Loading
Home // Ontario // Cultural Heritage // University of Ottawa, bilingualism and springboard for Franco-Ontarians
back

University of Ottawa, bilingualism and springboard for Franco-Ontarians

Located in the heart of the national capital, the University of Ottawa is the largest bilingual (English-French) university in the world. About 30% of its more than 40,000 students are Francophones. Since it was founded, the University has been a vital tool for the social advancement of Francophones in western Quebec and eastern Ontario—all of Ontario even. In 1848, the Oblates founded the College of Bytown, which became a university in 1866. From the beginning, the college was bilingual to accommodate both French-Canadian and Irish Catholics. As a result of pressure from anglophone students, French was dropped from 1874 to 1901, only to resurface when French-Canadians accounted for the majority of the student body. Since the 1960s, the number of English-speaking students has steadily increased, to the point where they have again become the majority. These fluctuations have made bilingualism a fundamental value of this prominent educational institution. Its Centre for Research on French Canadian Culture (Centre de recherche en civilisation canadienne-française, or CRCCF) serves as the central archives for the Franco-Ontarian community.

 

Learn more…

Bilingualism as an educational and social value

a066623-v8-1-300x250 -  - University of Ottawa, bilingualism and springboard for Franco-Ontarians
First-year class, University of Ottawa, 1881

The University of Ottawa is an important centre of French life in Ottawa, with its French-language conferences, seminars and cultural activities as well as its large francophone faculty and student body. However, bilingualism is of foremost importance to the University, as both a key component of its programs and a value to be fostered in Canadian society. Historically, social science programs were taught mainly in French, and natural science and health science programs only in English. Today, three-quarters of the University’s programs are offered in both of Canada’s official languages. Students are not required to learn the other official language, although numerous immersion programs encourage and facilitate acquisition of the second language.

a013017-v6-1-211x300 -  - University of Ottawa, bilingualism and springboard for Franco-Ontarians
Father Tabaret, University of Ottawa founder

By giving its students the opportunity to study in French, English or both languages and to live in a bilingual environment, the University of Ottawa is confident its graduates have an edge when entering the labour market. This is particularly true for the many positions requiring bilingual incumbents in the federal public service, which has a large presence in Ottawa. The University’s eight research chairs in Canadian Francophonie and the Official Languages and Bilingualism Institute, all created between 2003 and 2007, have strengthened the presence of French in its scientific activities and programming. In Canada, only the law faculties of the University of Ottawa and Montreal’s McGill University teach the country’s two systems of law (French civil law, applied in Quebec, and the common law of England, practised in the rest of Canada) in the same institution.

The University of Ottawa and the francophone community past and present

4916074563_f805c3156f_o-300x206 -  - University of Ottawa, bilingualism and springboard for Franco-Ontarians
Desmarais Hall

While it is widely accepted that the University of Ottawa was instrumental in the social advancement of French Canadians and, since the 1970s, Franco-Ontarians, by providing thousands of them with higher education in their mother tongue, the decline of French in this major institution in recent decades is worrisome. The campaign to establish a new, stand-alone French-language university in Ontario is primarily the result of the diminished representation of Francophones and Franco-Ontarians in the University’s administration, student body and faculty, combined with the desire of Franco-Ontarians to secure their own distinct space, like that of the Acadians and Franco-Manitobans in the French-language universities of Moncton and Saint-Boniface, respectively.

The University of Ottawa recently strengthened its commitment to French by expanding its French immersion options—it is currently the largest centre for postsecondary French immersion studies in Canada—and lowering tuition fees for francophone international students.

The Centre for Research on French Canadian Culture, a key player

5517_crccf_2-300x183 -  - University of Ottawa, bilingualism and springboard for Franco-Ontarians
Semaine franco-ontarienne at Université of Ottawa, organized by CRCCF (February 13, 1982)

Created in 1958, the University’s Centre for Research on French Canadian Culture played a key role in the promotion and development of French culture in Ontario. Originally founded to research French-Canadian literature, it was a pioneer in the field, assembling collections, conducting studies and even creating courses on French-Canadian literature in the early 1960s. As the Centre’s publications multiplied and it began organizing conferences on the subject, there emerged a distinctly Québécois and distinctly French Canadian literature. From 1970 to 1985, the Centre expanded into other disciplines and started to have an impact across Canada. Its studies ranged from Franco-Ontarian artists, to francophone communities in Acadia and Western Canada, to French-speaking communities in the United States.

After surviving a period of under-funding, the Centre regained its prominence in French-Canadian studies in the 2000s. Today, it holds the largest archives on Franco-Ontarian history and regularly makes valuable contributions to the University of Ottawa’s French-language academic programs.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Ontario // Patrimoine culturel // Université d’Ottawa, bilinguisme et tremplin pour les Franco-Ontariens
retour

