Loading
Home // Newfoundland and Labrador // Community portraits // St. John’s, Newfoundland’s capital and the centre of the island’s Francophone community
back

St. John’s, Newfoundland’s capital and the centre of the island’s Francophone community

Located in the northeast of the Avalon Peninsula, St. John’s is the capital of the province of Newfoundland and Labrador. It was so named because it is said that the Venetian explorer Giovanni Caboto (John Cabot for the English and Jean Cabot for the French) set foot there on Saint‑Jean-Baptiste Day in 1497! This anecdote is a reminder that the area was one of the first sites Europeans arrived at in the Americas. Today, St. John’s has the largest concentration of Francophones in all of Newfoundland and Labrador. While the situation of this small minority community (less than 0.4% of the province’s population) is still a cause for concern, its members demonstrate amazing vitality, with French-language community organizations, media and events. It is particularly active in St. John’s.

 

Learn more…

Discover Newfoundland’s capital

1278887556_39af1778f9_o-300x184 -  - St. John’s, Newfoundland’s capital and the centre of the island’s Francophone community
View of St. John’s from The Rooms

The colourful downtown of St. John’s has to be explored on foot. It dates back to 1892, after a fire ravaged the city and destroyed 2,000 buildings. As it was rebuilt, new architectural styles were introduced, including Neo‑Gothic, Queen Anne and Second Empire. The Colonial Building, the Roman Catholic Basilica and the Anglican Cathedral are remarkable. Local craft boutiques and bars in a variety of vibrant colours brighten the streets, often brought to life by the sounds of Irish music.

For more than 40 years, the Newfoundland & Labrador Folk Festival has marked the end of the summer. Held in Bannerman Park, it features a range of Francophone, Francophile and Anglophone artists in happy musical harmony.

The Festival du Vent is another great showcase for local Francophone culture. Each fall, the entire St. John’s region is invited to the Centre scolaire et communautaire des Grands-Vents to attend French-language musical, circus and theatrical performances, and a chance to admire the works of local visual artists.

A turbulent past

e000756945-300x199 -  - St. John’s, Newfoundland’s capital and the centre of the island’s Francophone community
Entrance to Saint John’s, Newfoundland as seen from Fort Townsend (August 1, 1824)

The island of Newfoundland was one of the first places visited and then settled by Europeans. Its early days were marked by rivalry between the two nations that lived there: the English, in the north, who had chosen St. John’s as Newfoundland’s capital, and the French, in the south, who had made Placentia their stronghold in Newfoundland.

Despite occasional conflicts (including the near-total destruction of St. John’s by Pierre Le Moyne d’Iberville in 1696), they continued to live side by side until the Treaty of Utrecht of 1713. The island then became completely British, with the exception of one long section of coast named the French Shore, where the French kept fishing rights during the summer. A few pockets of Francophones also remained in remote areas, particularly on the southwestern shore of the island. Those Francophones saw themselves as “survivors” given the large Anglophone majority that surrounded them, and this is still a part of the Franco-Newfoundlander identity.

Roughly 700 Francophones from various backgrounds live in St. John’s today: Franco‑Newfoundlanders, Quebecers, Acadians, Saint-Pierrais, French, and Africans. They are mainly professionals, public servants and academics. There are also a few hundred Francophile Anglophones that actively contribute to preserving the memory and vitality of the French presence in Newfoundland by participating in artistic and cultural activities held in St. John’s.

Conserving and nurturing Francophone heritage

Various organizations ensure the continued existence of the French in the capital. Established in 1973, the Association communautaire francophone de Saint‑Jean organizes reading groups, French courses, storytime for pre-schoolers, and French-language movie screenings. For a number of years, it has also organized Franco Fest, a festival celebrating the Francophone music, theatre, visual arts and traditional cuisine of the Avalon Peninsula.

Founded in 1984, the bimonthly newspaper Le Gaboteur, the province’s only Francophone print medium, covers local, national and international news. Le Teatro has been offering French-language theatre programming for young audiences since 2000. The Francophones of Newfoundland-and-Labrador web portal provides a wide variety information, including a directory of health resources, an inventory, of French-speaking artists and access to Rafale, a Francophone online radio resource.

Since 2004, the Centre scolaire etcommunautaire des Grands-Vents has been a living space, a grouping of associations and a Francophone educational institution attended by students from kindergarten to Grade 12. Also in the educational vein, Memorial University offers French‑language programming for teachers who want to improve their knowledge of the French language, literature and culture. The campus also has a Centre d’études franco-terre-neuviennes, whose collection of archives preserves the findings of ethnographic research and the Francophone oral memory of the province.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador // Portraits de communautés // St. John’s, capitale terre-neuvienne et centre de la communauté francophone de l’île
retour

St. John’s, capitale terre-neuvienne et centre de la communauté francophone de l’île

