Loading
Home // Manitoba // Cultural Heritage // Fort Gibraltar–Experiencing the Fur Trade Heritage
back

Fort Gibraltar–Experiencing the Fur Trade Heritage

Fort Gibraltar, which today welcomes visitors to Saint-Boniface (Winnipeg) in the summer, is a reconstruction of the real Fort Gibraltar built by the North West Company in 1809 at La Fourche, a strategic area located at the confluence of the Rouge and Assiniboine rivers in Winnipeg. At the time, the objective was to develop the fur industry and control travel on these two major rivers. Today, the purpose of this important tourism site is to make known the lifestyle of the Voyageurs who were the original members of the Franco-Manitoban population and to ensure that visitors experience a fur-trading experience. In the 10 buildings rebuilt according to the techniques of that period, which are located inside a large picket palisade, heritage interpreters wearing costumes of the era personify French-Canadian Voyageurs, Métis spouses, traders and artisans who showcase their know-how, leisure activities and daily work, while providing visitors with information.

 

For more information…

Reconstructing the life of the Voyageurs in 1815

Fort_Gibraltar_MF_2017_IMG_3528M-300x201 -  - Fort Gibraltar–Experiencing the Fur Trade Heritage
Fort Gibraltar activities

The Fort Gibraltar heritage interpreters personify figures of the year 1815. Through their occupations, gestures and comments, they immerse visitors in that period. Using ancient tools, they make furniture and wooden objects in the carpentry workshop, carve iron objects on the anvil and the fire that is kindled by a large manual bellows, decorate clothing with glass pearls the way Métis women did and, in the wintering hut, prepare a meal or play the Voyageurs’ favorite games of strength and skill.

Fort_Gibraltar_MF_2017_IMG_3511M-300x231 -  - Fort Gibraltar–Experiencing the Fur Trade Heritage
Pelts at Fort Gibraltar

Visitors also find in the trading post a variety of furs acquired from Indigeonous hunters during that era and an amazing variety of staples and diverse items that traders of European gave in exchange. By going around the fort, visitors understand how the network of trading posts, running across the whole of western Canada, was the basis of the North West Company’s (NWC) transcontinental trade. They also understand the workings of the fur trade, a fundamental business in the history of Canada. It was primarily based on the beaver and on goods that the Indigenous Peoples did not own: iron and steel items, fabrics, glass beads, firearms, and certain agricultural products. Fort Gibraltar also highlights the partnership relationships that existed between Indigenous hunters, and French-Canadian Voyageurs, Métis guides and interpreters, and Scottish owners.

The origin of the Franco-Manitoban population

Fort_Gibraltar_MF_2017_IMG_3523M-229x300 -  - Fort Gibraltar–Experiencing the Fur Trade Heritage
Carpenter at Fort Gibraltar

The organization of Le Festival du Voyageur, which plans this yearly festival held in February, is also the one that rebuilt Fort Gibraltar at the end of the 1970s, in order to pay homage to the Voyageurs who were the first inhabitants of European origin to settle in the region that is now Manitoba. These thousands of Voyageurs—the North West Company had over 2,000 employees, most of whom were French-Canadian around 1815—transported in bark canoes furs and goods between Montreal and the vast expanses of Canada’s West and Northwest, a journey that took several months and covered a few thousand kilometers. About half of these Voyageurs only travelled in the West and many settled there. As the NWC authorized “country marriages” between its employees and Indigenous women, that is, according to Indigenous customs, a large number of these Voyageurs built stable families. They are the forerunners of the Métis People who, at the beginning of the 19th century, formed the majority of the Francophone population of Manitoba as it is today. Men and women of religious orders and settlers arriving from Quebec increased the Francophone population from the middle of the 19th century, followed by French, Belgian and Swiss immigrants who increased its diversity toward the end of the 19th century.

