Loading
Home // Québec // Community portraits // Écomusée du fier monde: A community museum showcasing the history of industry and labour in Montreal
back

Écomusée du fier monde: A community museum showcasing the history of industry and labour in Montreal

The Écomusée du fier monde is the brainchild of community organizations in the Centre-Sud neighbourhood of Montreal, which, in the 1970s, were working to attenuate the negative impact of deindustrialization. The museum’s goal is to preserve its community’s past and foster its future development. Its vocation as an ecomuseum was established from the outset, and is maintained thanks to participation in its activities and contributions to its collections by organizations, businesses and residents in the community. Its exhibitions recount the story of the working class and their living environment through the different phases of industrialization, deindustrialization and revitalization of the Centre-Sud neighbourhood from 1850 to 2000. The museum’s promotion of the neighbourhood’s material and immaterial heritage involves participatory projects, public education, thematic urban tours and the designation of heritage property belonging to partners. The Écomusée du fier monde has won some 15 awards in museum practice and heritage interpretation for its innovative work.

 

To learn more…

A museum steeped in its community

Façade-vers-1928-2050_030_019-300x229 -  - Écomusée du fier monde: A community museum showcasing the history of industry and labour in Montreal
Généreux Public Bath façade, c. 1928

Since 1996, the Écomusée du fier monde has been located in the old Généreux public bath, which was open from 1927 to 1992. At the time of its construction, many families in Montreal’s working-class neighbourhoods did not have access to a private bath or shower, or even to running water. To address the problems of poor hygiene and high infant mortality in the poorer districts of Montreal, the city constructed several free public baths between 1910 and 1930. At the Généreux bath, a building in the art deco style, a large pool also satisfied the public’s recreational and sports needs. The renovation/transformation of the pool into a multipurpose space at the centre of the exhibitions earned the Écomusée an Opération patrimoine architectural de Montréal excellence award in 2002. The Généreux public bath has incredible value as a work of architecture and as an aspect of the local identity, since it reflects the daily reality of several generations of residents of the neighbourhood.

Competition-300x239 -  - Écomusée du fier monde: A community museum showcasing the history of industry and labour in Montreal
Swim competition, Généreux Public Bath

The permanent exhibition All the lifelong day: The triumphs and tragedies of a working-class neighbourhood showcase the strategies used by working-class families in the Centre-Sud neighbourhood to make ends meet and make their living environment their own, and recounts the history of the neighbourhood through objects, photographs, documents and eloquent testimonies. The temporary exhibitions focus on the museum’s three major themes (the Centre-Sud neighbourhood, working-class culture and industrial labour), as well as related contemporary issues.

Community participation

DSC03983-300x225 -  - Écomusée du fier monde: A community museum showcasing the history of industry and labour in Montreal
Écomusée du fier monde, interior

Faithful to its community roots, the Écomusée du fier monde contributes in several ways to the construction of today’s neighbourhood. Its virtual exhibition Citoyens: hier, aujourd’hui et demain! showcases a number of men and women who marked Montreal’s social history and who now contribute to the public good. Its annual benefit auction of dozens of works of art by the many artists in the community raises funds that are shared among the Écomusée, the artists and selected community organizations. The museum also hands out an honorary distinction, the Ordre du fier monde, to persons or groups who have made a significant and exemplary contribution to its mission. The Écomusée also carries out projects in collaboration with adults learning to read and write, such as the photographic work Voici notre quartier! which gave voice to these adults and allowed them to share their vision of the world. In addition to its “traditional” museum collection of objects and documents, the institution has an “ecomuseum” collection of buildings, events, places and people with special meaning for the community, but which it cannot acquire, thanks to a community designation process.

The industrial history of the Centre-Sud neighbourhood

Facade_Ecomusee-200x300 -  - Écomusée du fier monde: A community museum showcasing the history of industry and labour in Montreal
Écomusée du fier monde, front view

Since the Centre-Sud neighbourhood is located near the Port of Montreal, industrial development began toward the middle of the 19th century and increased after the construction of Canadian Pacific’s railway workshops in 1882.

