Loading
Home // Nova Scotia // Community portraits // Halifax: Capital city on a quest to showcase its French culture
back

Halifax: Capital city on a quest to showcase its French culture

In 1749, the foundation of Halifax and the construction of its impressive citadel marked the true beginning of British colonization in Nova Scotia. Between the start of the Great Deportation in 1755 and the peace treaty of 1763, hundreds of Acadians were held prisoner in Halifax. Once freed, some of them settled in Chezzetcook, 35 kilometres from Halifax. In the 20th century, many Acadians left the rural regions where they had been able to procure land after the Great Deportation to find work in the capital. The naval base and military installations also attracted Francophones from other regions of Canada. Today, the greater Halifax area is home to 10,500 residents who speak French as a first language. They form a large but dispersed community that benefits from a range of educational and cultural resources in French, such as the events at Carrefour du Grand-Havre in Dartmouth, the excursions organized by the Regroupement des aînés de la Nouvelle-Écosse, and the Francofest, a week-long cultural and social event coinciding with the French-language book fair.

 

To learn more…

The gradual implementation of a Francophone infrastructure

7053329197_ceeb418f6b_o-300x200 -  - Halifax: Capital city on a quest to showcase its French culture
Hydrostone District

For many years, the chapters of the Société l’Assomption provided the only French-language social support for Acadians in Halifax. In the 1950s, the first French school opened across the harbour in Dartmouth, but was reserved for military families until 1978. Before the foundation of the Fédération acadienne de la Nouvelle-Écosse (FANE) in 1968, Acadians had no provincial representation. From its central office in Halifax, FANE became the main catalyst for province-wide Acadian sociocultural development and contributed substantially to the visibility of Francophones in the capital. One of FANE’s first achievements was to facilitate communication among the various Acadian regions by making Le Courriera provincial weekly. Today, FANE comprises 28 regional and provincial organizations working in areas as diverse as culture, health and literacy.

A few years after the construction of the Carrefour du Grand-Havre community centre, École Bois-Joli and École du Carrefour in Dartmouth, FANE moved across the harbour to be closer to the core of Francophone activities. In addition to FANE, the Maison acadienne houses the Fédération culturelle acadienne de la Nouvelle-Écosse, the Conseil jeunesse provincial and the Regroupement des aînés.

The growth of French immersion classes over the decades is a testament to Haligonians’ openness to the French fact. Canadian Parents for French plays an important role in supporting activities in French. According to the 2016 census, there are 49,575 bilingual people in the Greater Halifax Area, many of whom work for the federal or provincial government or in hospitals.

cole-secondaire-du-Sommet_2017-300x225 -  - Halifax: Capital city on a quest to showcase its French culture
École secondaire du Sommet

After the creation of the Conseil scolaire acadien provincial in 1996, other French schools were built to meet the needs of a growing population fed by urbanization and immigration. These new schools created other centres of sociocultural activities in French. The annual French-language book fair, for example, sometimes takes place at École du Carrefour in Dartmouth, and sometimes at École du Sommet in Bedford. The Conseil communautaire du Grand-Havre publishes Le Franco, a monthly newspaper for Francophones and Francophiles, which is also available online. It covers cultural and sports events in the Francophone community and often features stories about Francophone citizens and entrepreneurs in Halifax.

In 2004, the Université Sainte-Anne and the Collège de l’Acadie opened a campus in downtown Halifax where Francophones can complete a college program or a university degree. In recent years, the campus has been welcoming more and more new immigrants to Canada.

The Alliance Française also has an office in the beautiful Hydrostone district, built after the 1917 explosion that destroyed the northern part of the city. The offices are accessible, and the staff gives guided tours to Francophone tourists in Halifax.

Port city and tourist centre

1435469882_a1dfd2c5b5_o-300x199 -  - Halifax: Capital city on a quest to showcase its French culture
Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21

Located on high ground, the Halifax Citadel overlooks the city and offers a magnificent view of the harbour. There are a few cafés and restaurants managed by Francophones nearby, including Ratinaud French Cuisine, Bistro Le Coq, LF Bakery, Le French Fix Pâtisserie and Rousseau Chocolatier. Bordering the harbour, along the three-kilometre promenade built for residents and tourists, is the Acadian Odyssey monument across from Georges Island, where Acadian families were imprisoned before being deported, and large museums offering bilingual exhibitions: the Maritime Museum of the Atlantic and the Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21. To fully appreciate Halifax’s maritime vocation, visitors can take the ferry to Dartmouth, where they will find the community centre and several Francophone organizations, as well as other restaurants managed by Francophones. Halifax, a beautiful and thriving city and the political and economic capital of Nova Scotia, is home to the largest concentration of Francophones in the province.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Nouvelle-Écosse // Portraits de communautés // Halifax, la capitale qui veut accroître la visibilité de sa francophonie
retour

Halifax, la capitale qui veut accroître la visibilité de sa francophonie

En 1749, la fondation d’Halifax et la construction de son imposante citadelle marquent le véritable début de la colonisation britannique de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Entre le début de la Déportation, en 1755, et le traité de paix de 1763, des centaines d’Acadiens sont retenus prisonniers à Halifax. Une fois libérés, quelques-uns s’établissent à Chezzetcook, à 35 km d’Halifax. Puis, au cours du 20e siècle, beaucoup d’Acadiens quittent les régions rurales où ils avaient pu obtenir des terres après la Déportation pour trouver de l’emploi dans la capitale néo-écossaise. La base navale et les installations militaires amènent aussi de nombreux francophones d’autres régions du Canada. Aujourd’hui, on compte 10 500 personnes de langue maternelle française dans la grande région d’Halifax. Elles forment une communauté nombreuse mais dispersée qui bénéficie d’une gamme de ressources scolaires et culturelles en français, comme les spectacles au Carrefour du Grand-Havre à Dartmouth, les excursions organisées par le Regroupement des aînés de la Nouvelle-Écosse et le Francofest, qui offre une semaine d’événements culturels et sociaux coïncidant avec le Salon du livre.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

La mise en place graduelle d’infrastructures francophones

7053329197_ceeb418f6b_o-300x200 -  - Halifax, la capitale qui veut accroître la visibilité de sa francophonie
Le quartier Hydrostone

Pendant longtemps, les succursales de la Société mutuelle l’Assomption constituaient le seul encadrement social de langue française offert aux Acadiens demeurant à Halifax. Dans les années 1950, la première école française ouverte de l’autre côté du havre, à Dartmouth, était réservée aux familles militaires, et ce, jusqu’en 1978. Avant la fondation de la Fédération acadienne de la Nouvelle-Écosse (FANE) en 1968, les Acadiens n’avaient aucun porte-parole provincial. À partir de son bureau central à Halifax, la FANE deviendra le principal catalyseur du développement socioculturel acadien à l’échelle de la province et contribuera énormément à la visibilité des francophones de la capitale. L’une des premières réalisations de la FANE a été de faciliter la communication entre les différentes régions acadiennes, en transformant Le Courrier en journal hebdomadaire provincial. Aujourd’hui, la FANE regroupe 28 organismes régionaux et provinciaux qui englobent les domaines aussi variés que la culture, la santé et l’alphabétisation.

Quelques années après la construction du centre communautaire du Carrefour du Grand-Havre, de l’école Bois-Joli et de l’école du Carrefour, à Dartmouth, la FANE a déménagé de ce côté du havre pour se rapprocher de ce noyau d’activités francophones. En plus de la FANE, la Maison acadienne héberge la Fédération culturelle acadienne de la Nouvelle-Écosse, le Conseil jeunesse provincial et le Regroupement des aînés.

Au cours des décennies, la multiplication des classes d’immersion française témoigne de l’ouverture au fait français à Halifax. L’organisation Canadian Parents for French joue un rôle important dans le soutien des activités en français. D’après le recensement de 2016, il y a 49 575 personnes bilingues dans la grande région d’Halifax, dont bon nombre travaillent pour le gouvernement fédéral, le gouvernement provincial et dans les hôpitaux.

cole-secondaire-du-Sommet_2017-300x225 -  - Halifax, la capitale qui veut accroître la visibilité de sa francophonie
L’école secondaire du Sommet

Suivant la création du Conseil scolaire acadien provincial en 1996, on assiste à la construction d’autres écoles francophones pour répondre aux besoins d’une population toujours grandissante en raison de l’urbanisation et de l’immigration. Ces nouvelles écoles créent d’autres pôles autour desquels gravitent les activités socioculturelles en français. Le Salon du livre annuel, par exemple, a lieu tantôt à l’école du Carrefour à Dartmouth, tantôt à l’école du Sommet à Bedford. Le Conseil communautaire du Grand-Havre produit Le Franco, un journal mensuel destiné aux francophones et aux francophiles disponible en ligne et en format papier. Il couvre les événements culturels et sportifs de la communauté francophone et attire souvent l’attention sur un entrepreneur ou un habitant de langue française d’Halifax.

En 2004, l’Université Sainte-Anne et le Collège de l’Acadie ouvrent un campus au centre-ville d’Halifax où les francophones peuvent terminer un programme collégial ou obtenir un diplôme universitaire. Depuis quelques années, le campus accueille de plus en plus d’étudiants qui sont de nouveaux arrivants au Canada.

L’Alliance Française a aussi pignon sur rue dans le très beau quartier Hydrostone, bâti après l’explosion de 1917 qui a décimé la partie nord de la ville. Les bureaux sont très accessibles et le personnel a l’habitude de guider les touristes francophones qui arrivent à Halifax.

Ville portuaire et secteur touristique

1435469882_a1dfd2c5b5_o-300x199 -  - Halifax, la capitale qui veut accroître la visibilité de sa francophonie
Musée canadien de l’immigration du Quai 21

Située en hauteur, la Citadelle d’Halifax surplombe la ville et donne une magnifique vue du havre. Non loin se trouvent quelques cafés et restaurants gérés par des francophones, tels Ratinaud French Cuisine, Bistro Le Coq, LF Bakery, Le French Fix Pâtisserie et Rousseau Chocolatier. En bordure du havre, le long de la promenade de trois kilomètres aménagée pour l’agrément des résidents et des touristes, on trouve aussi le monument de l’Odyssée acadienne situé en face de l’île Georges, où des familles acadiennes ont été emprisonnées avant d’être déportées, et des musées d’envergure offrant des expositions bilingues : le Musée maritime de l’Atlantique et le Musée canadien de l’immigration du Quai 21. Pour apprécier pleinement la vocation maritime d’Halifax, il faut prendre le traversier pour Dartmouth où se trouvent le centre communautaire et plusieurs organismes francophones, ainsi que d’autres restaurants gérés par des francophones. Capitale politique et économique de la Nouvelle-Écosse, Halifax est une belle ville en plein essor qui compte la plus grande concentration de francophones de cette province.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.