Loading
Home // Saskatchewan // Community portraits // The dream of rural Francophone communities in southern Saskatchewan
back

The dream of rural Francophone communities in southern Saskatchewan

In Willow Bunch and St. Victor, two neighbouring villages located 190 km southwest of Regina, memories of a time when Francophones dreamed of creating a vast Francophone region in the middle of the fertile plains of Saskatchewan persist in three local museums. The museum in Willow Bunch (formerly Talle-de-Saules), founded in 1972, is located in the former Sisters of the Cross convent, built in 1914. Its main subject is the Beaupré giant, who was born here in 1881. In St. Victor, visitors can see the house of the Francophone Métis Alexandre McGillis, who greatly contributed to the formation of the village at the turn of the 20th century. The Le Beau museum, established in the former church of St. Victor, deals mainly with the role of the priests who founded the colony. Since 2008, the Campagnes, a well-known family of singers and musicians who are natives of Willow Bunch, have welcomed Farm Fest participants on their ancestral land, located near the village. This increasingly well-attended event highlights Fransaskoise culture, music, and organic farming.

 

To learn more…

Cultivating the Francophone presence in rural regions

Almost two thirds of all Fransaskois live in the three major cities of Saskatchewan: Regina, Saskatoon, and Prince Albert. However, in the rural areas in the southern part of the province, there was a time when some Francophone communities were solidly planted, when in the early 20th century French-Canadians joined the Métis pioneers who had settled there in the 1870s and 1880s.

Around 1925, municipalities such as Gravelbourg, Willow Bunch, St. Victor, Ponteix, Laflèche and several others had majority Francophone communities. In many cases, over time, the members of these communities mixed with their neighbours of diverse origins and adopted English as a common language, so that the heritage of this period of Francophone settlement is now rather limited.

Gravelbourg, which was the centre of the Francophone community in Saskatchewan in the first half of the 20th century, has remained the most Francophone rural municipality in the province. Willow Bunch has a museum with a dozen exhibitions on important Francophone personalities from the area, such as the Quebec businessman Jean-Louis Légaré, who founded a trading post there in 1871. Légaré, who married a local Métis woman, served among other things as a mediator between Canadian authorities and the Sioux led by Chief Sitting Bull when they sought refuge in Canada between 1876 and 1881 after the Battle of Little Bighorn. The exhibition dedicated to the giant Édouard Beaupré, whose pituitary gland tumour caused him to grow to an excessive size—he was more than 2.5 m (8’3″) tall—includes a life-sized statue, his original nine-foot long bed, personal effects, and several photos. The exhibition dedicated to the Sisters of the Cross, who taught in the village, is presented in the convent’s original chapel. The Le Beau Museum, located on the main street of the small village of St. Victor, in the church built in 1914, focuses on the creation of the parish and presents several religious objects used by the first Francophone priests in the diocese. In the summer, guided bilingual tours are offered upon request. In Ponteix, Francophone culture is transmitted to the younger generation at the École Boréale and the Centre culturel Royer. In Val-Marie, a small village located at the entrance to Grasslands National Park, the Francophone presence is noted in a local exhibition.

Almost the Promised Land

At the turn of the 20th century, the government of Canada freely distributed land to newcomers in order to populate the Canadian prairies, which were previously inhabited exclusively by Indigenous peoples. As these regions had only been tentatively explored, then settled by Francophone Métis and French-Canadians, the Catholic Church wanted to continue to ensure a Francophone and Catholic presence on the Prairies, in a period where a large number of British and American immigrants and immigrants from other diverse backgrounds were flowing into the area.

It was in this context that settler priests played a central role in recruiting new settlers and bringing them together in relatively homogeneous rural communities. One of the most active of these priests, Father Louis-Pierre Gravel, was instrumental in forming the villages of Gravelbourg, Ponteix and Laflèche. Willow Bunch and St. Victor were also populated with French-Canadian settlers as part of this movement led and supported by the Church.

The brochure promoting rural life Une paroisse d’avenir: Laflèche, Saskatchewan, published by the Compagnie canadienne de colonisation in 1915, gives a good idea of the arguments used to convince Francophones to settle in the Prairies.

