Loading
Home // Nova Scotia // Heritage Sites // Port Royal, founding place of Acadia
back

Port Royal, founding place of Acadia

The reconstruction of the French pioneer “habitation” in Port-Royal, originally built in 1605 by the founders of Acadia, near Annapolis Royal in Nova Scotia, marks a turning point in heritage preservation in Canada. Planned in the 1920s and carried out in the 1930s, this restoration project would serve as a model for many others. In the Port-Royal Habitation, designated a National Historic Site in 1923, visitors can explore the compound designed by Champlain, painstakingly recreated using early 17thcentury building techniques, with period furnishings and interpretive information based on solid historical research. Visitors get a sense of what daily life was like for the hundred or so French colonists who lived there between 1605 and 1613 and the close ties they forged with their Mi’kmaq allies.

 

Learn more…

A visit to the Port-Royal Habitation

e010764738-v8-300x235 -  - Port Royal, founding place of Acadia
Map of Port Royal, 1613, from Les voyages du sieur de Champlain

On entering this quadrangle of buildings surrounding an inner courtyard (much like the fortified farms of the same period), visitors step into a historic site of great importance. They see how French pioneers in North America lived in the early 17thcentury and the building techniques they used. They can learn more about the daily life of these hardy colonists by chatting with the costumed interpreters and touring the various buildings and rooms: the kitchen and dining room, the bakery, the gentlemen’s quarters, the carpentry shop, the apothecary, the forge and the trading room where furs and other goods were stored. They also have an opportunity to try out certain tools and sample food similar to what the pioneers ate. This collection of tangible and intangible heritage—replica tools, furnishings, weapons and clothing, authentic reconstructions, herbal medicines and knowledge passed on by the Mi’kmaq to the French—gives visitors a truly unique, immersive experience.

An inspiring model for heritage preservation and promotion

200901772-300x232 -  - Port Royal, founding place of Acadia
Port Royal houses, 1941

In 1924, after the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada had erected a commemorative plaque on what was thought to be the site of the habitation, the year following its designation as a historic site, Harriette T. Richardson, an American who summered in the area, submitted to the Historical Association of Annapolis Royal a plan to rebuild the habitation and a fund-raising campaign. The project slowly made its way to Ottawa, where the Canadian Parks Service eventually got hold of it and started the ball rolling in 1938. The Service acquired the necessary land and supervised what was its first historic reconstruction project, for the purpose of tourism development and job creation.

Port-Royal-habitation-Champlain-1605-300x223 -  - Port Royal, founding place of Acadia
Port Royal dwellings, 1605, from Les voyages du Sieur de Champlain (The Travels of Sieur de Champlain) (Paris, 1613)

Canadian artist Charles W. Jeffreys, best known as a historical illustrator, played a key role in ensuring the project’s historical credibility by conducting extensive research and drawing up meticulous plans from Champlain’s original sketches. The construction was carried out by a team of local craftsmen who still used the same building methods, numbering as many as there were in 1605. Heirloom seeds were even imported from France to make the gardens as authentic as possible, and replicas of 17thcentury furniture and other items were commissioned.

So the Port-Royal Habitation became a sort of school as well as a model for the preservation and promotion of Canadian heritage and history. No longer was it simply a question of erecting commemorative plaques and monuments; instead, the public now had access to on-site experiences and well-researched interpretive programs.

Port Royal, seat of Acadia

Although the first habitation at Port Royal was destroyed by Englishman Samuel Argall in 1613 and not rebuilt until modern times, the Acadians continued to live in the area, near the bay at the mouth of the Annapolis River. Their community also retained the same name: Port Royal. Because the French administrators and soldiers lived there, Port Royal was essentially the capital of Acadia, even though the population was more numerous and more prosperous to the east, in the area of Minas Basin and Grand-Pré. It was also near Port Royal in the 1630s that aboiteau farming began, a method of stopping high tides from inundating the fertile salt marshes of the Bay of Fundy, which the Acadians managed to reclaim and successfully cultivate until the Deportation of 1755.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Nouvelle-Écosse // Sites patrimoniaux // Port-Royal, lieu fondateur de l’Acadie
retour