Like everywhere in the Western world, the industrial revolution in Montreal was based on a large underpaid labour force. Much of this labour force came from rural regions, where the scarcity of good farmland was forcing more and more people to seek employment in the city. Montreal’s industrial development drew thousands of unskilled workers, who in turn contributed to the city’s development. In general, workdays at the shops were long, and working conditions were difficult. Women and children often had to work to meet the family’s needs. The main sectors of activity in the Centre-Sud neighbourhood were leather, textiles and food.

In 1950, several shops began moving or closing, and major works including the development of the road network and construction of large buildings requiring the demolition of businesses and residences gradually and profoundly transformed the neighbourhood. Several television companies set up shop, and huge administrative office buildings were built like those of the Sûreté du Québec and the Confédération des syndicats nationaux. While community organizations came to the aid of working-class citizens hit hard by unemployment, thereby preserving a piece of the neighbourhood’s traditional social fabric, artists benefited from cheap spaces and recycled some of the disused industrial buildings, such as the Grover building. Today, the transformation of the Centre-Sud neighbourhood, now much more diverse than it used to be, continues.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Québec // Exploration urbaine // Écomusée du fier monde : un musée citoyen de l’histoire industrielle et ouvrière de Montréal
retour

Écomusée du fier monde : un musée citoyen de l’histoire industrielle et ouvrière de Montréal

L’Écomusée du fier monde est issu d’organismes communautaires du quartier Centre-Sud de Montréal qui, dans les années 1970, travaillaient à atténuer l’impact négatif de la désindustrialisation. En plus de préserver la mémoire de sa communauté, le musée cherche à en favoriser le développement. Cette orientation « écomuséale » a été privilégiée dès l’origine et se maintient grâce à la participation d’organismes, d’entreprises et de résidents du quartier aux activités et aux collections du musée. Ses expositions racontent l’histoire des travailleurs et de leur milieu de vie au fil des phases d’industrialisation, de désindustrialisation et de revitalisation du quartier Centre-Sud entre 1850 et 2000. La mise en valeur du patrimoine matériel et immatériel que cible cette institution muséale se manifeste par des projets participatifs, des pratiques axées sur l’éducation populaire, l’organisation de circuits urbains thématiques et la désignation de biens patrimoniaux appartenant à des partenaires. Une quinzaine de prix en pratique muséale, éducation et interprétation du patrimoine ont récompensé le travail novateur de l’Écomusée du fier monde.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Un musée qui baigne dans son milieu

Facade_vers_1928-300x229 -  - Écomusée du fier monde : un musée citoyen de l’histoire industrielle et ouvrière de Montréal
La façade des Bains Généreux vers 1928

L’Écomusée du fier monde loge depuis 1996 dans l’ancien bain public Généreux, en activité de 1927 à 1992. À l’époque de sa construction, bien des familles des quartiers populaires de Montréal ne disposaient pas de douche ni de bain privé, ni même d’eau courante. C’est pour pallier les problèmes d’hygiène et de mortalité infantile élevée dans les quartiers pauvres de Montréal que la ville construisit plusieurs bains publics gratuits entre 1910 et 1930. Au bain Généreux, un édifice de style Art déco, une grande piscine répondait de plus aux besoins récréatifs et sportifs de la population. La rénovation-transformation de cette piscine en un espace multifonctionnel autour duquel se déploient les expositions a valu à l’Écomusée un prix d’excellence d’Opération patrimoine architectural de Montréal en 2002. Le bain public Généreux possède une grande valeur autant identitaire qu’architecturale, car il témoigne de la réalité quotidienne de plusieurs générations de résidents du quartier.

Competition-300x239 -  - Écomusée du fier monde : un musée citoyen de l’histoire industrielle et ouvrière de Montréal
Compétition de natation aux Bains Généreux

L’exposition permanente À cœur de jour : grandeurs et misères d’un quartier populaire souligne les stratégies des familles ouvrières du Centre-Sud pour joindre les deux bouts et s’approprier leur milieu de vie, en plus de présenter l’histoire du quartier à l’aide d’objets, de photographies, de documents et de témoignages éloquents. Les expositions temporaires s’articulent autour des trois champs d’intervention du musée : le quartier Centre-Sud, la culture populaire et le travail en industrie, auxquels s’ajoutent les enjeux contemporains touchant ces thèmes.

