Loading
Home // Ontario // Cultural Heritage // The Vanier Museopark: Preserving and celebrating Ottawa’s Francophone heritage
back

The Vanier Museopark: Preserving and celebrating Ottawa’s Francophone heritage

The Vanier Museopark is the only Francophone museum in Canada’s national capital. Located in the French quarter of the city, it was created by residents and former elected officials of Vanier—a separate city until 2001—who wanted to promote the history of what many have described as a Francophone bastion in Ontario, where the Ordre de Jacques-Cartier secret society was formed to defend the interests of French Canadians. The Vanier Museopark offers physical and online exhibitions on the city’s and province’s Francophones, as well as talks, workshops and interpretative tours so visitors can discover the Francophone history and heritage of the surrounding area. It is also responsible for the activities of the sugar shack inherited from the Society of the Missionaries of Africa, also known as the White Fathers, who owned Richelieu Park and its sugar bush, where the Museopark is located.

 

To learn more…

The Museopark’s exhibitions and interpretive tours

MVM.2010.P.0132.0001-300x205 -  - The Vanier Museopark: Preserving and celebrating Ottawa’s Francophone heritage
White Fathers’ Scholasticate in August 1977, soon before the main building was demolished

In October 2006, the Vanier Museopark opened its first permanent exhibition covering 400 years of history, from the First Nations to today, including the French explorers, the fur trade and the numerous educational institutions established in Vanier by religious communities. This first exhibition was replaced by another, focused more specifically on the history of Vanier since the mid-19th century: the arrival of the first colonists, economic life, politics, the defence of Francophone culture and current changes in the community, which is losing some of its Francophone population and becoming more diverse. Temporary exhibitions also address themes such as Franco-Ontarians past and present, and the Francophone community in Ottawa.

GC-Zouaves-21-300x240 -  - The Vanier Museopark: Preserving and celebrating Ottawa’s Francophone heritage
Papal Zouaves 39th Company, Saint-Charles Parish, at a ceremony in front of the White Fathers’ Scholasticate in Vanier

The Museopark offers four urban tours in which visitors can learn about Vanier’s heritage and its key Francophone historical sites. On the Richelieu Park tour, patrons visit the once swampy land that the White Fathers transformed into a magnificant park. Another tour follows Beechwood Avenue, home to Église Saint-Charles built in 1908, which consolidated the Francophone settlement. It is in this church’s rectory that the Ordre de Jacques-Cartier was formed. Yet another tour explores Montreal Road, built in 1869. Montreal Road was the first road from the Rideau River through the heart of the district, and now leads to the only fully Francophone hospital in Ontario, Hôpital Montfort, which remains open after Franco-Ontarians mobilized to keep it from closing in 1997.

The public talks, CreActivity Club workshops for children and Eastview breakfasts (Vanier used to be known as Eastview) are extremely popular. Once a month, people who grew up in the neighbourhood are invited to share their stories about sports, commerce, taverns, the corruption of a memorable priest or parish rivalries. These conversations are recorded, and this invaluable intangible heritage will be used to create new exhibitions. The Museopark is currently preparing for the future promotion of the past.

The Vanier district: A tenacious Francophone centre

MVM-D-chemin_montreal-300x197 -  - The Vanier Museopark: Preserving and celebrating Ottawa’s Francophone heritage
Montreal Road looking east, with Notre Dame Cemetery and Our Lady of Lourdes church

In 1836, when the first bridge went up across the Rideau River, the mostly Francophone inhabitants of Lower Town (then Bytown), began settling in what would become the Vanier district of Ottawa. In 1887, male and female religious orders began settling there, offering religious, educational and health and social services in French, which would partially make up for the restrictions imposed on the French language in Ontario, in particular Regulation 17 in 1912, which prohibited teaching in French.