Située au nord-est de la péninsule d’Avalon, St. John’s (Saint-Jean) est la capitale de la province de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. L’endroit aurait été baptisé ainsi parce que l’explorateur vénitien Giovanni Caboto (John Cabot pour les Anglais, Jean Cabot pour les Français) y serait arrivé le jour de la Saint-Jean-Baptiste en 1497 ! Cette anecdote rappelle que cette zone a été parmi les premières à accueillir une présence européenne dans les Amériques. St. John’s est aujourd’hui la localité où l’on trouve la plus grande concentration de francophones dans la province de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Si la situation de cette communauté fortement minoritaire (0,6 % de la population provinciale) demeure préoccupante, ses membres font preuve d’un étonnant dynamisme, avec leurs organismes communautaires, leurs médias et leurs divers événements en français. Elle est particulièrement active à St. John’s.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Découvrir la capitale terre-neuvienne

1278887556_39af1778f9_o-300x184 -  - St. John’s, capitale terre-neuvienne et centre de la communauté francophone de l’île
St. John’s, vue des Rooms

C’est à pied qu’il faut parcourir le centre-ville coloré de St. John’s. Son tracé remonte à 1892, après qu’un brasier eut ravagé la ville et détruit 2000 édifices. La reconstruction a permis d’intégrer de nouveaux styles architecturaux, dont le néogothique, le Queen Anne et le Second Empire. L’édifice Colonial, la basilique catholique romaine et la cathédrale anglicane sont remarquables. Des boutiques d’artisanat local et des bars aux couleurs vives et variées égaient ces rues souvent animées par le son de musiques irlandaises.

Depuis plus de 40 ans, le Festival Folk de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador anime la fin de la saison estivale. L’événement, qui se tient au parc Bannerman, place sous les projecteurs une variété d’artistes francophones, francophiles et anglophones, en une heureuse communion musicale.

Le Festival du Vent offre une autre belle occasion de mettre en valeur la culture francophone locale. Chaque automne, toute la région de St. John’s est conviée au centre scolaire et communautaire des Grands-Vents pour assister aux spectacles musicaux, de cirque ou de théâtre en français, en plus d’y admirer les œuvres d’artistes visuels locaux.

Une histoire mouvementée

e000756945-300x199 -  - St. John’s, capitale terre-neuvienne et centre de la communauté francophone de l’île
L’entrée de St. John’s, Terre-Neuve, vue depuis le fort Townsend, 1 août 1824

L’île de Terre-Neuve a été l’un des premiers lieux visités puis colonisés par des populations venues d’Europe. Les débuts de son histoire ont été marqués par la rivalité entre les deux nations qui y cohabitaient : les Anglais, au nord, qui avaient choisi Saint John’s comme capitale du Newfoundland, et les Français, au sud, qui avaient fait de Plaisance leur place forte à Terre-Neuve…

Malgré des conflits ponctuels (dont la destruction quasi totale de St. John’s par Pierre Le Moyne d’Iberville en 1696), cette cohabitation s’est poursuivie jusqu’au traité d’Utrecht de 1713. L’île est alors devenue totalement britannique, à l’exception d’une longue section de côte nommée la French Shore où les Français conservent un droit de pêche pendant la saison estivale. De plus, quelques noyaux francophones ont perduré en des endroits isolés, notamment sur le littoral sud-ouest de l’île, conférant un statut de « survivants » à ces francophones face à la forte majorité anglophone qui les entourait. Ce statut transparaît encore dans l’identité franco-terre-neuvienne.

Environ 1335 francophones d’origines diverses vivent aujourd’hui à St. John’s: Franco-Terre-Neuviens-et-Labradoriens, Québécois, Acadiens, Saint-Pierrais, Européens et Africains. Ce sont surtout des professionnels, des fonctionnaires et des universitaires. Ajoutons à ce nombre plus de 17 000 anglophones francophiles qui contribuent activement à la préservation de la mémoire et à la vitalité du fait français à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador en participant aux activités artistiques et culturelles qui se déroulent à St. John’s.

Conserver et alimenter le patrimoine francophone

Divers organismes assurent la pérennité du fait français dans la capitale terre-neuvienne. Formée en 1973, l’Association communautaire francophone de St. John’s organise des groupes de lecture, des cours de français, des séances « d’heure du conte » pour les tout-petits et des projections de cinéma francophone. Pendant plusieurs années, elle a aussi organisé la Franco-Fest, un festival célébrant la musique, le théâtre, les arts visuels et la gastronomie traditionnelle des francophones de la péninsule d’Avalon.

Fondé en 1984, le journal bimensuel Le Gaboteur, seul média écrit francophone de la province, couvre l’actualité locale, nationale et internationale. Le Teatro offre une programmation théâtrale jeune public en français depuis 2000. Le Portail des francophones de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador est un carrefour d’information sur le Web offrant notamment un bottin des ressources en santé, un répertoire des artistes d’expression française ainsi qu’un accès à Rafale, la radio francophone en ligne.

Depuis 2004, le centre scolaire et communautaire des Grands-Vents est à la fois un milieu de vie, un lieu regroupant les associations et un établissement d’enseignement francophone fréquenté par des élèves de la maternelle jusqu’à la 12e année. Dans cette même veine éducative, l’Université Memorial offre un programme en français conçu pour les enseignants souhaitant améliorer leurs connaissances en langue, en littérature et en culture françaises. Le campus accueille aussi un Centre d’études franco-terre-neuviennes dont la collection d’archives préserve des résultats d’enquêtes ethnographiques et la mémoire orale francophone de la province.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.