Port-Royal, lieu fondateur de l’Acadie

La reconstitution de l’Habitation française pionnière de Port-Royal, construite en 1605 par les fondateurs de l’Acadie, près d’Annapolis Royal, en Nouvelle-Écosse, marque un tournant dans la mise en valeur du patrimoine historique au Canada. Ce projet, conçu dans les années 1920 et réalisé dans les années 1930, servira de modèle à plusieurs autres de même nature. Dans l’Habitation de Port-Royal, désignée lieu historique national du Canada en 1923, les visiteurs découvrent l’habitation qu’a dessinée Champlain, reconstruite avec minutie dans le respect des techniques de l’époque, meublée et animée sur la base de solides recherches historiques. Les visiteurs prennent ainsi connaissance du mode de vie de la centaine de Français qui l’ont habitée de 1605 à 1613 et des excellentes relations qu’ils ont nouées avec leurs alliés micmacs.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Une visite à l’Habitation de Port-Royal

e010764738-v8-300x235 -  - Port-Royal, lieu fondateur de l’Acadie
Carte de Port-Royal, 1613, tiré de Les voyages du Sieur de Champlain (Paris, 1613)

En pénétrant dans cet ensemble de bâtiments formant un quadrilatère autour d’une cour intérieure, sur le modèle des fermes fortifiées de l’époque, le visiteur accède à un lieu historique de grande importance. Il découvre le mode d’habitation des pionniers français du début du 17e siècle en terre d’Amérique et les techniques de construction qu’ils ont utilisées. En conversant avec les guides-animateurs en costumes d’époque et en parcourant les pièces de l’Habitation – la cuisine et la salle à manger, la boulangerie, les chambres des gentilshommes, l’atelier de menuiserie, celui de l’apothicaire, la forge ou l’entrepôt où s’entassaient les fourrures et les marchandises de traite –, le visiteur en apprend davantage sur les activités quotidiennes de cette poignée d’hommes hardis. Il peut aussi faire l’expérience de certains outils et goûter la nourriture inspirée de celle que mangeaient ces pionniers. Tout ce patrimoine – répliques d’outils et de meubles, d’armes et de costumes, reconstitution fidèle du bâtiment, médicaments à base de plantes et connaissances transmises par les Amérindiens de la nation micmaque aux Français – contribue à plonger les visiteurs dans une expérience immersive unique.

Un inspirant modèle de mise en valeur

200901772-300x232 -  - Port-Royal, lieu fondateur de l’Acadie
Habitation de Port-Royal en 1941

Après que la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada a apposé une plaque commémorative sur les lieux probables de l’Habitation, l’année suivant sa désignation en tant que lieu historique, c’est-à-dire en 1924, l’Américaine Harriette T. Richardson, qui passe ses étés dans la région, approche l’Historical Association of Annapolis Royal pour lui présenter son projet de reconstitution et mettre sur pied une campagne de financement. Le projet chemine ensuite lentement à Ottawa jusqu’à ce que le Service canadien des parcs emboîte le pas en 1938. Il acquiert alors le terrain nécessaire et supervise pour la première fois ce projet de reconstitution historique, dans une perspective de développement de l’industrie touristique et de création d’emplois.

Port-Royal-habitation-Champlain-1605-300x223 -  - Port-Royal, lieu fondateur de l’Acadie
L’habitation de Port-Royal en 1605, tiré de Les voyages du Sieur de Champlain (Paris, 1613)

Un artiste canadien spécialisé dans l’illustration de l’histoire du Canada, Charles W. Jeffreys, joue un rôle clé dans la crédibilité historique du projet grâce aux nombreuses recherches qu’il effectue et aux plans qu’il trace avec rigueur à partir du dessin de Champlain. Les artisans de la région, en nombre égal à ceux de 1605, maîtrisent encore les techniques traditionnelles et réalisent les travaux de construction. On importe même des semences patrimoniales de France pour reconstituer le plus fidèlement possible les jardins et on commande des répliques de meubles et d’objets authentiques du 17e siècle.

L’Habitation de Port-Royal devient ainsi une école et un modèle de mise en valeur de l’histoire et du patrimoine au Canada, qui dépasse de loin la pose de plaques commémoratives et l’érection de monuments afin de proposer au public des expériences in situ et des programmes d’interprétation étoffés.

Port-Royal, chef-lieu de l’Acadie

Bien que la première Habitation construite à Port-Royal ait été détruite par l’Anglais Samuel Argall en 1613 et qu’elle ne fut pas reconstruite à cette époque, les Acadiens sont tout de même demeurés presque en permanence dans la baie que forme l’embouchure de la rivière Annapolis à cet endroit. Leur établissement a également conservé le même nom : Port-Royal. Comme l’administration et les soldats français y résidaient, Port-Royal était la capitale de l’Acadie, même si la population était plus nombreuse et plus prospère plus à l’est, dans le bassin des Mines, dans la région de Grand-Pré. C’est aussi dans la région de Port-Royal que les premiers aboiteaux ont été construits dans les années 1630, un système d’assèchement des estrans salés très fertiles de la baie de Fundy, que les Acadiens vont conquérir sur la mer et cultiver avec grand profit jusqu’à la Déportation de 1755.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.