traite de fourrures et les Autochtones. Cette tradition voit le jour au temps de la Nouvelle-France et se poursuit au Régime anglais. Les voyageurs francophones s’unissent aux femmes autochtones et fondent des familles. Ainsi naît le peuple métis de la rivière Rouge, naturellement apparenté aux francophones de la Nouvelle-France, puis aux Canadiens français qui travaillent pour la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest. Il y avait aussi quelques Métis anglophones, connus sous le nom de Half-Breeds, nés de l’union d’hommes écossais ou anglais et de femmes autochtones.

Les Métis chassent le bison comme les Autochtones et s’adonnent au commerce avec les Blancs. Ils font partie des deux groupes. Leur identité est multiple.

En 1821, après la fusion de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest et de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson, les Métis de la rivière Rouge obtiennent le droit de demeurer sur les terres qu’ils occupent à cet endroit depuis quelques générations et de les cultiver. Mais cette entente n’est que verbale. Lorsque la Compagnie vend son territoire au Canada, en 1870, le gouvernement canadien ne reconnaît pas tout de suite les droits de propriété des Métis sur ces terres, puis il leur impose des restrictions très pénalisantes.

La vision dominante du Canada

AE00279-300x200 -  - Batoche, point tournant dans l’histoire des Métis
Célébration à Batoche

Dès 1867, la conviction que la culture anglo-saxonne est supérieure anime le gouvernement du Canada qui veut la répandre le plus possible pour le bien de tous les Canadiens. En 1869, la Loi sur les Indiens instaure des mesures visant à assimiler les Autochtones. Des restrictions affectent aussi les francophones – notamment en matière d’éducation. Quant aux Métis francophones de la rivière Rouge, après leur avoir concédé une place dans le pays en 1870, en intégrant la province du Manitoba dirigée par Louis Riel, le gouvernement canadien profite immédiatement d’un procès controversé (et de l’exécution d’un citoyen d’origine britannique) pour envoyer des troupes « régulariser » la situation à la rivière Rouge. Après des affrontements violents, diverses formes de harcèlement vont pousser les Métis à quitter en grand nombre leurs terres ancestrales et à chercher refuge plus à l’ouest.

À la même époque, les Américains entreprennent d’exterminer les troupeaux de bisons pour affamer les Sioux qui s’opposent à la colonisation de leurs terres ancestrales par les colons américains. Cette initiative a évidemment des répercussions au Canada puisque les bisons circulent dans les prairies nord-américaines sans se soucier des frontières. Le mode de vie des Métis et de plusieurs Autochtones du Canada est alors menacé.

Un nouveau mode de vie dans la région de Batoche

Autour de Batoche, dans les années 1880, les Métis qui ont quitté la rivière Rouge se tournent résolument vers l’agriculture pour subsister. Ils construisent des habitations, une église, labourent, sèment et demandent au gouvernement de reconnaître officiellement leurs droits de propriété sur ces nouvelles terres, pour éviter de les perdre à nouveau. Ils demandent aussi de l’assistance alimentaire pour échapper à la famine en attendant que la culture de leurs terres donne de bons rendements. Comme le gouvernement ne répond pas à leurs demandes, les Métis, à court de ressources et de patience, décident de recourir à la force.

metis009-300x180 -  - Batoche, point tournant dans l’histoire des Métis
La bataille de Batoche

En réponse au soulèvement métis, des troupes nombreuses et bien équipées sont envoyées sur place grâce au chemin de fer nouvellement construit. Les forces armées canadiennes matent facilement la rébellion à laquelle se sont joints quelques groupes d’Autochtones. La victoire des forces armées canadiennes à Batoche marque la fin du mode de vie métis et la fin de la reconnaissance de ce peuple au Canada pour un siècle. Le principal meneur des Métis, Louis Riel, sera pendu le 16 novembre 1885 pour haute trahison. Batoche rappelle ce triste patrimoine historique.

Aujourd’hui, diverses démarches juridiques devant les tribunaux ont précisé les droits des Métis qui sont inscrits depuis 1982 dans la Constitution canadienne.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.