“The future is in the new country. […] Here, we do not know a single farmer who has lacked a good harvest on well-worked land. […] Those whom Providence will guide to Laflèche have nothing to fear. Here they will be in a French-Canadian place. They will be able to conduct business in French and hear their mother tongue spoken all around. [Furthermore], around Laflèche there are other Francophone parishes, such as Gravelbourg, Meyronne, Ponteix, Assiniboia, Willow Bunch; the whole region is destined to become French and form the capital of French influence in Saskatchewan”, wrote the parish priest of Laflèche, Émile Dubois.

The first land in Laflèche was granted to Joseph Morasse from Portneuf County in Quebec in 1905. The village of Laflèche was incorporated in 1913, and two years later, 325 of its 410 inhabitants were French-Canadian. One hundred years later, in 2016, there were only 25 bilingual people (English-French) remaining out of a total of 370 inhabitants in Laflèche, which is still fundamentally a farming community. For the time being, there are no plans to promote the Francophone heritage of Laflèche.

The most vibrant Francophone activity in this region is currently the Farm Fest, which the Campagne family has organized in Willow Bunch every summer since 2008.

Gallery

Additional information

French services at anytime

Leave a comment

At the Corridor, we care about the quality of the services we provide for our users. If you would like to share your comments and/or suggestions about the Corridor or a specific product, simply contact us using the form below.

Chargement
Accueil // Saskatchewan // Portraits de communautés // Le rêve des communautés rurales francophones du sud de la Saskatchewan
retour

Le rêve des communautés rurales francophones du sud de la Saskatchewan

À Willow Bunch et à Saint-Victor, deux villages voisins situés à 190 km au sud-ouest de Regina, le souvenir du temps où les francophones rêvaient de créer une grande région française au milieu des plaines fertiles de la Saskatchewan subsiste dans trois musées locaux. Celui de Willow Bunch (autrefois Talle-de-Saules), fondé en 1972, est situé dans l’ancien couvent des Sœurs de la Croix, construit en 1914. Son sujet vedette est le géant Beaupré, né dans cette localité en 1881. À Saint-Victor, on peut visiter la maison du Métis francophone Alexandre McGillis, qui a beaucoup contribué à la formation du village au tournant du 20e siècle. Le musée Le Beau, aménagé dans l’ancienne église de Saint-Victor, souligne principalement le rôle des prêtres colonisateurs. Depuis 2008, les Campagne, une famille bien connue de chanteurs et musiciens native de Willow Bunch, accueillent les participants au Festival Terre Ferme sur leur terre ancestrale, située près du village. Cet événement de plus en plus couru met en valeur la culture fransaskoise, la musique et l’agriculture biologique.

 

Pour en savoir plus…

Cultiver la présence francophone en région rurale

Près des deux tiers de tous les Fransaskois vivent dans les trois principales villes de la Saskatchewan : Regina, Saskatoon et Prince Albert. Or, dans les régions rurales du sud de la province, il fut un temps où quelques communautés francophones étaient solidement implantées, plusieurs Canadiens français ayant rejoint au début du 20e siècle les pionniers métis qui s’y étaient établis dans les années 1870 et 1880.

Vers 1925, des municipalités comme Gravelbourg, Willow Bunch, Saint-Victor, Ponteix, Laflèche et quelques autres comptaient des communautés francophones majoritaires. Dans bien des cas, avec le temps, leurs membres se sont mêlés aux voisins d’origines diverses et ont adopté l’anglais comme langue commune, de sorte que l’héritage de cette période de colonisation francophone est aujourd’hui assez limité.

