Loading
Home // Manitoba // Cultural Heritage // St. Norbert, an attractive Francophone suburb of Winnipeg
back

St. Norbert, an attractive Francophone suburb of Winnipeg

St. Norbert reveals several facets of the history of Manitoba. In this neighbourhood, where the majority of residents are Francophones of Métis origin, the La Barrière monument marks the place where the Métis, led by Louis Riel, organized the resistance that led Manitoba to join the Canadian Confederation. Historical residences, among the oldest in the province, provide visitors with a glimpse of the lifestyle led by the Manitoban pioneers. In addition, a large, beautifully designed building constructed by the Trappist monks in the 1910s today houses the Arts Centre. As for the well-known St. Norbert Market, agricultural producers gather there twice a week to sell their fresh and cooked products. St. Norbert has much to offer visitors.

 

To learn more…

Showcasing history and heritage

n125-300x214 -  - St. Norbert, an attractive Francophone suburb of Winnipeg
St. Norbert farm

Community groups supported by the municipal, provincial and federal governments have banded together to showcase Métis and Francophone heritage at St. Norbert. In the provincial parks that highlight the heritage of St. Norbert and the Trappist Monastery, including Place Saint-Norbert, historical buildings constructed between 1871 and 1895 have been restored and developed into interpretation centres that are open to visitors. The interpretative signs on St. Norbert’s heritage trails also tell the story of local buildings, like the chapel of Notre-Dame-du-Bon-Secours, dating from 1875, or the complex that the Trappist monks started building in 1892: a hotel converted to an arts centre and the vestiges of a church and residence that were partially destroyed by fire in 1983. Both are recognized as heritage sites of Canada.

The “other fork” of the Red and La Salle Rivers

Sixteen kilometers south of the confluence of the Red and Assiniboine Rivers, where the city of Winnipeg originated, the confluence of the Red and La Salle Rivers was also an occasional gathering place for the Assiniboine, Cree and Ojibway nations. With the development of the fur trade in the 18th century, it was the Métis nation—which arose from marriages between the French voyageurs and Indigenous women—that first colonized the region of St. Norbert in 1822. In addition to transporting furs and merchandise and engaging in commerce, the Métis cultivated these lands, which were divided according to the French method, into long river lots perpendicular to the waterway, so that every landowner would have access to the river.

When the Hudson’s Bay Company ceded its immense private territory to Canada in 1869, including St. Norbert, the verbal agreement that granted the Métis ownership of these lands was not recognized right away by Canada.

From Métis merchants to French-Canadian farmers

20e_-_parc_st-norbert_03_2-300x225 -  - St. Norbert, an attractive Francophone suburb of Winnipeg
St. Norbert Park

At St. Norbert on October 16, 1869, the Métis, led by Louis Riel, erected a barricade to prevent the newly appointed lieutenant governor of the Northwest Territories, William McDougall—who was hostile to the Métis—from taking possession of the territory on behalf of the Canadian government and thereby dispossessing them. Over time, this Métis movement, established to claim their rights and oppose the new surveying of the lands, evolved, became organized and soon formed the provisional government of Manitoba, led by Riel. In July 1870, this government was officially admitted into Canadian Confederation.

In the middle of this crisis, Riel sent to Ottawa Noël Ritchot, the parish priest of St. Norbert, and two other emissaries to negotiate the entry of Manitoba into Confederation. To thank the Virgin Mary for allowing a peaceful resolution to the conflict between the Métis and the Government of Canada, Abbé Ritchot had the little chapel of Notre-Dame-du-Bon-Secours constructed.

st_norbert_market-300x300 -  - St. Norbert, an attractive Francophone suburb of Winnipeg
St. Norbert Farmers’ Market

But the victory of the Métis was short-lived. The population of Ontario, which was Anglophone and Protestant, was powerfully attached to British culture and values. It pressured the Canadian government to reject the Métis provisional government as soon as news reached Ottawa that an Irish Catholic fanatic who had taken part in an attempt to overthrow the Métis government had been condemned to death and executed. There was armed repression, followed by all kinds of pressure exercised on the Francophone Catholic Métis population of Manitoba, to such an extent that many of them left the region in the 1870s, after Louis Riel and Ambroise Lépine went into exile.