In 1926, the creation of the Ordre de Jacques-Cartier secret society was spearheaded by Father François-Xavier Barrette and French Canadian public servants, who wished to ensure the common good of French Canadian Catholics through the creation of a radical elite. The society would spread across Canada from Eastview, which would eventually become Vanier.

MusÇoParc-Vanier-068-300x199 -  - The Vanier Museopark: Preserving and celebrating Ottawa’s Francophone heritage
La cabane à sucre dans le Parc Richelieu

In 1969, when Eastview changed its name to Vanier in honour of Georges-Philias Vanier, the first French Canadian Governor-General of Canada, more than 60% of the city’s 20,000 residents were Francophone. The 1971 census put the proportion of Francophones in Vanier at 67%, and the 1991 census, at 55%. In 2001, the last year for which there are official statistics before Vanier merged with Ottawa, 49% of the population spoke French as a first language. Although there has been a decline in the proportion of Francophones, Vanier is still an important Francophone centre in Ottawa and in Ontario. Recent studies indicate that the increasingly mobile Francophone population continues to leave Vanier to settle in other districts. Ottawa has a proportionately larger Francophone population than any major city in Canada outside Quebec and New Brunswick, with 16.6% of its 980,275 inhabitants speaking French as a first language, according to the 2016 census.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Ontario // Patrimoine culturel // Le Muséoparc Vanier, préserver et célébrer le patrimoine francophone à Ottawa
retour

Le Muséoparc Vanier, préserver et célébrer le patrimoine francophone à Ottawa

Le Muséoparc Vanier est le seul musée francophone dans la capitale nationale du Canada. Situé dans un quartier très francophone de la ville, il est né de la volonté de résidents et d’anciens élus de la municipalité de Vanier, qui était indépendante d’Ottawa jusqu’en 2001, de mettre en valeur l’histoire de ce que plusieurs ont décrit comme un bastion francophone en Ontario, où la société secrète de l’Ordre de Jacques-Cartier a notamment vu le jour pour défendre les intérêts des Canadiens français. Le Muséoparc Vanier propose des expositions physiques et virtuelles sur le fait français municipal et provincial, des causeries, des ateliers et des circuits d’interprétation pour découvrir l’histoire et le patrimoine francophones du quartier environnant. Il est également responsable des activités de la cabane à sucre héritée de la Société des Missionnaires d’Afrique (les Pères Blancs), les anciens propriétaires du parc Richelieu, et de son érablière, au milieu desquels se trouve le Muséoparc.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Les expositions et les circuits d’interprétation du Muséoparc

MVM.2010.P.0132.0001-300x205 -  - Le Muséoparc Vanier, préserver et célébrer le patrimoine francophone à Ottawa
Photo du scolasticat des Pères Blancs en août 1977, juste avant la démolition du bâtiment principal.

En octobre 2006, le Muséoparc Vanier inaugure sa première exposition permanente qui couvre 400 ans d’histoire, de l’époque des Premières Nations jusqu’aux enjeux actuels, en passant par les explorateurs français, les voyageurs de la traite des fourrures et les nombreuses institutions d’enseignement que les religieux et religieuses ont établi à Vanier. Cette première exposition a cédé la place à une nouvelle qui cible plus précisément l’histoire de Vanier depuis le milieu du 19e siècle : l’arrivée des premiers colons, la vie économique, la politique, la défense de la francophonie et les changements actuels dans le quartier, qui perd une partie de sa population francophone et se diversifie. Des expositions temporaires abordent aussi des thèmes comme la francophonie ontarienne d’hier à aujourd’hui, ou la communauté francophone de la ville d’Ottawa.

