Loading
Home // Saskatchewan // Cultural Heritage // Government House
back

Government House

If there’s one place you must visit to learn about the Province of Saskatchewan from the ground up, it’s Government House!

Explore the treasures of the House in the Amédée Forget Museum, discover the past and the province’s legacy in the J.E.N. Wiebe Interpretative Centre, enjoy the rotating exhibitions, and wander around through century-old gardens.

Family activities such as treasure hunts and plays help you fully take in the different parts of Government House. If you have the time, why not picnic or have tea in the garden?

Schools are welcome year-round, and the House has entertaining educational programs designed for both elementary and high school students. Government House was built in 1891 and served as the residence of the Lieutenant Governor until 1945.

The museum opened in 1980 after extensive work. The Lieutenant Governor resumed residence in the House in 1984, in the north wing. The Government House Foundation ensures the sites remain true to Saskatchewan’s social and historical richness.

Gallery

Additional information

French services upon request

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Saskatchewan // Patrimoine culturel // Government House
retour

Government House

S’il y a un endroit que vous devez visiter afin de connaître la province de la Saskatchewan de fond en comble, c’est bien »Government House » !

Explorez les trésors de la Maison dans le Musée Amédée Forget, découvrez le passé et l’héritage de la province dans le centre d’interprétation J.E.N. Wiebe, profitez des expositions ponctuelles et promenez-vous dans des jardins centenaires qui vous feront voyager illico.

De nombreuses activités familiales, telles que des chasses au trésor ou des pièces de théâtre, vous sont aussi offertes afin de bien absorber le contenu des différentes parties de l’édifice. Si le temps le permet, pourquoi ne pas pique-niquer ou boire le thé dans le jardin?

Les écoles sont également les bienvenues douze mois par année; des programmes éducatifs et divertissants sont conçus pour les élèves du primaire et du secondaire. »Government House » a été construite en 1891 et a servi de résidence au lieutenant-gouverneur provincial jusqu’en 1945.

Après d’importants travaux, le musée a ouvert ses portes en 1980. Le lieutenant-gouverneur y habite à nouveau depuis 1984, dans la section nord.

La Fondation de »Government House » s’assure enfin que les lieux demeurent fidèles à la richesse sociale et historique de la Saskatchewan!

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français sur demande

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.