Gravelbourg, qui était le centre de la francophonie saskatchewanaise dans la première moitié du 20e siècle, est demeurée la municipalité rurale la plus francophone de la province. Willow Bunch a son musée qui rappelle en une dizaine d’expositions des personnages francophones marquants des environs, tel l’homme d’affaires québécois Jean-Louis Légaré, qui a fondé un poste de traite à cet endroit en 1871. Légaré, qui a marié une Métisse de la région, a notamment servi de médiateur entre les autorités canadiennes et les Sioux dirigés par le chef Sitting Bull, lorsqu’ils se sont réfugiés au Canada entre 1876 et 1881, après la bataille de Little Bighorn. L’exposition consacrée au géant Édouard Beaupré, dont la tumeur à l’hypophyse entraînait une croissance excessive – il mesurait plus de 2,5 m (8 pi 3 po) –, comprend une statue grandeur nature, son lit original long de neuf pieds, des effets personnels et plusieurs photos. L’exposition consacrée aux Sœurs de la Croix qui ont enseigné au village est présentée dans la chapelle originale du couvent. Le musée Le Beau, situé sur la rue principale du petit village de Saint-Victor, dans l’église datant de 1914, se concentre sur la création de la paroisse et présente plusieurs objets religieux utilisés par les premiers prêtres francophones du diocèse. En saison estivale, des visites guidées bilingues sont offertes sur demande. À Ponteix, la culture francophone se transmet à la jeune génération par l’entremise de l’école Boréale et du Centre culturel Royer. À Val-Marie, petit village situé aux portes du parc national des Prairies, il est fait mention de la présence francophone dans une exposition locale.

Presque la terre promise

Au tournant du 20e siècle, le gouvernement du Canada distribuait gratuitement des terres aux nouveaux arrivants afin de peupler les prairies canadiennes, qui étaient auparavant habitées exclusivement par les peuples autochtones. Comme ces régions avaient été fréquentées de façon précoce, puis colonisées par des Métis francophones et des Canadiens français, l’Église catholique désirait continuer d’assurer une présence francophone et catholique dans les Prairies, alors qu’affluait un grand nombre d’immigrants britanniques, américains et de diverses autres origines.

C’est dans ce contexte que des prêtres colonisateurs ont joué un rôle central pour recruter de nouveaux colons et les regrouper en communautés rurales relativement homogènes. L’abbé Louis-Pierre Gravel fut l’un des plus actifs, provoquant la formation des villages de Gravelbourg, de Ponteix et de Laflèche. Willow Bunch et Saint-Victor se sont aussi peuplés de colons canadiens-français à la faveur de ce mouvement amorcé et soutenu par l’Église.

La brochure de promotion de la vie rurale Une paroisse d’avenir : Laflèche, Saskatchewan, publiée par la Compagnie canadienne de colonisation en 1915, donne une bonne idée des arguments avancés pour convaincre les francophones de s’établir dans les Prairies.

« L’avenir est aux pays neufs. […] Ici, nous ne connaissons pas un seul fermier qui ait manqué une belle récolte sur un terrain bien travaillé. […] Ceux que la Providence dirigera vers Laflèche n’ont rien à craindre. Ils seront ici dans une place canadienne-française. Ils pourront faire leurs affaires en français et entendront partout parler leur langue maternelle. [D’ailleurs,] autour de Laflèche se trouvent d’autres paroisses francophones, telles que Gravelbourg, Meyronne, Ponteix, Assiniboia, Willow Bunch ; la région tout entière est destinée à devenir française et à former le château de l’influence française en Saskatchewan », écrit le curé de Laflèche, Émile Dubois.

La première terre de Laflèche fut concédée à Joseph Morasse du comté de Portneuf, au Québec, en 1905. Le village de Laflèche est incorporé en 1913 et, deux ans plus tard, sur les 410 habitants, 325 sont canadiens-français. Cent ans plus tard, en 2016, il ne restait plus que 25 personnes bilingues (anglais-français) sur un total de 370 habitants à Laflèche, qui est toujours une communauté essentiellement agricole. Il n’existe pour l’instant aucun projet de mise en valeur du patrimoine francophone à Laflèche.

L’activité francophone la plus vibrante de cette région est actuellement le Festival Terre Ferme que la famille Campagne organise chaque été à Willow Bunch depuis 2008.

Galerie

Informations supplémentaires

Services en français en tout temps

Laisser un commentaire

Chez Le Corridor, nous nous soucions de la qualité de nos services apportés à nos utilisateurs Si vous souhaitez nous faire part de vos remarques et/ou suggestions concernant le Corridor ou un produit en particulier, il vous suffit de nous contacter en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous.