Loading
Home // Nova Scotia // Community portraits // Isle Madame, an Acadian community anchored in the sea
back

Isle Madame, an Acadian community anchored in the sea

The people of Isle Madame, located southwest of Cape Breton Island, have historically depended on fishing for their livelihood, and continue to do so to this day. Following the Basque pioneers who gave the island many of its place names, such as Petit‑de‑Grat and Arichat, Acadians became the island’s first permanent settlers. After a period of prosperity in the time of New France, the Deportation turned their lives upside down. Later, shipping and shipbuilding joined fishing as the drivers of economic growth and settlement. Today, Isle Madame has a population of 4,000, mostly Acadians, who have preserved their traditions as well as their rich accent. Surrounded by breathtaking seascapes, Petit‑de‑Grat’s cultural community centre, La Picasse, is an anchor of Francophone social and cultural life, with a theatre, arts and crafts boutique, genealogy centre and tourist information desk. In Arichat, the LeNoir Forge Museum showcases shipbuilding’s significant contribution to the island’s history. For outdoor enthusiasts, seafood lovers and anyone looking for a peaceful getaway, Isle Madame is the perfect destination.

 

Learn more…

Enjoy the relaxed pace of a bygone era

200320735-300x205 -  - Isle Madame, an Acadian community anchored in the sea
Town on Isle Madame, probably D’Escousse

Isle Madame features many inns, bed & breakfasts, charming restaurants and cafés, fish markets selling fresh fish and seafood, and spectacular seaside views from just about everywhere. For visitors, it is an island retreat. Here, Acadians have preserved many aspects of their intangible cultural heritage: songs, music, dance and crafts. Despite the decline in the use of French due to a lengthy period of mandatory English education lasting until 1981, Acadians have also preserved the unique accent of their ancestors. Rare traditions are also still practised on Isle Madame, such as the use of sobriquets, or nicknames, for different family lines in the two largest families: the Samsons and the Boudreaus. Some of these sobriquets include Ayouche, Catou (short for the French “qui a tout”) and Madouesse (which means “porcupine” in the Mi’kmaq language). The island is also an ideal setting for various outdoor activities, such as sailing, kayaking, scuba diving (about a dozen shipwrecks lie off its shores), biking and hiking.

Centre La Picasse, Acadian Festival and LeNoir Forge

The mission of the Centre La Picasse cultural community centre is to promote the development of the French language and the vitality of the Acadian culture. It welcomes visitors and offers residents a wide range of educational and recreational services. The boutique sells a variety of goods, artwork and crafts produced by local Acadians. The tourist information desk provides information about the island and the region. Shows put on by local artists in the Centre’s 375‑seat auditorium (as well as elsewhere on the island) are open to everyone. The Centre La Picasse also organizes National Acadian Day, on August 15, marking the end of Petit‑de‑Grat’s Acadian Festival, which could not take place without the community’s many dedicated volunteers.

The Acadian Festival kicks off with a musical performance, followed by various activities held over several days: art workshops, an Acadian supper, story night, fireworks, a dance and an intergenerational softball tournament. One unique, increasingly popular activity is the shark derby, where contestants fish for certain shark species that are abundant in Canadian waters. More than a hundred fishers compete in the event. When they return to the wharf at around four o’clock in the afternoon, a jury measures and weighs their catches and awards prizes to the best fishers. Every year, between 10 and 35 sharks are caught, mainly blue sharks and a few porbeagles. Scientists from the Marine Research Centre at St Anne University’s Petit‑de‑Grat campus use the event as an opportunity to collect data and educate the public.

2015-09-19-12.28.36-1-300x225 -  - Isle Madame, an Acadian community anchored in the sea
LeNoir Forge

The LeNoir Forge Museum, located in Arichat and built in 1793 by Frenchmen Thomas and Simon LeNoir, offers forging classes and demonstrations. The tools used and objects produced in this shipbuilding forge are also on display. The forge is the main attraction in a small historic park that also features former maritime warehouses, a central square and interpretation panels recounting the island’s history.

Key historical events

Isle Madame was named in honour of Madame de Maintenon, second wife of King Louis XIV. First visited by transient Mi’kmaq, Basques and Acadians, the island saw its first permanent settlers in 1713. In 1720, seignieurs D’Auteuil and Jaubert established the Marichat seigneury to supply Louisbourg with farm products, fish and timber. Between 1713 and 1758, Isle Madame residents enjoyed flourishing trade with Louisbourg and Boston.

200801602-300x171 -  - Isle Madame, an Acadian community anchored in the sea
Simon Bennette, Martinique, Isle Madame

During the Deportation (1755 to 1763), island residents took advantage of their mobility to escape British troops. In rowboats, they sought refuge among their Mi’kmaq allies in the forests of Cape Breton Island. But in 1758, the British set fire to all island settlements, and the Acadians dispersed. Beginning in 1765, some returned and worked as fishermen for the Robin Company. Their living conditions were extremely harsh. Residents of Petit‑de‑Grat were nicknamed “mangeux d’arêtes” (“bone eaters”) because all they could bring home to eat were the heads and backbones of the cod they caught. Meanwhile, the Robin Company kept all the meat, which was filleted, salted and dried to be sold on the lucrative markets of Europe and the West Indies.

200801596-300x175 -  - Isle Madame, an Acadian community anchored in the sea
Isle Madame scenery and landscape

From 1840 to 1890, Isle Madame became a transit centre for goods shipped from the West Indies and the United States to Europe. Around a hundred sailing ships could sometimes be seen in Arichat harbour. A few shipyards built and repaired vessels (most notably the LeNoir Forge). Isle Madame became a major Acadian hub, to the extent that, in 1900, the fourth Acadian National Convention was held in Arichat.

With the demise of sailing navigation and wooden ships in the early 20th century, this Acadian community fell on hard times. In the early 1990s, it had to recover from the collapse of the cod fishery. St Anne University then opened a satellite campus in Petit‑de‑Grat to diversify the island’s economy. Its Marine Research Centre contributed to the development of the crab, lobster and shrimp fisheries as well as to sustainable aquaculture. In 1997, the Centre La Picasse cultural community centre opened its doors at its new location.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Nouvelle-Écosse // Festivals et événements // Isle Madame, une communauté acadienne ancrée dans la mer
retour

Isle Madame, une communauté acadienne ancrée dans la mer

Les habitants de l’Isle Madame, située au sud-ouest de l’île du Cap-Breton, ont toujours vécu et vivent encore principalement de la pêche. Après les pionniers basques qui ont nommé plusieurs lieux de l’île, comme Petit-de-Grat et Arichat, les Acadiens s’y sont établis de manière permanente. Après avoir connu une période de prospérité au temps de la Nouvelle-France, l’épisode de la Déportation a bouleversé leur existence. Le commerce maritime et la construction navale se sont ensuite ajoutés à la pêche et ont stimulé l’économie et le peuplement. L’Isle Madame compte aujourd’hui 4000 habitants, en majorité des Acadiens, qui ont conservé plusieurs traditions et un savoureux accent. Au cœur de beaux paysages maritimes, le centre culturel communautaire La Picasse de Petit-de-Grat anime la vie culturelle et sociale en français, avec sa salle de spectacle, sa boutique d’artisanat, son centre de généalogie et son bureau d’information touristique. Le musée de la Forge LeNoir à Arichat met en valeur l’importante activité de construction navale à l’île. Les amateurs de plein air, de quiétude et de fruits de mer apprécieront particulièrement l’Isle Madame.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Prendre son temps comme autrefois

200320735-300x205 -  - Isle Madame, une communauté acadienne ancrée dans la mer
Un village de l’Isle Madame, probablement D’Escousse

On trouve à l’Isle Madame quelques auberges et gîtes du passant, quelques restaurants et cafés sympathiques, quelques poissonneries pour s’approvisionner en poissons et fruits de mer et presque partout une vue panoramique sur la mer. Pour les visiteurs, cette île est un havre de paix. Les Acadiens y ont conservé un riche patrimoine culturel immatériel : chansons, musique et danse, savoir-faire artisanaux et l’accent unique de leurs ancêtres, même si l’usage du français a reculé à cause d’une longue période d’éducation obligatoire en anglais qui a pris fin en 1981. On trouve à l’Isle Madame des usages traditionnels rares comme le recours à des sobriquets pour différencier les branches des deux familles dominantes des Samson et des Boudreau ; des sobriquets comme Ayouche, Catou (une contraction de « qui a tout ») ou Madouesse (qui veut dire porc-épic en langue micmaque). On peut aussi y pratiquer en toute sérénité plusieurs activités de plein air : voile, kayak, plongée sous-marine (une douzaine d’épaves gisent dans les environs), vélo ou randonnée pédestre.

Centre La Picasse, Festival acadien et Forge LeNoir

La mission du centre communautaire culturel La Picasse est de promouvoir l’épanouissement de la langue française et la vitalité de la culture acadienne. Il offre aux résidents une large gamme de services d’éducation et d’animation et accueille les visiteurs. Sa boutique propose divers produits et œuvres d’artistes et d’artisans de souche acadienne. Son bureau d’information touristique offre plusieurs renseignements sur l’île et la région. Les spectacles d’artistes locaux présentés dans sa salle de 375 places (ainsi qu’ailleurs sur l’île) sont ouverts à tous. La Picasse organise également la Fête nationale acadienne du 15 août, qui clôt le Festival acadien de Petit-de-Grat que soutiennent de nombreux bénévoles.

Ce festival commence par un spectacle musical. Diverses activités se succèdent ensuite pendant quelques jours : ateliers artistiques, souper acadien, soirée de contes, feux d’artifice, danse et tournoi de balle molle intergénérationnel. Une activité très originale gagne sans cesse en popularité : le tournoi de pêche aux requins, dont certaines espèces ne sont pas rares dans les eaux canadiennes. Plus d’une centaine de pêcheurs participent à l’événement. Lorsqu’ils rentrent au quai, vers 16h, un jury mesure et pèse les prises et récompense les meilleurs pêcheurs. Chaque année, entre 10 et 35 requins sont capturés, principalement des requins bleus et quelques requins-taupes communs. Les scientifiques du Centre de recherche marine du campus Petit-de-Grat de l’Université Sainte-Anne profitent de l’occasion pour recueillir des données et renseigner le public.

2015-09-19-12.28.36-1-300x225 -  - Isle Madame, une communauté acadienne ancrée dans la mer
La Forge LeNoir

Situé à Arichat, le musée de la Forge LeNoir, construite en 1793 par les Français Thomas et Simon LeNoir, donne des ateliers et des démonstrations du travail de la forge. Les outils utilisés et les objets fabriqués dans cette forge navale y sont également exposés. La forge est l’attraction principale d’un petit parc historique où se retrouvent également d’anciens entrepôts maritimes, une agora et des panneaux d’interprétation qui racontent l’histoire de l’île.

Quelques repères historiques

D’abord fréquentée par des Micmacs, des Basques et des Acadiens de passage, cette île nommée Madame en l’honneur de Madame de Maintenon, seconde épouse du roi Louis XIV, voit son premier résident permanent s’y établir en 1713. En 1720, les sieurs d’Auteuil et Jaubert y implantent la seigneurie de Marichat pour approvisionner Louisbourg en produits de la ferme, en poisson et en bois. Entre 1713 et 1758, les habitants de l’Isle Madame participent à un commerce florissant avec Louisbourg et Boston.

200801602-300x171 -  - Isle Madame, une communauté acadienne ancrée dans la mer
Simon Bennette, à Martinique, Isle Madame

Pendant la Déportation (de 1755 à 1763), les habitants de l’île échappent aux troupes britanniques grâce à leur mobilité. Ils vont en chaloupe se réfugier auprès de leurs alliés micmacs dans les forêts de l’île du Cap-Breton. En 1758 cependant, les Britanniques incendient tous les établissements de l’île et les Acadiens se dispersent. Certains reviennent à partir de 1765 et travaillent comme pêcheurs pour la compagnie Robin. Leurs conditions de vie sont très dures. On surnomme les habitants de Petit-de-Grat « mangeux d’arêtes » parce qu’ils ne peuvent ramener chez eux que l’épine dorsale et la tête des morues qu’ils capturent, la compagnie Robin se réservant toute la chair, qui est découpée en filets, puis salée et séchée pour être vendue sur les lucratifs marchés de l’Europe ou des Antilles.

200801596-300x175 -  - Isle Madame, une communauté acadienne ancrée dans la mer
Un paysage de l’Isle Madame

De 1840 à 1890, l’Isle Madame devient un centre de transit de marchandises entre les navires en provenance des Antilles et des États-Unis, et ceux en partance pour l’Europe. Dans le havre d’Arichat, on compte parfois une centaine de voiliers. Quelques chantiers navals font de la construction et de la réparation (notamment la forge LeNoir). L’Isle Madame devient alors un centre acadien si important qu’en 1900, la quatrième Convention nationale acadienne se déroule à Arichat.

Cette communauté acadienne traverse une période difficile au début du 20e siècle, avec la fin de la navigation à voile et des navires en bois. Elle se relève ensuite de l’effondrement de la pêche à la morue survenu au début des années 1990. L’Université Sainte-Anne ouvre alors un campus satellite à Petit-de-Grat, afin de diversifier l’économie de l’île. Son Centre de recherche marine contribue notamment au développement des pêches au crabe, au homard et à la crevette, ainsi qu’à l’aquaculture dans une perspective durable. Les nouveaux locaux du Centre communautaire culturel La Picasse sont inaugurés en 1997.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.