Loading
Home // Newfoundland and Labrador // Cultural Heritage // French Shore: Memory of the French fishery in Newfoundland and Labrador
back

French Shore: Memory of the French fishery in Newfoundland and Labrador

A large portion of the coastal area of Newfoundland is traditionally known as the French Shore because, by the Treaty of Utrecht of 1713, the French acquired exclusive fishing rights from Cape Bonavista to Point Riche. For almost two centuries, they took full advantage of this right and fished along the coast. Gradually, they were replaced by the British, who practised sedentary fishing and, as a result of the Entente Cordiale between France and Great Britain in 1904, were forced to give up their fishing rights in the region. However, their centuries-old presence can still be seen in the abundance of shores, bays, peninsulas and villages with French names, and in the historic and archeological sites along the coast.

 

To learn more…

Following in the footsteps of history and heritage

IMG_2241-300x249 -  - French Shore: Memory of the French fishery in Newfoundland and Labrador
Scene depicting the destruction of Louisbourg, part of an exhibit on the French in Atlantic Canada

The memory of the French fishermen survives in many places along the French Shore. The ruins of bread ovens along the footpaths that follow the shore and the cobble beaches where they dried the cod are a living testimony to their daily activities.

The French Shore Interpretation Centre in Conche has an exhibit on the sites frequented by French fishermen as early as the 16th century, including artifacts from two French ships that sank in a battle with the English in 1707. But its most impressive exhibit is the French Shore Tapestry, a 66-metre-long embroidered tour de force of storytelling inspired by the famous Bayeux Tapestry created to celebrate the 500th anniversary of the French presence in Newfoundland. It tells the story of the French Shore from prehistory to today!

visit-to-croque-012-300x199 -  - French Shore: Memory of the French fishery in Newfoundland and Labrador
French naval cemetery, Croque

In Port-au-Choix, visitors can take a guided tour in French and watch a demonstration in which bread is baked in a reconstructed French bread oven. At Épine Cadoret, now known as Croque, vistors can admire the inscriptions left by 19th-century French sailors. The small town is home to the only French cemetery on the French Shore, which France kept up until the 1970s.

Visitors to the region will be interested in stopping at Pistolet Bay Provincial Park, a sector occupied by Basque and French fishermen in the 17th and 18th centuries, and Gros-Morne National park, designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1987.

A coveted fishing ground

7723326850_a0be42e0c7_o-300x199 -  - French Shore: Memory of the French fishery in Newfoundland and Labrador
Anse-aux-Meadows

More than a thousand years ago, well before the French arrived, the Vikings visited Great Northern Peninsula in Newfoundland. The L’Anse aux Meadows archaeological site has unearthed several archaeological remains of the long-lost Norse presence.

In the early 16th century, the Basques began fishing for cod along the Newfoundland coast, and were soon followed by the Bretons and Normans. During the summer, they set up along the coast to dry and salt their catch, then returned home across the Atlantic in the fall. Over time, the fishermen started wintering on the island, and a few permanent villages began to spring up.

Stage-Cove-300x200 -  - French Shore: Memory of the French fishery in Newfoundland and Labrador
Stage Cove, near Conche

As a result of the Treaty of Utrecht in 1713, the French lost their Newfoundland colonies, but obtained the right to continue to fish along the coast from Cape Bonavista to Pointe Riche in the northeast, which came to be known as the French Shore. According to the treaty, they could fish, prepare their catch and cut all the wood they needed. Fifty years later, in 1763, the Treaty of Paris maintained these fishing rights, but the territory now had to be shared with British colonists, who gradually began settling there. The 1783 Treaty of Versailles changed the boundaries of the French Shore: the French now had access to less of the east coast, from Cape St. John north of Cape Bonavista, and all of the west coast, from the northern tip to Cape Ray just south of the Port au Port Peninsula, today’s most Francophone region of Newfoundland.

18th-century-fishery-in-Cape-Rouge-300x221 -  - French Shore: Memory of the French fishery in Newfoundland and Labrador
Fishing at Cap Rouge

The progressive decline of the French fishery on the French Shore that started in the 1830s, along with the increase in the local English population, led to conflict. In 1904, France ceded most of its fishing rights as part of the Entente Cordiale.

It has been more than a century since the French have fished along the French Shore. However, several majority Francophone villages still exist in the southwestern portion of the island, on the Port au Port Peninsula. They were settled by Acadian cod fishermen and farmers in the early 20th century. Further north, several Anglophone cultural and tourist organizations have been created to prevent the memory of place from disappearing altogether, including the French Shore Historical Society based in Conche, which preserves and gives life to the region’s Francophone material and cultural heritage.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador // Au fil de l'eau // French Shore, la mémoire des pêcheries françaises à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
retour

French Shore, la mémoire des pêcheries françaises à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Une partie importante du littoral de l’île de Terre-Neuve est connue traditionnellement sous le nom de French Shore. Cette appellation provient du fait que les Français avaient, depuis 1713, un droit exclusif de pêche dans cette zone côtière s’étendant du cap Bonavista jusqu’à la pointe Riche. Pendant près de deux siècles, ils ont profité pleinement de ce droit et exploité les pêcheries de cette côte. Puis, progressivement, ils ont été remplacés par les pêcheurs sédentaires britanniques et, à la suite de l’Entente cordiale franco-britannique de 1904, ils ont été dans l’obligation de céder leurs droits de pêche dans cette région. Cependant, encore aujourd’hui, leur présence séculaire trouve écho dans l’abondance de noms de lieux français — côtes, baies, péninsules et villages — ainsi que dans la présence de sites historiques et archéologiques disséminés sur toute la côte.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Suivre les traces historiques et patrimoniales

IMG_2241-300x249 -  - French Shore, la mémoire des pêcheries françaises à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Scène représentant la destruction de Louisbourg à l’exposition sur les Français dans l’Atlantique canadien à la Société historique de la French Shore

La mémoire de la présence des pêcheurs français subsiste en de nombreux endroits du French Shore. Leurs activités quotidiennes se révèlent, par exemple, dans les restes de fours à pain trouvés le long des sentiers aménagés sur la côte ainsi que sur les plages de galets qui servaient autrefois à sécher la morue.