Historical Fort Gibraltar

Rindisbacher_fishing_1821_large_1-300x195 -  - Fort Gibraltar–Experiencing the Fur Trade Heritage
Ice fishing on Red and Assiboine rivers, Peter Rindisbacher (1821)

Built in 1809 by the NWC on the western shore of the Red River, at the confluence of the Assiniboine River, in Winnipeg’s current downtown area, Fort Gibraltar soon ceased to be an important trading post because beaver quickly became in short supply. Nevertheless, it maintained an essential role as a pemmican warehouse and distribution centre as this traditional Indigenous food became the Voyageurs’ main food source. Pemmican consists of approximately 40% of dried bison meat, crushed into a powder and mixed with 60% of bison fat, to which dried fruit, also reduced to powder, is sometimes added. It has a high nutritional value and can be kept for a long time. Bison hunting and making pemmican remained central to the Métis economy for a long time. Part of Fort Gibraltar’s current interpretation program focuses on these practices.

Fort Gibraltar was also affected by the rivalries between the Francophone community of the NWC and the Anglophone colony that Lord Selkirk, the major shareholder of the Hudson’ Bay Company (HBC), a rival of the NWC, established nearby in 1812. Control of bison hunting and the supply of pemmican, which was at the core of this rivalry, provoked the destruction of Fort Douglas, the Red River colony and Fort Gibraltar. Lastly, when the HBC and the NWC merged in 1821, Fort Gibraltar fell into the hands of the HBC and was renamed Fort Garry.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Manitoba // Patrimoine culturel // Fort Gibraltar : faire l’expérience du patrimoine de la traite des fourrures
retour

Fort Gibraltar : faire l’expérience du patrimoine de la traite des fourrures

Le fort Gibraltar qui accueille aujourd’hui les visiteurs à Saint-Boniface (Winnipeg), en saison estivale, est une reconstitution du véritable fort Gibraltar que la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest a construit en 1809 à La Fourche, un endroit stratégique situé au confluent des rivières Rouge et Assiniboine, à Winnipeg. À l’époque, l’objectif était de développer le commerce des fourrures et de contrôler les déplacements sur ces deux grandes rivières. Aujourd’hui, le but de cet important site touristique est de faire connaître le mode de vie des voyageurs qui sont à l’origine de la population franco-manitobaine et de faire vivre aux visiteurs une expérience du commerce des fourrures. Dans la dizaine de bâtiments reconstruits selon les techniques d’époque, qui se trouvent à l’intérieur d’une grande palissade de pieux, des guides-animateurs en costumes d’époque incarnent des voyageurs canadiens-français, des épouses métisses, des commerçants et des artisans qui démontrent leurs savoir-faire, leurs loisirs et leurs travaux quotidiens tout en renseignant les visiteurs.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Reconstituer la vie des voyageurs en 1815

Fort_Gibraltar_MF_2017_IMG_3528M-300x201 -  - Fort Gibraltar : faire l’expérience du patrimoine de la traite des fourrures
Animation à Fort Gibraltar

Les guides-animateurs du fort Gibraltar incarnent des personnages de l’année 1815. Par leurs occupations, leurs gestes et leurs propos, ils plongent les visiteurs dans cette époque. Avec d’anciens outils, ils fabriquent des meubles et des objets en bois dans l’atelier de menuiserie, façonnent des objets en fer sur l’enclume et le feu qu’attise un grand soufflet manuel, décorent des vêtements de perles de verre à la manière des femmes métisses et, dans la cabane des hivernants, apprêtent un repas ou s’adonnent aux jeux de force et d’adresse que préféraient des voyageurs.

Fort_Gibraltar_MF_2017_IMG_3511M-300x231 -  - Fort Gibraltar : faire l’expérience du patrimoine de la traite des fourrures
Fourrures à Fort Gibraltar