Université d’Ottawa, bilinguisme et tremplin pour les Franco-Ontariens

Située au cœur de la capitale nationale, l’Université d’Ottawa est la plus grande université bilingue, anglais-français, au monde avec plus de 40 000 étudiants, dont environ 30 % sont francophones. Depuis sa fondation, elle s’est avérée un indispensable outil de promotion sociale pour la communauté francophone de l’ouest du Québec et de l’est de l’Ontario, voire de tout l’Ontario français. En 1848, les Oblats fondent le Collège de Bytown, qui devient une université en 1866. L’enseignement y est dès le départ bilingue afin de desservir les catholiques canadiens-français et irlandais. Le français est mis au rancart de 1874 à 1901, sous la pression des étudiants anglophones, puis il refait surface quand les étudiants canadiens-français représentent la majorité de la clientèle. Depuis les années 1960, le nombre d’étudiants anglophones croît sans cesse au point que ceux-ci sont redevenus largement majoritaires. Ces fluctuations font du bilinguisme une valeur fondamentale de cette institution universitaire de premier plan. Son Centre de recherche en civilisation canadienne-française est le principal centre d’archives de la communauté franco-ontarienne.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Le bilinguisme comme valeur pédagogique et sociale

a066623-v8-1-300x250 -  - Université d’Ottawa, bilinguisme et tremplin pour les Franco-Ontariens
Classe de première année à l’Université d’Ottawa, 1881

L’Université d’Ottawa est un important pôle de la vie en français à Ottawa, avec ses conférences, colloques, activités culturelles et bassin de professeurs et d’étudiants francophones. Elle place néanmoins au premier plan le bilinguisme comme composante centrale de ses programmes de formation et comme valeur à développer dans la société canadienne. Historiquement, les sciences sociales s’y enseignaient surtout en français et les sciences naturelles et les sciences de la santé, uniquement en anglais. Aujourd’hui, les trois quarts de ses programmes sont offerts dans les deux langues officielles. Elle n’exige plus que ses étudiants apprennent l’autre langue officielle du Canada, bien que des programmes d’immersion encouragent et favorisent cet apprentissage.

a013017-v6-1-211x300 -  - Université d’Ottawa, bilinguisme et tremplin pour les Franco-Ontariens
Le père Tabaret, fondateur de l’Université d’Ottawa

En offrant la possibilité d’étudier en français, en anglais, ou dans les deux langues, et de vivre dans un milieu bilingue, l’Université d’Ottawa estime favoriser l’insertion de ses diplômés sur le marché du travail, notamment dans la fonction publique fédérale, très présente à Ottawa, où de nombreux postes doivent être occupés par des personnes bilingues. Huit chaires de recherche sur la francophonie canadienne et l’Institut des langues officielles et du bilinguisme, créés entre 2003 et 2007, renforcent la place du français dans l’animation scientifique de l’Université d’Ottawa. Sa Faculté de droit est aussi la seule au pays, avec celle de l’Université McGill, à Montréal, à offrir une formation sur les deux systèmes juridiques canadiens dans une même institution, soit le droit civil issu de la tradition française, appliqué au Québec, et la Common Law issue de la tradition britannique, pratiquée dans les autres provinces canadiennes.

L’Université d’Ottawa et la communauté francophone hier et aujourd’hui

4916074563_f805c3156f_o-300x206 -  - Université d’Ottawa, bilinguisme et tremplin pour les Franco-Ontariens
Le pavillon Desmarais

S’il est largement reconnu que l’Université d’Ottawa a été un instrument de promotion sociale des Canadiens français, puis, à compter des années 1970, des Franco-Ontariens, en permettant à des milliers d’entre eux de recevoir une formation supérieure dans leur langue maternelle, le recul du français dans cette importante institution dans les dernières décennies en inquiète plusieurs. Le mouvement pour la création d’une nouvelle université entièrement francophone en Ontario découle notamment de la minorisation des francophones et des Franco-Ontariens dans les corps administratifs, étudiants et professoraux, et de la volonté des Franco-Ontariens de se doter d’un espace autonome similaire à ceux dont bénéficient les Acadiens et les Franco-Manitobains dans les universités francophones de Moncton et de Saint-Boniface.

L’Université d’Ottawa a récemment poursuivi son engagement envers la langue française  en développant son offre de cours d’immersion française – elle est le plus important centre universitaire d’immersion française au Canada – et en abaissant ses frais de scolarité pour les étudiants étrangers francophones.

Le Centre de recherche en civilisation canadienne-française, un acteur clé

5517_crccf_2-300x183 -  - Université d’Ottawa, bilinguisme et tremplin pour les Franco-Ontariens
La semaine franco-ontarienne à l’Université d’Ottawa organisée par le CRCCF, le 13 février 1982

Sur le plan de la promotion et du développement de la culture française en Ontario, le Centre de recherche en civilisation canadienne-française de l’Université d’Ottawa, créé en 1958, a certainement joué un rôle clé. Son champ d’action est d’abord limité à la littérature canadienne-française, dans laquelle il est un pionnier. Il rassemble des collections, effectue des recherches et met sur pied des cours de littérature canadienne-française au tournant des années 1960. Puis il multiplie les publications, organise des conférences et stimule ainsi l’émergence d’une littérature française propre au Québec et au Canada. De 1970 à 1985, il élargit son champ d’action, devient interdisciplinaire et rayonne à travers le pays. Il se penche sur les créateurs franco-ontariens, sur les communautés francophones d’Acadie et de l’Ouest canadien, ainsi que sur la situation des Franco-Américains.

Après une période de sous-financement, le Centre redevient un pôle majeur de la recherche franco-canadienne dans les années 2000. Il est aujourd’hui dépositaire du plus important fonds d’archives sur les francophones de l’Ontario et contribue régulièrement à la programmation académique francophone à l’Université d’Ottawa.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.