GC-Zouaves-21-300x240 -  - Le Muséoparc Vanier, préserver et célébrer le patrimoine francophone à Ottawa
Les zouaves de la 39e compagnie de zouaves pontificaux, paroisse Saint-Charles, lors d’une cérémonie devant le scolasticat des Pères Blancs à Vanier

Le Muséoparc propose quatre circuits urbains qui permettent de prendre connaissance du patrimoine et des principaux lieux de mémoire francophones de Vanier. Que ce soit le parcours du parc Richelieu, ce terrain autrefois marécageux que les Pères Blancs ont transformé en un magnifique parc, ou un autre qui suit l’avenue Beechwood où se trouve l’église Saint-Charles construite en 1908, qui a favorisé l’enracinement de la population francophone – c’est d’ailleurs dans le presbytère de cette église qu’est né l’Ordre des Commandeurs de Jacques-Cartier. Un autre circuit explore le chemin de Montréal, le premier à  traverser le quartier à partir de la rivière Rideau en 1869, qui mène aujourd’hui au seul hôpital entièrement francophone en Ontario, l’hôpital Montfort, dont une forte mobilisation populaire franco-ontarienne a évité la fermeture en 1997.

En plus des causeries publiques et des ateliers du Club Créactivité qui sont destinés aux enfants, l’activité des déjeuners d’Eastview – l’ancien nom de Vanier – est d’un grand intérêt. Une fois par mois, les personnes qui ont grandi dans le quartier sont invitées à raconter ce qu’elles ont vécu sur des thèmes variables comme le sport, le commerce, les tavernes, les turpitudes d’un curé mémorable ou les rivalités entre les paroisses. Ces conversations sont enregistrées et serviront à monter de nouvelles expositions tirant profit de ce précieux patrimoine immatériel. Le Muséoparc prépare ainsi l’avenir de la mise en valeur du passé.

Le quartier Vanier, un centre francophone tenace

MVM-D-chemin_montreal-300x197 -  - Le Muséoparc Vanier, préserver et célébrer le patrimoine francophone à Ottawa
Le chemin de Montréal vu de l’ouest. On y voit le cimetière Notre-Dame et l’église Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes.

En 1836, lorsqu’un premier pont enjambe la rivière Rideau, les habitants majoritairement francophones de la basse-ville d’Ottawa (alors Bytown) commencent à peupler le futur quartier Vanier. À partir de 1887, des congrégations religieuses masculines et féminines s’y établissent et y développent des services religieux, d’éducation, de santé et d’assistance sociale en français, qui vont contrebalancer en partie les mesures de rétorsion de la langue française mises en place en Ontario, notamment le règlement 17 promulgué en 1912 qui interdit l’enseignement en français.

En 1926, la société secrète des Commandeurs de l’Ordre de Jacques-Cartier voit le jour à l’initiative du curé François-Xavier Barrette et de fonctionnaires canadiens-français qui se donnent pour mandat « d’assurer le bien commun des catholiques de langue française au Canada par la formation d’une élite militante ». Cette société rayonnera à travers le Canada à partir d’Eastview, la future ville de Vanier.

MusÇoParc-Vanier-068-300x199 -  - Le Muséoparc Vanier, préserver et célébrer le patrimoine francophone à Ottawa
La cabane à sucre dans le Parc Richelieu

En 1969, quand Eastview prend le nom de Vanier en l’honneur de Georges-Philias Vanier, le premier gouverneur général du Canada d’origine canadienne-française, plus de 60 % des 20 000 résidents de la ville sont francophones. En 1971, le recensement dénombre 67 % de francophones à Vanier et celui de 1991, 55 %. En 2001, la dernière année pour laquelle il existe des statistiques officielles avant la fusion de Vanier avec la ville d’Ottawa, 49 % de la population avait le français comme première langue parlée. Bien qu’on constate un déclin, Vanier demeure un important centre francophone à Ottawa et même en Ontario. Les études récentes indiquent que la population francophone de plus en plus mobile continue de délaisser Vanier pour habiter dans d’autres quartiers. Ottawa est la grande ville canadienne abritant la plus forte proportion de francophones à l’extérieur du Québec et du Nouveau-Brunswick, avec 16,6 % de ses 980 275 habitants qui ont le français comme première langue parlée, selon le recensement de 2016.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.