Les visiteurs découvrent également dans le poste de traite la gamme des fourrures qui étaient échangées à l’époque et une étonnante variété de produits de base et d’objets divers que les commerçants d’origine européenne troquaient avec les chasseurs autochtones qui leur procuraient ces fourrures. En faisant le tour du fort, les visiteurs comprennent comment le réseau des postes de traite dont faisait partie le fort Gibraltar, qui s’étendait dans tout l’Ouest canadien actuel, formait la base de l’entreprise transcontinentale de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest (CNO). Ils apprennent également comment fonctionnait la traite des fourrures, un commerce fondamental dans l’histoire du Canada. Ce commerce reposait sur l’échange de fourrures de castor, principalement, et de marchandises dont les Autochtones ne disposaient pas : articles de fer, tissus, perles de verre, armes à feu et certains produits agricoles. Le fort Gibraltar met aussi en évidence les relations de partenariat qui existaient entre les chasseurs autochtones, les voyageurs canadiens-français, les guides et interprètes métis et les patrons écossais.

À l’origine de la population franco-manitobaine

Fort_Gibraltar_MF_2017_IMG_3523M-229x300 -  - Fort Gibraltar : faire l’expérience du patrimoine de la traite des fourrures
Charpentier à Fort Gibraltar

L’organisme Le Festival du Voyageur, qui organise ce festival au mois de février chaque année, est le même qui reconstruit le fort Gibraltar à la fin des années 1970, afin de rendre hommage aux voyageurs qui ont été les premiers habitants d’origine européenne à s’établir sur le territoire actuel du Manitoba. Ces milliers de voyageurs – la CNO comptait plus de 2000 employés, majoritairement canadiens-français, vers 1815 – transportaient en canots d’écorce les fourrures et les marchandises entre Montréal et les vastes territoires de l’Ouest et du Nord-Ouest canadiens, un parcours de plusieurs mois et de quelques milliers de kilomètres. Environ la moitié de ces voyageurs n’effectuaient des trajets que dans l’Ouest et y demeuraient pendant plusieurs années. Comme la CNO autorisait les unions entre ses employés et les femmes autochtones « à la manière du pays », c’est-à-dire selon les coutumes autochtones, un grand nombre de ces voyageurs ont fondé des familles stables. Ils sont à l’origine du peuple métis qui formait la majorité de la population francophone du Manitoba actuel au début du 19e siècle. Des religieux et religieuses ainsi que des colons venus du Québec accroîtront cette population francophone à partir du milieu du 19e siècle, puis des immigrants français, belges et suisses la diversifieront davantage vers la fin du 19e siècle.

Le fort Gibraltar historique

Rindisbacher_fishing_1821_large_1-300x195 -  - Fort Gibraltar : faire l’expérience du patrimoine de la traite des fourrures
« Pêche sur glace sur les rivières Rouge et Assiboine », Peter Rindisbacher, 1821

Construit en 1809 par la CNO sur la rive ouest de la rivière Rouge, au confluent de la rivière Assiniboine, où se trouve le centre-ville actuel de Winnipeg, le fort Gibraltar cesse vite d’être un important poste de traite de fourrures, car le castor s’épuise rapidement dans la région. Son rôle demeure néanmoins primordial en tant que centre d’entreposage et de distribution du pemmican, cet aliment traditionnel autochtone qui s’impose comme base de l’alimentation des voyageurs. Le pemmican est composé d’environ 40 % de viande de bison séchée, écrasée en poudre et mélangée à 60 % de gras de bison, parfois additionné de fruits séchés également réduits en poudre. Il possède une très grande valeur nutritive et se conserve très longtemps. La chasse au bison et la fabrication du pemmican seront longtemps au cœur de l’économie métisse. Une partie du programme d’interprétation du fort Gibraltar actuel porte sur ce sujet.

Le fort Gibraltar sera également touché par les rivalités entre la communauté francophone de la CNO et la colonie anglophone que Lord Selkirk, le plus important actionnaire de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson (CBH), rivale de la CNO, établit à proximité en 1812. Le contrôle de la chasse au bison et de l’approvisionnement en pemmican sera au cœur de cette rivalité, qui provoquera la destruction du fort Douglas, de la colonie de la rivière Rouge et du fort Gibraltar. Finalement, lorsque la CBH et la CNO fusionnent en 1821, le fort Gibraltar passera aux mains de la CBH et sera renommé Fort Garry.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.