Loading
Home // British Colombia // Heritage Sites // Fort St. James, at the heart of the fur trade and its heritage
back

Fort St. James, at the heart of the fur trade and its heritage

Fort St. James is a former trading post built in 1806 on the shores of Stuart Lake by Simon Fraser and the Francophone employees of the North West Company. It remained operational until 1952 in spite of the decline of the fur trade. Designated a National Historic Site of Canada in 1948, this vast site managed by Parks Canada is a reflection of the cultural and commercial ties that were built between the Indigenous Peoples and Canadians of European descent. Today, in the midst of the largest group of wooden buildings in Canada, visitors experience the lifestyle and activities related to the fur trade in 1896. They also learn about a cultural landscape, oral traditions and an intangible heritage that was passed on by persons of national historic significance, such as Indigenous Chief Kw’eh.

 

For more information

Learning about Fort St. James’ tangible and intangible heritage

fort_st_james_1-300x200 -  - Fort St. James, at the heart of the fur trade and its heritage
Curing an elk hide

The Fort St. James site replicates the fort as it was in 1896, when it belonged to the Hudson’s Bay Company. This log construction was built in 1888; the fur warehouse and the fish cache house piles of furs and reproductions of traded goods, as well as hundreds of dried and smoked salmons hanging from the rafters. In the shop of the Fort, visitors can simulate fur and goods trading or try to set a beaver trap. In the employee quarters built in 1884, costumed heritage guides demonstrate the techniques for making moccasins, a know-how that has been passed on from generation to generation, and have visitors taste the daily food that was served to those who lived in the Fort. Visitors can handle tools of the period and take part in the construction of a warehouse. They can even sleep is the residence of Officer A C Murray and warm themselves with his wood stove, as in the past. Various activities for families, such as a visit to a small farm and chicken races, complete the offer.

Building the fort, relationships with Indigenous Peoples, and oral traditions

a022620-300x242 -  - Fort St. James, at the heart of the fur trade and its heritage
Canadian Pacific Railway Survey. Stuart Lake & Fort St. James from hill. 1872

At the time when Simon Fraser founded Fort St. James for the North West Company in 1806, the fur trade was expanding rapidly in New Caledonia (the continental part of today’s British Columbia). Most employees were French-Canadian. They were used to interacting with Indigenous Peoples. Many of them married Indigenous women and spoke their languages. They built a trading post in that location because three Indigenous pathways converged toward the Nak’azdli village of theDakelh Nation, established on the shores of the current Stuart Lake. The Chief of that nation, Kw’eh, negotiated the type of relationships that would unite his people to the newcomers. He continued to be responsible for trade after 1821 when the Hudson’s Bay Company took over and became the principal Indigenous leader of a vast territory. In 2016, a commemorative plaque of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada was dedicated to him.

29-300x225 -  - Fort St. James, at the heart of the fur trade and its heritage
St. James church

The descendants of Chief Kw’eh still live in the region. In the 1990s, the Nak’azdli Elders Society collaborated with Parks Canada in order to collect and pass on the oral traditions of that nation. In 2001, the great-great-granddaughter of Chief Kw’eh, Lillian Sam, published a collection of stories primarily on the life of the Chief; it is entitled Nak’azdli t’enne Yahulduk – Nak’azdli Elders Speak. This research also made it possible to find his legendary dagger and several other valuable artefacts. These oral traditions represent an important intangible heritage; they transfer knowledge, cultural and social values, and a collective memory. They enhance the interpretation of the site and keep Indigenous cultures alive.

Fur trading and missions

051022-300x176 -  - Fort St. James, at the heart of the fur trade and its heritage
Stuart Lake mission, engraving from the memoirs of Adrien Morice

In the second half of the 19th century, missionaries reached the French-Canadian and Francophone Métis communities that were involved in the fur trade in order to convert the Indigenous Peoples. The Oblates were particularly active in British Columbia.

Born in France, Oblate Father Adrien Gabriel Morice arrived at Fort St. James in 1885, at the age of 26. He quickly mastered the Athapaskan language, that of the Dakelh, collected their oral traditions and created an alphabet to transcribe the sounds of their language. He published a dictionary, a grammar of the Dakelh language and a bi-monthly Dakelh newspaper from 1891 to 1894, called the Dustl’us Nawhulnuk. He was designated as a person of national historic importance in 1948.

051123-186x300 -  - Fort St. James, at the heart of the fur trade and its heritage
Adrien Morice’s syllabary

The Indigenous language transcribed by Father Morice was used until 1920, when it was banished from schools. Several elements of Father Morice’s syllabic writing then disappeared. Visitors can see the places where Father Morice lived in the village of Fort St. James, as well as the Our Lady of Good Hope church which he had built in 1873 and which housed his workshop and print shop. There are tombstones with syllabic characters in the cemetery.