Le Centre d’interprétation de la côte française de Conche présente une exposition sur les sites fréquentés par les pêcheurs français depuis le début du 16e siècle, où figurent notamment des artéfacts provenant de deux navires français ayant sombré en 1707 lors d’un affrontement avec les Anglais. Mais surtout, le Centre présente l’étonnante Tapisserie du French Shore, une œuvre brodée qui raconte, à la manière de la célèbre tapisserie de Bayeux, une histoire illustrée de cette côte française, de la préhistoire jusqu’à aujourd’hui ! Cette tapisserie d’une longueur de 66 mètres a été créée pour célébrer le 500e anniversaire de la présence française à Terre-Neuve.

visit-to-croque-012-300x199 -  - French Shore, la mémoire des pêcheries françaises à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Le cimetière naval français de Croque

À Port-au-Choix, il est possible de faire une visite guidée en français et d’assister à une démonstration de cuisson de pain dans un four à pain français reconstitué. À l’« Épine Cadoret » de Croque, on peut admirer les inscriptions laissées par des marins français au 19e siècle. Cette petite ville abrite en outre le seul cimetière français du French Shore, que la France a entretenu jusque dans les années 1970.

En visitant cette région, il est intéressant de s’arrêter au parc provincial Pistolet Bay, un secteur qui était occupé par des pêcheurs basques et français aux 17e et 18e siècles, ainsi qu’au parc national du Gros-Morne, désigné site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO en 1987.

Un lieu de pêche convoité

7723326850_a0be42e0c7_o-300x199 -  - French Shore, la mémoire des pêcheries françaises à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
L’Anse-aux-Meadows

Il y a plus d’un millénaire, bien avant l’arrivée des Français, les Vikings fréquentaient la péninsule Great Northern, à Terre-Neuve. Le site de L’Anse aux Meadows a révélé plusieurs vestiges archéologiques de cette éphémère présence des hommes du Nord.

Au début du 16e siècle, des équipages basques ont commencé à pêcher la morue le long des côtes de Terre-Neuve, bientôt suivis par des navires bretons et normands. Durant l’été, les pêcheurs s’installaient sur les côtes pour y sécher et saler le produit de leur pêche, puis retraversaient l’Atlantique l’automne venu. Au fil du temps, à la suite d’hivernements répétés, quelques villages permanents sont apparus.

Stage-Cove-300x200 -  - French Shore, la mémoire des pêcheries françaises à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Stage Cove, près de Conche

À la suite du traité d’Utrecht de 1713, les Français perdent leurs colonies terre-neuviennes, mais obtiennent le droit de poursuivre leurs activités de pêche dans une longue zone côtière qui s’étend du cap Bonavista jusqu’à la pointe Riche, au nord-est de l’île : le French Shore. Les clauses du traité prévoient qu’ils peuvent pêcher et préparer le poisson, mais aussi couper tout le bois dont ils ont besoin. Cinquante ans plus tard, la signature du Traité de Paris de 1763 maintient ces droits de pêche, mais le territoire devra désormais être partagé avec les colons britanniques qui s’installeront progressivement sur le territoire. Puis le Traité de Versailles de 1783 modifie les limites du French Shore : les Français fréquenteront dorénavant une portion moindre de la côte est, à partir du cap Saint-Jean, situé au nord du cap Bonavista, et auront accès à toute la côte ouest de l’île, de sa pointe septentrionale jusqu’au cap Ray, située juste au sud de la péninsule de Port-au-Port, la région aujourd’hui la plus française de cette province.

18th-century-fishery-in-Cape-Rouge-300x221 -  - French Shore, la mémoire des pêcheries françaises à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Pêche au Cap Rouge

Le déclin progressif des pêcheries françaises sur le French Shore à partir des années 1830, combiné à l’augmentation de la population anglaise locale, entraîne certains conflits. En 1904, la France cède la majeure partie de ses droits de pêche dans le cadre de l’Entente cordiale franco-britannique.

Il y a maintenant plus d’un siècle que les Français ne pêchent plus dans la région du French Shore. Cependant, plusieurs villages majoritairement francophones subsistent au sud-ouest de l’île, sur la péninsule Port-au-Port, peuplés par des pêcheurs acadiens venus s’y installer au début du 20e siècle pour y pratiquer la pêche à la morue et l’agriculture. Dans la région plus au nord, plusieurs organismes culturels et touristiques anglophones ont été mis sur pied pour éviter que cette mémoire ne sombre dans l’oubli, par exemple la Société historique du French Shore, basée dans la ville de Conche, qui préserve et anime le patrimoine matériel et culturel francophone de cette région.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.