La participation citoyenne

DSC03983-300x225 -  - Écomusée du fier monde : un musée citoyen de l’histoire industrielle et ouvrière de Montréal
L’intérieur de l’Écomusée du fier monde

Fidèle à ses racines communautaires, l’Écomusée du fier monde participe à la construction contemporaine du quartier de plusieurs façons. Son exposition virtuelle Citoyens : hier, aujourd’hui, demain ! présente plusieurs hommes et femmes qui ont marqué l’histoire sociale de Montréal et contribuent aujourd’hui au bien-être de la population. Son encan-bénéfice annuel met en vente des dizaines d’œuvres d’art témoignant de l’implantation de nombreux artistes dans le quartier, dont les profits sont partagés entre l’Écomusée, les artistes et des organismes communautaires sélectionnés. Le musée distribue également une distinction honorifique, l’Ordre du fier monde, à des personnes ou à des groupes qui ont démontré un engagement exemplaire en rapport à sa mission. L’Écomusée réalise aussi des projets en collaboration avec des adultes en processus d’alphabétisation, comme l’œuvre photographique Voici notre quartier! qui a donné la parole à ces citoyens et leur a permis de partager leur vision du monde. En plus de sa collection muséale « classique » d’objets et de documents, l’institution développe une collection « écomuséale » de bâtiments, d’événements, de lieux et de personnages possédant une signification particulière pour la communauté, mais dont elle ne peut faire l’acquisition, grâce à un processus de désignation qui fait appel à la participation citoyenne.

Aperçu de l’histoire industrielle du quartier Centre-Sud

Facade_Ecomusee-200x300 -  - Écomusée du fier monde : un musée citoyen de l’histoire industrielle et ouvrière de Montréal
La façade de l’Écomusée du fier monde

Le quartier Centre-Sud étant situé près du port de Montréal, sa localisation avantageuse a favorisé son développement industriel à partir du milieu du 19e siècle, et plus encore après la construction des ateliers de chemins de fer du Canadien Pacifique en 1882.

À Montréal comme partout en Occident, la révolution industrielle s’appuyait sur l’embauche d’une main-d’œuvre abondante et sous-payée. Une grande partie de cette main-d’œuvre provenait des régions rurales où la rareté des bonnes terres agricoles forçait la population de plus en plus nombreuse à chercher une autre option en ville. Le développement industriel de Montréal a attiré des milliers de travailleurs non qualifiés qui ont à leur tour favorisé le développement de la ville. En général, les journées de travail en usines étaient longues et les conditions de travail, pénibles. Les femmes et les enfants devaient souvent contribuer à la force de travail familiale pour subvenir aux besoins de tous. Les principaux secteurs d’activité du quartier Centre-Sud étaient le cuir, le textile et l’alimentation.

À partir de 1950, plusieurs usines ont déménagé ou fermé leurs portes et de grands travaux ont progressivement transformé en profondeur le quartier : développement du réseau routier et construction de grands immeubles nécessitant la démolition de commerces et d’habitations. Plusieurs entreprises de communication (secteur télévisuel) y ont établi leurs pénates et de vastes bureaux administratifs y ont vu le jour, comme ceux de la Sûreté du Québec ou de la Confédération des syndicats nationaux. Pendant que plusieurs organismes communautaires venaient en aide aux populations ouvrières durement frappées par le chômage et préservaient ainsi une partie du tissu social traditionnel du quartier, des artistes bénéficiaient de locaux vacants peu dispendieux et recyclaient certains bâtiments industriels désaffectés, comme ceux de l’usine Glover. La transformation du quartier Centre-Sud, aujourd’hui beaucoup plus diversifié qu’auparavant, se poursuit.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.