Between this time and the early 20th century, French Canadians from Quebec, mostly farmers, gradually replaced the Métis at St. Norbert until they formed the majority of the population.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Manitoba // Patrimoine culturel // Saint-Norbert, une invitante banlieue francophone de Winnipeg
retour

Saint-Norbert, une invitante banlieue francophone de Winnipeg

On trouve à Saint-Norbert plusieurs facettes de l’histoire du Manitoba. Dans ce quartier majoritairement francophone d’origine métisse, le monument La Barrière rappelle que les Métis dirigés par Louis Riel ont organisé ici la résistance menant à l’entrée du Manitoba dans la Confédération canadienne. Des résidences historiques parmi les plus vieilles de la province présentent aux visiteurs la vie que menaient les pionniers manitobains. De plus, un grand bâtiment à l’architecture remarquable construit par les moines trappistes dans les années 1910 abrite aujourd’hui le Centre des arts. Quant au réputé Marché Saint-Norbert, les producteurs agricoles s’y réunissent deux fois la semaine pour vendre leurs produits frais et cuisinés. Saint-Norbert a beaucoup à offrir aux visiteurs.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Mettre en valeur l’histoire et le patrimoine

n125-300x214 -  - Saint-Norbert, une invitante banlieue francophone de Winnipeg
Ferme de Saint-Norbert

Des groupes communautaires appuyés par les gouvernements municipal, provincial et fédéral ont uni leurs efforts pour mettre en valeur le patrimoine métis et francophone à Saint-Norbert. Dans les parcs provinciaux du patrimoine de Saint-Norbert et du Monastère des Trappistes, ainsi que sur la place Saint-Norbert, des bâtiments historiques construits entre 1871 et 1895 ont été transportés, restaurés et aménagés en centres d’interprétation ouverts aux visiteurs. Les panneaux d’interprétation des sentiers du patrimoine de Saint-Norbert racontent aussi l’histoire de bâtiments locaux, comme la chapelle Notre-Dame-du-Bon-Secours datant de 1875, ou l’ensemble des moines trappistes érigé à partir de 1892 : l’hôtellerie convertie en Centre des arts et les vestiges de l’église et de la résidence qu’un incendie a partiellement détruites en 1983, tous deux reconnus lieux patrimoniaux du Canada.

L’« autre fourche » au confluent des rivières Rouge et La Salle

À 16 kilomètres au sud du confluent des rivières Rouge et Assiniboine, où la ville de Winnipeg a pris naissance, le confluent des rivières Rouge et La Salle était aussi un lieu de rendez-vous occasionnels des nations autochtones assiniboine, crie et ojibwée. Avec le développement de la traite des fourrures au 18e siècle, c’est la nation métisse issue des mariages entre les voyageurs français et les femmes autochtones qui a colonisé pour la première fois la région de Saint-Norbert à partir de 1822. En plus de participer au transport de fourrures et de marchandises et de faire du commerce, les Métis cultivaient ces terres divisées selon la méthode française, en longs « lots de rivière » perpendiculaires au cours d’eau, pour que chacun ait accès à la rivière.

Lorsque la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson céda son immense territoire privé au Canada en 1869, incluant Saint-Norbert, l’entente verbale qui accordait aux Métis la propriété de ces terres ne fut pas reconnue tout de suite par le Canada.

Des commerçants métis aux agriculteurs canadiens-français

20e_-_parc_st-norbert_03_2-300x225 -  - Saint-Norbert, une invitante banlieue francophone de Winnipeg
Parc Saint-Norbert

À Saint-Norbert, le 16 octobre 1869, les Métis dirigés par Louis Riel érigent une barricade afin d’empêcher le lieutenant-gouverneur des Territoires du Nord-Ouest nouvellement nommé, William McDougall – hostile aux Métis –, de prendre possession du territoire au nom du gouvernement canadien et, ainsi, de les déposséder. Ce mouvement de revendication des droits des Métis et d’opposition au nouvel arpentage de ces terres évolue, s’organise et forme bientôt le gouvernement provisoire du Manitoba, dirigé par Riel. En juillet 1870, ce gouvernement est officiellement admis dans la Confédération canadienne.

Au cœur de cette crise, Riel avait envoyé à Ottawa le curé de Saint-Norbert, Noël Ritchot, et deux autres émissaires pour négocier l’entrée du Manitoba dans la Confédération. Pour remercier la Vierge Marie d’avoir permis la résolution pacifique du conflit entre les Métis et le gouvernement du Canada, l’abbé Ritchot a fait ériger la petite chapelle Notre-Dame-du-Bon-Secours.

st_norbert_market-300x300 -  - Saint-Norbert, une invitante banlieue francophone de Winnipeg
Le marché de Saint-Norbert

Mais la victoire des Métis fut de courte durée. La population de l’Ontario, anglophone et protestante, était puissamment attachée aux valeurs et à la culture britanniques. Elle a poussé le gouvernement du Canada à rejeter le gouvernement provisoire métis dès qu’est parvenue à Ottawa la nouvelle qu’un fanatique irlandais anticatholique, qui avait participé à une tentative de renversement du gouvernement métis, avait été condamné à mort et exécuté. Une répression armée, puis des pressions de toutes sortes sont par la suite exercées sur la population métisse francophone catholique du Manitoba. Au point qu’un grand nombre d’entre eux quittent la région dans les années 1870, après que Louis Riel et Ambroise Lépine eurent été exilés.

Dès cette époque, et jusqu’au début du 20e siècle, des Canadiens français venus du Québec, pour la plupart agriculteurs, remplaceront progressivement les Métis à Saint-Norbert, jusqu’à former la majorité de la population.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.