Loading
Home // Ontario // Over the water // Niagara Falls, the French face of a spectacular natural attraction
back

Niagara Falls, the French face of a spectacular natural attraction

Niagara Falls were known and admired by the Indigenous peoples for thousands of years, but the first inhabitants of European origin to discover and describe them were French explorers in the 17th century. These spectacular falls spill the largest volume of water in the world, and their marvelous configuration, in horseshoe form, delights millions of visitors every year. There are also historical and heritage sites near this unique panorama, where visitors are welcomed and guided tours are provided in French to teach them about the evolution of human settlements on the banks of the Niagara River, between Lake Ontario and Lake Erie, and the strategic role that this area played during the War of 1812 between Canada and the United States.

 

To learn more…

Discovering the falls and the area

The Niagara Falls are unquestionably the main attraction in the region. Tourists can enjoy the falls from observation towers, a tunnel, a helicopter, a cable car or a motorized canoe, and can even board a boat that will take them right to the foot of the falls. This striking natural amphitheater serves as a wonderful setting for fireworks and free concerts during the summer.

niagara1-300x200 -  - Niagara Falls, the French face of a spectacular natural attraction
Niagara Falls During a Light Show

Outdoor lovers will particularly enjoy the Canadian banks of the Niagara River, which runs from Niagara-on-the-Lake to Fort Erie. This long, 56 km promenade is dotted with lookouts, perfect spots to have a picnic, and heritage sites, making it a major attraction in the area. Visitors are also fascinated by the Butterfly Conservatory and its pathways bordered by lush vegetation, including a floral clock made up of 15,000 plants!

A number of organizations offer excursions, activities and services in French, including Tourisme Franco-Niagara, Centre Cyclotourisme Niagara and Cinéfest Niagara. There is also the Fort George National Historic Site, which gives visitors a glimpse of garrison life at the time of the War of 1812. Hosts in period costume and Francophone guides reveal a myriad of details about the daily life of colonists, soldiers and artisans.

niagara3-200x300 -  - Niagara Falls, the French face of a spectacular natural attraction
Wines Produced in the Falls Region

Epicureans will be happy to discover Château des Charmes and Domaine Queylus, two Niagara Peninsula vineyards operated by Francophones. Unless, of course, they decide to take part in festivals celebrating Ontario wine, including Niagara’s incomparable ice wine.

A force of nature

Niagara Falls were formed about 14,000 years ago, when the glaciers retreated. The flow of water over the Canadian portion of this formation, which is 670 meters wide by 54 meters high, exceeds 2,400 cubic meters per second. It is not at all surprising that the Indigenous peoples baptized them Niagara, which means “thunder of water” in the language of the Neutral Nation, the Indigenous Iroquois who lived nearby.

chateaubriand_firmin_didot_freres_falls-225x300 -  - Niagara Falls, the French face of a spectacular natural attraction
Engraving of Niagara Falls, by Roux de Rochelle, 1837

In 1801, celebrated French writer Chateaubriand noted: “From Lake Erie to the Sault (Niagara Falls), the river races ahead on a steep slope, and when it reaches the falls, it is less a river than a sea whose torrents pour into the gaping mouth of an abyss.” It is like “a water column of the Flood.”

In 1885, the first Canadian provincial park was created, Queen Victoria Park, to preserve the site from speculators and ensure access for the public. Tourism thereafter had a major place in the local economy, even though the hydroelectric potential of the Niagara River has also been exploited since the 19th century.

A Francophone footprint

French colonists constructed a small fort on the future site of Fort Niagara, in 1679, and then built a first settlement on the east bank of the Niagara River to defend their fur trade monopoly around the Great Lakes. Recollet priest Louis Hennepin was the first European to describe Niagara Falls, in 1679: “At a distance of four leagues from Lake Frontenac [Lake Ontario], there is an incredible sault or waterfall, which has no equal. . . . These waters foam and boil up in a frightful manner, they thunder continually, and when the wind blows from the south, one can hear the noise they make more than fifteen leagues away.”

c19-17-12-300x211 -  - Niagara Falls, the French face of a spectacular natural attraction
The Whirlpool Rapids on the Niagara River

In the Niagara Peninsula in the early 20th century, the textile industry favoured the recruitment of Francophone workers. Several dozen families from Quebec arrived in the 1910s to work in a cotton spinning mill. They were followed by a new wave of immigration lured by employment in the steel industry. In 1946, almost 500 Francophone families lived in Welland, in the neighbourhood known as French City. Today, nearly 13,500 Franco-Ontarians live on the Niagara Peninsula. At least 10% of the population in Welland and Port Colborne is Francophone, ensuring a strong French presence in the region.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Ontario // Au fil de l'eau // Les chutes Niagara, le visage français d’une spectaculaire attraction naturelle
retour

Les chutes Niagara, le visage français d’une spectaculaire attraction naturelle

Les chutes Niagara sont connues et admirées des Autochtones depuis des millénaires, mais les premiers habitants d’origine européenne à les découvrir et les décrire sont des explorateurs français, au 17e siècle. Le débit de ces chutes saisissantes est le plus important au monde et leur merveilleuse configuration en forme de fer à cheval séduit chaque année des millions de visiteurs. À proximité de ce panorama unique au monde se trouvent des sites historiques et patrimoniaux, dont les structures d’accueil et les visites guidées en français permettent de comprendre l’évolution du peuplement sur les rives de la rivière Niagara, entre les lacs Ontario et Érié, et l’importance stratégique de ce secteur lors de la guerre de 1812 entre le Canada et les États-Unis.