The Francophone community in Prince George

In that region, the main Francophone community lives in Prince George, 150 km south of Fort St. James. Every year, the Cercle des Canadiens français de Prince George (The French Canadian Association of Prince George) organizes several activities for some 1,300 Francophones who live in the city and for visitors.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Colombie-Britannique // Sites patrimoniaux // Fort St. James, au cœur du commerce des fourrures et de son héritage
retour

Fort St. James, au cœur du commerce des fourrures et de son héritage

Le fort St. James est un ancien poste de traite construit en 1806 par Simon Fraser et des employés francophones de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest, sur les bords du lac Stuart. Il demeure en activité jusqu’en 1952 malgré le déclin du commerce des fourrures. Désigné lieu historique national du Canada en 1948, ce vaste site géré par Parcs Canada témoigne des liens culturels et commerciaux qui se sont développés entre les Autochtones et les Canadiens d’origine européenne. Aujourd’hui, au milieu du plus important groupe de bâtiments en bois au Canada, les visiteurs font l’expérience du mode de vie et des activités liées à la traite des fourrures en l’an 1896. Ils découvrent aussi un paysage culturel, des traditions orales et un patrimoine immatériel transmis par des personnages désignés d’importance historique nationale, comme le chef autochtone Kw’eh.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Découvrir le patrimoine immatériel et matériel de Fort St. James

fort_st_james_1-300x200 -  - Fort St. James, au cœur du commerce des fourrures et de son héritage
Essorage d’une peau d’élan

Le site de Fort St. James reproduit l’état des lieux en 1896, quand le fort appartenait à la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson. Construits en pièce sur pièce en 1888, l’entrepôt de fourrures et la cache à poisson abritent des piles de fourrures et des reproductions de marchandises de traite, ainsi que des centaines de saumons séchés et fumés suspendus aux chevrons. Dans le magasin du fort, les visiteurs peuvent simuler des échanges de fourrures et de marchandises ou tenter de tendre un piège à castor. Dans la maison des employés, construite en 1884, les guides-animateurs costumés présentent les techniques de fabrication de mocassins, un savoir-faire transmis de génération en génération, et font goûter les mets quotidiens servis aux habitants du fort. Les visiteurs peuvent manier des outils d’époque et participer à la construction d’un entrepôt. Ils peuvent même dormir dans la résidence de l’officier A. C. Murray et se réchauffer à son poêle à bois, comme autrefois. Diverses activités pour la famille, comme la visite d’une fermette et des courses de poulets, complètent l’offre.

Construction du fort, relations avec les Autochtones et traditions orales

a022620-300x242 -  - Fort St. James, au cœur du commerce des fourrures et de son héritage
Levés du Canadien Pacifique. Partie du lac Stewart et du Fort St. James

À l’époque où Simon Fraser fonde le fort St. James pour la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest, en 1806, le commerce des fourrures est en plein développement en Nouvelle-Calédonie (la partie continentale de la Colombie-Britannique actuelle). La majorité des employés sont canadiens-français. Ils ont l’habitude des relations avec les Autochtones. Plusieurs s’unissent avec des femmes autochtones et parlent leurs langues. Ils construisent un poste de traite à cet endroit parce que trois sentiers autochtones convergent vers le village Nak’azdli de la nation Dakelhs, établi sur les rives de l’actuel lac Stuart. Le chef de cette nation, Kw’eh, négocie le type de rapports qui uniront son peuple aux nouveaux arrivants. Il continue d’être responsable des échanges commerciaux après 1821, lorsque la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson prend la relève, et devient le principal leader autochtone d’un vaste territoire. En 2016, une plaque commémorative de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada lui est dédiée.

29-300x225 -  - Fort St. James, au cœur du commerce des fourrures et de son héritage
Église de Saint-James

Les descendants du chef Kw’eh habitent toujours la région. Dans les années 1990, la Nak’azdli Elders Society collabore avec Parcs Canada afin de recueillir et de transmettre les traditions orales de cette nation. En 2001, l’arrière-arrière petite-fille du chef Kw’eh, Lillian Sam, publie un recueil de récits portant principalement sur la vie du chef, intitulé Nak’azdli t’enne Yahulduk – Nak’azdli Elders Speak. Ces recherches permettent aussi de récupérer sa légendaire dague et plusieurs autres artéfacts de valeur. Ces traditions orales constituent un patrimoine immatériel important, elles transmettent des connaissances, des valeurs culturelles et sociales et une mémoire collective. Elles enrichissent l’interprétation du site et maintiennent les cultures autochtones vivantes.

La traite des fourrures et les missions

051022-300x176 -  - Fort St. James, au cœur du commerce des fourrures et de son héritage
La mission du lac Stuart

Dans la seconde moitié du 19e siècle, les missionnaires rejoignent ces communautés canadiennes-française et métisses francophones qui pratiquent la traite des fourrures afin de convertir les Autochtones. Les Oblats sont particulièrement actifs en Colombie-Britannique.

Né en France, le père oblat Adrien Gabriel Morice arrive à Fort St. James en 1885, à l’âge de 26 ans. Il maîtrise rapidement la langue athapascane, celle des Dakelhs, recueille leurs traditions orales, et crée un alphabet pour transcrire les sons de leur langue. Il publie un dictionnaire, une grammaire de la langue dakelh et un journal bimensuel dakelh de 1891 à 1894, le Dustl’us Nawhulnuk. Il est désigné personnage d’importance historique nationale en 1948.

051123-186x300 -  - Fort St. James, au cœur du commerce des fourrures et de son héritage
Le syllabaire du père Adrien Morice

La langue autochtone transcrite par le père Morice fut en usage jusqu’en 1920, quand on la bannit des écoles. Plusieurs éléments de l’écriture syllabique du père Morice disparaissent ensuite. Les visiteurs peuvent découvrir les lieux qu’a habités le père Morice au village de Fort St. James ainsi que l’église Our Lady of Good Hope qu’il a fait construire en 1873 et qui abritait son atelier et son imprimerie. Le cimetière comporte des pierres tombales avec les caractères du syllabaire.

La communauté francophone de Prince George

Dans cette région, la principale communauté francophone réside à Prince George, situé à 150 km au sud de Fort St. James. Le Cercle des Canadiens français de Prince George organise chaque année plusieurs activités pour les quelque 1300 francophones qui habitent la ville et pour les visiteurs.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.