 

 Pour en savoir plus…

 Découvrir les chutes et leur région

Les chutes Niagara sont sans nul doute l’attrait principal de la région : on peut les admirer à partir de tours d’observation, d’un tunnel, d’un hélicoptère, d’un téléphérique, d’un canot motorisé ou bien du bateau qui mène les touristes jusqu’au pied des chutes. Les feux d’artifice et les concerts gratuits présentés durant la saison estivale bénéficient de ce saisissant amphithéâtre naturel.

niagara1-300x200 -  - Les chutes Niagara, le visage français d’une spectaculaire attraction naturelle
Les chutes Niagara lors du spectacle de lumières

Les amateurs de plein air profitent de la rive canadienne de la rivière Niagara, qui va de Niagara-on-the-Lake jusqu’à Fort Érié. Jalonnée de belvédères, de lieux pour pique-niquer et de sites patrimoniaux, cette promenade de 56 km représente un attrait majeur. Le conservatoire des papillons et ses sentiers bordés de végétaux luxuriants, ainsi que l’horloge florale constituée de plus de 15 000 plantes fascinent les visiteurs!

Plusieurs organismes offrent des excursions, des activités et des services en français, dont Tourisme Franco-Niagara, le Centre Cyclotourisme Niagara et le Cinéfest Niagara. Le Lieu historique national du fort George témoigne quant à lui de la vie d’une garnison à l’époque de la guerre de 1812. Les animateurs en uniforme d’époque et les guides francophones révèlent une foule de détails sur la vie quotidienne des colons, des soldats et des artisans.

niagara3-200x300 -  - Les chutes Niagara, le visage français d’une spectaculaire attraction naturelle
Vins produits dans la région des chutes

Le visiteur épicurien découvrira avec bonheur le Château des Charmes et le Domaine Queylus, deux vignobles de la péninsule du Niagara opérés par des francophones. À moins qu’il ne décide de participer aux festivals qui célèbrent le vin ontarien, dont l’incomparable vin de glace.

Une force de la nature

Les chutes Niagara se sont formées il y a environ 14 000 ans, avec le retrait des glaciers. La portion canadienne de cette formation, large de 670 mètres et haute de 54 mètres, a un volume d’eau de plus de 2400 mètres cubes par seconde. Rien d’étonnant à ce que les Autochtones les aient baptisées Niagara, qui signifie « tonnerre d’eau » dans la langue des Neutres, la nation autochtone de culture iroquoienne qui habitait à proximité.

chateaubriand_firmin_didot_freres_falls-225x300 -  - Les chutes Niagara, le visage français d’une spectaculaire attraction naturelle
Gravure représentant les chutes du Niagara, par Roux de Rochelle, 1837

En 1801, le célèbre écrivain français Chateaubriand note que « depuis le lac Érié jusqu’au Saut (la chute Niagara), le fleuve accourt, par une pente rapide, et au moment de la chute, c’est moins un fleuve qu’une mer, dont les torrents se pressent à la bouche béante d’un gouffre ». C’est, conclut-il, comme une « colonne d’eau du Déluge ».

En 1885, on a créé le tout premier parc provincial canadien, le parc Queen Victoria, pour préserver le site des spéculateurs et garantir son accessibilité au public. Le tourisme prend par la suite une place majeure dans l’économie de la région, même si le potentiel hydroélectrique de la rivière Niagara est exploité depuis la fin du 19e siècle.

Une empreinte francophone

Les colons français ont construit un fortin à l’emplacement futur du fort Niagara en 1679, puis ils ont érigé un premier établissement sur la rive est de la rivière Niagara pour défendre le monopole de la traite des fourrures autour des Grands Lacs. Le père récollet Louis Hennepin est le premier Européen à décrire la chute Niagara en 1679 : « À quatre lieux du lac de Frontenac [Ontario], il y a un saut ou chute d’eau incroyable, et qui n’a pas son pareil. […] ces eaux écument et bouillonnent d’une manière affreuse, elles tonnent continuellement, et lorsque le vent souffle du sud, on entend le bruit qu’elles font de plus de quinze lieues. »

c19-17-12-300x211 -  - Les chutes Niagara, le visage français d’une spectaculaire attraction naturelle
Les Whirlpool Rapids sur la rivière Niagara

Dans la péninsule du Niagara, au début du 20e siècle, l’industrie textile favorise le recrutement de travailleurs francophones. Plusieurs dizaines de familles du Québec arrivent dans les années 1910 pour travailler dans une filature de coton, suivies d’une nouvelle vague d’immigration motivée par les emplois dans l’industrie sidérurgique. En 1946, presque 500 familles francophones vivent à Welland dans le quartier « Ville française ». La péninsule du Niagara compte aujourd’hui près de 13 500 Franco-Ontariens : Welland et Port Colborne comptent au moins 10 % de francophones, ce qui assure une présence forte du français dans la région.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.